We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Art Series - The Blackman

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Art Series - The Blackman
Ranked #15 of 158 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

Have stayed at The Blackman a few times now and couldn't ask for a better place to stay in Melbourne.
This place never disappoints. Always clean, Excellent service, beautiful rooms.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Blackman_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 14 June 2012
Thankyou so much for your review Richard. It is so wonderful to learn that our hotel is a home away from home for you and we are pleased that you have such a wonderful experience here each time you stay. I will pass on your feedback to the staff as they will be thrilled to hear it.

We look forward to seeing you back when you return Richard!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,261
    518
    130
    36
    26
See reviews for
218
868
109
459
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

The Blackman's is one of three Art Series hotels. It is a hotel that personifies the art of Charles Blackman. For the cultural touches and the infusion of Blackman's work in all facets of the hotel, it is simply a must visit location. We stayed here on a romantic weekend away and were able to spend a bit more time than usual with the hotel and were pleasantly surprised. There are a few shortcomings but the charm of the accommodation more than make up for it. We can understand why it rated so highly on TripAdvisor.

There are a number of factors that made our stay fantastic:
1) The staff are very warm and welcoming. They were helpful and seem to subscribe to artistic interest of the hotel.

2) Lovely view. We had a great view of Albert Park Lake and from the 15th floor we loved the view of the city throughout the day and at night.

3) The incorporation of Charles Blackman’s work into the hotel and room. The room has lovely touches of his work such as the bathroom door being a full sized image or the paintings on the wall. The choice of furniture also complemented the art.

4) Great facilities such as 24hr gym, access to a pool, smart car hire and bike hire

5) Location - close enough to the city but far enough away from it to have a great peaceful time. Being on St Kilda road means you can get onto a myriad of trams that go into the city.

6) The two restaurants attached to the hotel are essential dining options. Despite the lack of immediate dining options in the area, the restaurant and bakery more than make up for it.

7) Value – we were fortunate enough to find a sale online for our room. For the price we paid, it’s hard to beat for accommodation especially in Melbourne.


Things that we found a bit lacking:
1) The bed and pillows left a little to be desired. Both my wife and I woke up with sore necks and backs. We are quite fussy because our necks and backs are quite sensitive. If you don't find that an issue, it won't be a problem.

2) The bathrooms were a little petite. The layout of our room which was a Stuido Suite Balcony seemed to maximise the space for the living/sleeping area by compromising the bathroom space. It's not a deal breaker but something you do notice.

3) TV placement. The TV in our room was found on the side of the bed which made viewing a bit strange. With the room layout, it didn't make sense to have it anywhere else but it's often better to have the TV at the foot of the bed.

Tips –
1) If you have a choice, try and get a room on the 15th floor or above. The views are amazing.

2) Make sure you get the map in the hotel as it has some great recommendations for dining, bars and culture. This is an easily underestimated resource but it will make your stay fantastic.

3) If you’ve hired a car and are only there for a Saturday night. Don’t pay $25 for parking as street parking is free for weekends. We were able to find spots out front fairly easily but if you can’t find any there, you’ll be able to find spots on St Kilda Road.

4) One of our regrets was that we discovered that a little too late that the tours are provided of Blackman's work and I think it would be a great way to learn more about the artist.

VERDICT

The Blackman is a fantastic representation of Melbourne. It combines a modern stylistic feel with culture that engages creativity and flair. The rooms are tastefully designed with carefully selected furniture that matches beautiful work. The next time we travel to Melbourne on a romantic getaway, we look forward to try the Olsen, which is the flagship of the Art Series hotels but if you haven’t been to Blackman’s, don’t pass it up.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WimK1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

My partner and I stayed at the Blackman for 5 days this summer. A regular visitor to Melbourne for work and play I often am looking for reasonably priced accommodation without compromising on style, location and cleanliness. The Blackman does not disappoint. We stayed in the least expensive room available and felt that this provided more than enough room for both of us. The rooms are well appointed, fresh, clean, comfortable and modern. Check-in and check-out a breeze. Staff very helpful and professional. When in Melbourne it's best to eat out of course, but for the nights you are too tired to venture out the room service is great & not overpriced at all. I have stayed at some of the best hotels in the world & the Blackman certainly is up there, the best part is that you won't have to pay the big bucks to enjoy it! A fantastic hotel experience for all.

Room Tip: There are slight differences to the rooms (we stayed in 3 different rooms during our time in Melbour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2012

we stayed at the blackman for five days the best hotel we stayed in. The staff are all so friendly the house keeping is great the rooms are fab we had a corner room with two balconies with great views theonly thing we did not like was the lighting it was a bit to dim and they need full length mirror we stay there every time we go to melbourne well done BLACKMAN

Room Tip: corner suite high level with albert park view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank denronny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Blackman_Hotel, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear Denronny,

Thank you for this wonderful review on your recent stay at The Blackman. It sure sounds like you had a fabulous time with us and I was very pleased to see that the service you received was fantastic.
I would also like to thank you for the feedback on the lighting, we will be sure to discuss the issue at our next team meeting.
We look forward to welcomming you back very soon.
Kind Regards
Ben May, Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

You will see the quality of room, if the price of room is more than 250 in Melbourne. We all like the small kitchen is the room, because the room seems like a sweet home. Moreover, if you plan to go to seashore of st kilda, the hotel is good place to settle down. However, the internet is not fast as you image. You can find the place to have internet outside.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank xpeoplex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The_Blackman_Hotel, Guest Experience Manager at Art Series - The Blackman, responded to this review, 9 February 2012
Dear xpeoplex,

Thank you for this wonderful review on the Blackman. i was very happy to read such fantastic comments on our hotel. We do hope that we have the pleasure of welcomming you back in the very near future.
Kind Regards,
Ben May, Guest Experience Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Chapel Street
Art Series - The Olsen
Art Series - The Olsen
#25 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,588 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Alto Hotel on Bourke
Alto Hotel on Bourke
#9 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,452 reviews
Central Business District
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
Pegasus Apart'Hotel
#31 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,424 reviews
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 158 in Melbourne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Art Series - The Blackman? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Art Series - The Blackman

Property: Art Series - The Blackman
Address: 452 St Kilda Rd | (entry via Arthur Street), Melbourne, Victoria 3004, Australia (Formerly The Blackman Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#10 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#11 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#14 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): RM435 - RM1,387
Hotel Class:5 star — Art Series - The Blackman 5*
Number of rooms: 207
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a contemporary, boutique interior and an enviable St Kilda Road location, just a stones throw from Melbourne’s CBD, The Blackman Hotel will inspire Melbourne’s imagination. A destination perfect for business or leisure travellers, this unique Melbourne hotel boasts 209 guest accommodations and suites, a selection of which host private terraces.Built within and above the historic Airlie Mansion, The Blackman Hotel will charm and inspire guests with the works of one of Australia’s most celebrated artists, Charles Blackman, showcased throughout this unique hotel space.The Blackman Hotel is also dedicated to ensuring your visit to Melbourne is complete with dining options to tempt your tastebuds. Experience two of Melbourne’s hottest new restaurants right at your own doorstop. Couple this with our state-of-art gymnasium and your luxurious five-star experience is complete. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Art Series - The Blackman reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Art Series - The Blackman Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing