We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,825)
Filter reviews
1,825 results
Traveller rating
1,090
556
123
39
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,090
556
123
39
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the executive lounge concierge desk exhibition street valet parking room was spacious early check an upgrade buffet breakfast federation square free tram theatre lollies gym cbd furnishings doorman mcg
Filter
Updating list...
761 - 766 of 1,825 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

We stayed at the Melbourne Marriott for 4 nights this December. Excellent location where you can walk to all the shopping and sites. Hotel rooms need a nice renovation but not too bad for a city hotel. The main person that made our trip memorable and truly went above and beyond our expectations was Laurent at the front desk. I expect to come back sometime later in life and find him as general manager of the new Ritz Carlton that is opening soon. Laurent was gracious and kind in every form of these words...when he found out we were going on a day trip, he had packed us a basket lunch. Upon our very late in the night arrival, he sent us up all kinds of goodies. Excellent service by Laurent. Thank you again.

Date of stay: December 2015
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Amena A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2015

I have stayed at the Marriott a number of times and every time the cleanliness of the rooms and the level of service provided is at a high standard. All of the staff are friendly and courteous and make you feel very welcome.
This stay was no exception with everything running perfectly and exceptional service yet again. I would highly recommend the Marriott.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 December 2015

Dear Gary E,
It was good to hear feedback from a guest who has stayed a number of times - and even better to know that you have found our level of service to be consistent and our staff friendly. We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully in the New Year.
With every best wish over the Festive Season.
Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2015

The hotel is located within walking distance of both Queen Victoria market and Federation Square. There are numerous restaurants and shops in the area. The rooms are spacious and clean, as you would expect from a Marriott hotel. What distinguished this hotel from others I've visited is the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. From the receptionist to the concierge to the staff at breakfast, everyone was very nice and willing to answer any questions or offer any help. I would recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JennZ74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2015

Dear JennZ74,
The hotel is very well located in the city for both leisure and corporate guests, so I am pleased you took advantage of the position here. Your appreciation will be passed on to our team. Our people do try very hard and it is a terrific boost for morale when their efforts are acknowledged.
Merry Christmas!
Kindest regards,
George Varughese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2015

Stayed for one night on a very hot day, so very pleased to find a cool and comfortable retreat. Large, well-appointed, clean rooms. Free Wi-Fi and newspapers. Easy walk to restaurants (especially Chinatown) and shops. Very friendly & competent service. Valet parking $50 but very efficient & flexible. Good sleep & plenty of choice for breakfast - well-stocked buffet or a la carte, not expensive. Not the cheapest hotel but very good value for money. Would readily stay there again.

Date of stay: December 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank mvpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2015

Dear mvpalmer,
I was delighted to read your posting. Good to hear - it sounded like you really enjoyed your stay. Wishing you all the very best for Christmas and the New Year.
Warmest wishes,
George Varughese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2015

A while back, I reviewed the Melbourne Marriott and said I was disappointed....well a lot has changed there. We use this hotel quite a bit as we lived in a country town and often had to be in Melbourne. And over the last 2.5 years, we have stayed about 10 times, and the services has been consistently WONDERFUL! Everyone we meet is not just helpful, but down right overly kind. Further they seem to be going out of their way to make good impressions, from concierges giving out gifts to children and sending up treats and coupons for attractions, to room attendants giving stuffed animals to kids and receiving a little treat in your car when you check out. I would highly recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: November 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank G0neExpl0ring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MelbourneMarriott, General Manager at Melbourne Marriott Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2015

Dear GOneExplOring,
It was good to hear of your "change of heart" and that you have been happy with your recent visits with us. Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience. Your feedback is extremely valuable and will be shared with the team. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
With every best wish to you and the family for a wonderful Christmas!
With best wishes,
George Varughese
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews