We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Pegasus Apart'Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$114
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Fitness centre
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$127
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$193
US$185
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Hotel Windsor(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$179
US$137
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$107
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$109/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Holiday Inn Melbourne on Flinders(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$118
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$150/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$165
US$118
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$104
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (2,731)
Filter reviews
2,731 results
Traveller rating
719
1,252
547
134
79
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
719
1,252
547
134
79
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe cocoongreat locationsoul cafetwo double bedsdavid jonescentral locationbourke st mallaccor memberthe heart of the citya bit tiredvalet parkingbuffet breakfastyour doorsteproom was spaciousstreet noisetram stoppublic transport
Filter
Updating list...
77 - 82 of 2,731 reviews
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Stayed here for a quick 48 hr trip into Melbourne. Given it was Grand Prix weekend, the place was packed but the service was still great. The room was quiet and we were able to rest after a long day shopping/sports watching etc. Whilst it is slightly older, the beds were comfortable and the bathrooms clean.
This is a hotel which is central to all the major shopping areas and is within close walk of the train station. Will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tessak_SA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear tessak_SA,
Thank you for your compliments on our location and the service promptness provided by our team member.
We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

The hotel is located within walking distance of shops etc. Great location, rooms very clean and comfortable. Staff were all extremely friendly. We ate at the restaurant and zack was so great, got our order perfect and knew when we needed something without being intrusive, well done. Food was absolutely beautiful. Very happy with our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank springsummerautumn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear springsummerautumn,
Thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at our hotel. We are so glad you found our hotel a great place to stay, and that you enjoyed all aspects of your stay with us.
We look forward to your next visit.
Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

A real nice hotel located in the center of the Business District of Melbourne. The rooms were nice appointed, and found the location great for getting around the city. The staff was very helpful when we had questions or needed help.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Whiskersr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Dear Whiskersr,
Thank you for choosing our hotel, and for taking the time to write a review. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your accommodation, as well as the benefits of being so conveniently located in the heart of the city. Appreciate your words of encouragement on our staff too. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the future.
Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

This hotel is in the best location, we say here every year for the Melbourne F1, or if we have to stay overnight in Melbourne. Walk across the road to Chinatown for dinner, tram stop is right out the front door. The staff are great, very friendly and nothing is to much trouble. The Cocoon Bar is a great place to relax and have a wind down drink.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Craig R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Craig R,
Thanks for the great review. Our location is the perfect base for a Melbourne exploration.
I'm glad you experienced the Cocoon Bar and found the bar to be a great place to relax and unwind! Good to see our staff were their super friendly-selves.
We look forward to seeing you again next year.
Sincerely,
Alex Mihardja
Operational Project Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Erdi G, Manager at The Swanston Hotel, Grand Mercure, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
View more reviews