We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good dinner - large portions”
Review of Fish Frenzy

Fish Frenzy
Ranked #80 of 648 Restaurants in Hobart
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$27
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, After-hours, Lunch
Description: Enjoy the freshest seafood, fish 'n' chips & hot chowder on Hobart's historic waterfront Fish Frenzy is famous for its delicious, daily fresh fish and chips, grilled seafood, salads and amazing hot seafood chowder. Come in and discover what the locals take for granted. The fast and friendly service is complemented by the incredible waterfront location of the restaurant, overlooking the docks and working port. Every visit to Hobart should include a stop at Fish Frenzy! Dine in or take away. Savour Australia - Finalist - Awards for Excellence 2016. Along with most credit cards we also accept WechatPay, Alipay and Bestpay.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

very efficient service at Fish Frenzy. No booking allowed, but service is fast and wait is never too long. getting here early would guarantee you a table by the window in front of the water, which is quite nice. Prices are obviously a touch higher than the lower key / take out places just down the street, but i thought it was well worth it.
Portions are large, and the fish and chips was very tasty. we opted for the beer battered flat head (you can pick tempura, beer battered or crumbed), deep fried calamaris, and a large fries, for 2 people, and were very happy with it (could not finish the fries).
good choice of drinks, beers, ciders, wines, but i felt that they were pretty expensive for the size/quality, especially 10$ for a small bottle of cider.
Still a good dinner overall, happy to come back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank streetfoodlover2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavern42, General Manager at Fish Frenzy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

A very good review, thank you for taking the time to write it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 48 of 1,518 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Being Easter you just have to have fish n chips well we walked past on Good Friday and it was packed so went back today and glad we did
Great beer batter on the flat head
Crumbed calamari was pretty good
The large hand cut chips were crispy and tasted great with the brown vinegar and salt and the local wines also very good
Recommend

Thank Damorob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavern42, General Manager at Fish Frenzy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Fantastic, glad you came back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

Just drove back to Hobart from Quamby Estate and stopped at Fish Frenzy for a quick dinner. I had the special which was trevella with semolina gnocchi and other things. It was nice but nothing too special. The place was nice and the service was good. I think I would go with their normal menu to be sure.

Thank bluezen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavern42, General Manager at Fish Frenzy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Great to hear you enjoyed your visit. Thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

As a solo traveller in Hobart for a few days, I had dinner here twice. Large cafe style seafood restaurant. Lots of table inside and outside. Sits right on the wharf so great outlook over the harbour. The meals are not cheap but they are really large servings. The flathead I ordered was $21. With 3 large pieces, it was enough for 2 people. So if you order sensibly and share, then the prices are cheap. High quality and tasty food. The garden salad was crunchy with ver fresh ingredients. Friendly staff. Order at the cashier and they deliver to your table. Buzzy atmosphere. Recommended.

Thank Michelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavern42, General Manager at Fish Frenzy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Wonderful review! It was good to hear you visited us twice on your short stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

There is a lot going for this place, its location and its seafood menu. I think I made a bad choice in the fish burger - too much bun. My friend really enjoyed his fish wrap. We both had our dishes served with chips. My whole dish came out in a paper cone. The service was very good. I'd like to try this venue again.

Thank Madshus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavern42, General Manager at Fish Frenzy, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review us, it is good to hear our service was very good.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fish Frenzy also viewed

Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 
Hobart, Greater Hobart
Hobart, Greater Hobart
 

Been to Fish Frenzy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing