We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,551)
Filter reviews
2,552 results
Traveller rating
551
921
621
292
167
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
551
921
621
292
167
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop poolgreat locationpremier kinglonsdale streetclose to china townsmall balconybuffet breakfastroom servicecentral locationcar parkingpleasant staybusiness tripwould stay againcbdmcg
Filter
Updating list...
2,252 - 2,257 of 2,552 reviews
Reviewed 5 December 2012

The best thing about this hotel was the door leading to the street.No drawers to put socks ,underwear in etc.
Tripping hazards into a bathroom designed for a contortionist.
Food from peoples rooms left in the corridors.
A balcony fully occupied by an ac unit
and the list goes on.
Even a request for scales for weighing luggage was met with shrugs of shoulders
and blank stares.
Yes I have had a better stay in a dentist' s chair.

Room Tip: take some builders and joiners with you
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgmccabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcmelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear Jgmccabe,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us; your experience is not what we strive for at The Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Rebecca Roberts
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Stayed at this hotel on the weekend. My wife and I wanted to see Something Happend on the way to the forum with Geoffrey/Jeffrey Rush. We normally stay at any of the Causeway Hotels however my wife picked this one. It is a very average hotel, but breakfast was adequate and the rooms clean and large. To stay in Melbourne for a short time and be near the theatre distrct I would recommend this hotel again. Staff are friendly and its just a short walk to anywhere in the CBD. There is a Greek restaraunt/ Cafe (Stalactites) close by that is open 24 hours. Stone throw from China Town and Melbourne Central. 10 minute walk to Queen Vic Markets.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheJetFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcmelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Dear Heso9852,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

I am glad to see you found our location convenient for your needs, being quite central in the CBD we are only a short walk to most of the major attractions in the CBD and only a stone’s throw away from public transport. I was also pleased to see that you found your dealings with our team to be positive.

As mentioned in previous responses the Hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment program which will include new furniture, new curtains, new lighting and new carpet as well as painting for our Economy, Chancellor and Executive Rooms and a complete overhaul of all our Superior & Spa rooms, we believe this will definitely enhance the overall look of our rooms.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel next time you are in Melbourne to see a show.

Kind Regards,
Rebecca Roberts
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Have stayed here several times, an excellent city location close to theatres, shopping, Dining and public transport, with the free city circle tram only a block away.Rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. Staff are always efficient and helpful. Onsite parking is available ( at an additional charge) All in all a good place to stay.

Room Tip: You will get a bit of street noise in the rooms at the front.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tourist220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcmelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Dear Tourist220,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

Great to see you have enjoyed your many stays with us! We agree the Hotel is perfectly located in relation to theatres, shopping and public transport, all of these are within easy walking distance from the Hotel.

I will definitely be sharing your positive comments regarding the staff with the team; it’s always great to hear feedback like this.

Thank you again for your positive comments; we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.

Kind Regards,
Rebecca Roberts
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with a friend. We usually stay at another hotel on our yearly visit to Melbourne but were unable to get a booking so chose the Grand Chancellor. Had a minor hiccup checking in as the receptionist could not find our booking but eventually it was located. Our room was at the back, the view looking through to Lonsdale Street between the wall of another building on one side and the hotel on the other. We were unable to unlock the balcony door - maybe they are locked for security/safety reasons, however the window opened and it was nice to let fresh air in. We had a twin bed room and the beds were very comfortable. The shower was excellent with plenty of (very) hot water. The main gripe I had was that the only chair in the room was an office type one at the desk, obviously for use when connected to wifi. When we were in the room the only other place to sit was on the bed. A couple of lounge chairs in the room would be an excellent idea. The location was good, close to everything. Staff were very obliging and friendly. We left our bags for a couple of hours after check out with no problems. We really only returned to the hotel to sleep so it was good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roselilycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcmelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Roselilycat,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

It's great to see you found the location of the Hotel favourable and the beds comfortable. I was also pleased to see that your interactions with our team were positive except for the minor hiccup with locating your booking, looks like it was quickly resolved! I will definitely be sharing your positive comments with the front desk team.

Unfortunately as the Hotel is located in the CBD and is surrounded by buildings, not all our rooms offer views and is the reason why we only advertise that our Superior & Spa Rooms do, all of which offer views of Lonsdale Street, Wesley Church and the surrounds.

Each room at the Hotel does have the desk and chair you mentioned but they should also have two tub chairs, it was concerning that you mentioned your room didn’t have this. Also you should have been able to access the balcony, it sounds like the balcony door in your room may have been stuck which does happen from time to time, however this should have been noticed by housekeeping and rectified before your arrival, I apologise for both of these issues.
Please don’t hesitate to contact me at the Hotel if you wish to discuss these issues further.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.

Kind Regards,
Rebecca Roberts
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2012

Top rate except the hotel infrastructure was a little tired. That is paintwork on the walls, room and corridor. Bath tiles a little grubby - mould.
Loved the spa in the room and loved the roof top swimming pool. Bar service was friendly and efficient.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank V L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcmelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear V L,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

Great to see you enjoyed the swimming pool, as mentioned in previous responses this space has just gone through a full refurbishment and is a great space to relax and soak up the Melbourne skyline, I was also glad you enjoyed our bar service, we always strive to offer superior customer service so these are great comments to hear.

In regards to your comments about the room, we are currently undergoing a refurbishment program which will include new furniture, new curtains, new lighting and new carpet as well as painting; we believe this will definitely enhance the overall look of these rooms.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.

Kind Regards,
Rebecca Roberts
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews