We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disgusted”
Review of YTI Garden Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
YTI Garden Hotel
Ranked #143 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 9 August 2017 via mobile

1 night $99.. Late arrival & early departure. Needed something in CBD. Arrived around 11pm. Staff were friendly saud they had upgraded mu room to a studio apartment.
Old building, i can deal with that. I camp so im no 5* girl. Room was musty smelling but looked clean. Then all downhill from there. Hair in the shower hanging off the soap dispenser, no shower well so floor flooded. Noisy. Jumped into bed and started to itch. Checked the sheets and looked like someone had shaved in there! Short dark hair all over. It was after midnight so i slept on top of the covers fully dressed. Complained in the morning as i was leaving and was given a "oh sorry i will let the cleaning staff know". Well. Never again. At least their coffee cups were clean.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Kerin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (245)
There are newer reviews for YTI Garden Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2017

We knew were staying in budget accommodation. With an arrival time of 11pm and an early exit it wasn't worth paying for something a little more up market for less than 9 hours in a room. We stayed for convenience. At $158 it still wasn't as budget as we could have gone. It was very evident (and insulting) that cleanliness is not on the agenda at this place. We can handle old and worn out but dirty blinds, hair on the quilt cover (not sure if it had been freshly washed), dirty lamps, dirty floor, heavily stained furniture and a dirty shower was just appalling. What's more this is a culmination of not cleaning ever not just a once off. It's completely unnecessary. We would rather no TV and minimal facilities rather than a dirty room. Come on guys aren't you embarrassed to own this and treat customers with such disrespect. Hopefully you'll get the message if people don't use your accommodation. Have to say that the staff were friendly and the bed itself was comfortable enough that it wasn't an issue.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jasmin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2017 via mobile

Pots and pans provided in the kitchenette were stained with whatever the previous guest cooked so we didn't bother using it. No bedroom slippers provided. Would be better if the hair dryer was the portable kind instead of being attached beside the sink area in the bathroom. Staffs at the reception were polite and everything else was ok.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Huawei L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2017

Booked a non refundable booking using debit card and the hotel charged credit card surcharge on it. Called the hotel to enquire about the surcharge and KOSMOS the reception clerk mentioned that they charge it even though its a debit card. KOSMOS was getting adamant and rude over the phone about the surcharge though I mentioned that I have the confirmation where it says that surcharge is for credit card only.

Its not about those extra few dollars. Its about principals what the hotel has portrayed and what they are delivering.

I asked KOSMOS to speak to his manager and he just hanged the phone on me. This is the worst experience, but I am glad that it has happened over the phone. I contacted booking.com and explained them to cancel the booking and have the money back.
Wont be going to stay in this crap hotel with rude staff.

Should KOSMOS have listened and refunded those credit card surcharge, we would not have cancelled the booking.

Room Tip: Don't stay in this hotel. KOSMOS is very rude
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank solotraveller1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2017 via mobile

I stayed recently with my family of 5.
We booked the family room which was really large and more than enough room for us. Heating functioned well which was great as it was quite cold in Melbourne during our stay. Decor a bit old but we didn't care as we were always out and about. The location just near Chinatown was excellent. We walked to the main stations, MCG and Victoria Market. Plenty of cheap restaurants nearby.
Check in was really quick and the woman at the front desk was really friendly. We actually arrived at 7.30 am not necessarily expecting to be able to check in, but this was no problem at all. I imagine this depends on bookings though.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Weasl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Central Business District
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
Ibis Budget Melbourne CBD
#115 of 160 in Melbourne
1,183 reviews
Central Business District
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
Metro Apartments on Bank Place
#110 of 160 in Melbourne
443 reviews
Central Business District
City Centre Budget Hotel
City Centre Budget Hotel
#118 of 160 in Melbourne
210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
ibis Styles Kingsgate Hotel
#137 of 160 in Melbourne
1,353 reviews
Chapel Street
Hotel Claremont
Hotel Claremont
#111 of 160 in Melbourne
380 reviews
Central Business District
Best Western Riverside Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YTI Garden Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YTI Garden Hotel

Address: 378 Little Bourke Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia (Formerly City Garden Hotel)
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #143 of 160 Hotels in Melbourne
Price Range: RM298 - RM666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — YTI Garden Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Centrally located, giving you easy access to all that Melbourne City has to offer! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your YTI Garden Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing