We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Is that really a four-star hotel?”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand Chancellor Melbourne
Ranked #102 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Well, I stayed in a double economy room and have to say that the hotel facilities are not very good. The room was quite small, with a stained carpet, 1m2 balcony and a toilet with a broken sink & door look. Moreover, the room's minibar-fridge was quite noisy and some noises comming from the water plumbs disturbed me. This hotel should invest on furniture, since the one in my room was quite old and used, having some strikes and signs of usage on the different pieces of furniture. The windows were quite old, so the insulation was minimal, being able to hear all kind of noises comming from the street. I would also like to highlight that the Holly Bible in the room was quite 'sticky', don't know how come but it was.

Great staff, but couldn't offer a simple comb as an amenity. The deck-pool is quite nice, but lacks of lifeguards. In addition, the full breakfast selection is better than in other hotels. In conclusion, a real time travel.

Room Tip: Just spend a little more and go to a better hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jarimu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcmelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear Jarimu,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

I was disappointed to read you felt the hotels facilities where not very good, as we have just finished a complete refurbishment of the hotels roof top pool. In regard to lifeguards, you are correct that our pool is unsupervised however this is not unusual for any hotel and we make this very clear on the pool signage as a condition of use.

As I have mentioned in previous responses the Hotel is currently undergoing a complete room refurbishment program which will include new furniture, new curtains, new lighting and new carpet as well as painting for our Economy, Chancellor and Executive Rooms and a complete overhaul of all our Superior & Spa rooms.

Regarding your comments about the street noise, I’m unsure as to when you stayed at the hotel however I would guess it was the weekend. From time to time Lonsdale Street on a Friday and Saturday night can be very active as we are right in the middle of Melbourne’s CBD.

I’m glad to read you thought our staff were great, unfortunately Combs are not one of the things we get much request for so we don’t carry them in our in-room amenities selection, however I would like to think the reception team was able to point you in the right direction if you needed one.

Our Chefs are always trying to come up with fresh new ideas for our breakfast buffet, so it was nice to pass them your comments as it appears their hard work is paying off.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Rebecca Roberts
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,362)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,063 - 2,067 of 2,362 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2012

The best thing about this hotel was the door leading to the street.No drawers to put socks ,underwear in etc.
Tripping hazards into a bathroom designed for a contortionist.
Food from peoples rooms left in the corridors.
A balcony fully occupied by an ac unit
and the list goes on.
Even a request for scales for weighing luggage was met with shrugs of shoulders
and blank stares.
Yes I have had a better stay in a dentist' s chair.

Room Tip: take some builders and joiners with you
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jgmccabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcmelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 3 January 2013

Dear Jgmccabe,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

I was sorry to read that you did not enjoy your stay with us; your experience is not what we strive for at The Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

Kind Regards,
Rebecca Roberts
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2012

Stayed at this hotel on the weekend. My wife and I wanted to see Something Happend on the way to the forum with Geoffrey/Jeffrey Rush. We normally stay at any of the Causeway Hotels however my wife picked this one. It is a very average hotel, but breakfast was adequate and the rooms clean and large. To stay in Melbourne for a short time and be near the theatre distrct I would recommend this hotel again. Staff are friendly and its just a short walk to anywhere in the CBD. There is a Greek restaraunt/ Cafe (Stalactites) close by that is open 24 hours. Stone throw from China Town and Melbourne Central. 10 minute walk to Queen Vic Markets.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TheJetFlyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcmelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Dear Heso9852,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

I am glad to see you found our location convenient for your needs, being quite central in the CBD we are only a short walk to most of the major attractions in the CBD and only a stone’s throw away from public transport. I was also pleased to see that you found your dealings with our team to be positive.

As mentioned in previous responses the Hotel is currently undergoing a refurbishment program which will include new furniture, new curtains, new lighting and new carpet as well as painting for our Economy, Chancellor and Executive Rooms and a complete overhaul of all our Superior & Spa rooms, we believe this will definitely enhance the overall look of our rooms.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel next time you are in Melbourne to see a show.

Kind Regards,
Rebecca Roberts
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2012

Have stayed here several times, an excellent city location close to theatres, shopping, Dining and public transport, with the free city circle tram only a block away.Rooms are clean, comfortable and spacious. Staff are always efficient and helpful. Onsite parking is available ( at an additional charge) All in all a good place to stay.

Room Tip: You will get a bit of street noise in the rooms at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tourist220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcmelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2012

Dear Tourist220,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your most recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

Great to see you have enjoyed your many stays with us! We agree the Hotel is perfectly located in relation to theatres, shopping and public transport, all of these are within easy walking distance from the Hotel.

I will definitely be sharing your positive comments regarding the staff with the team; it’s always great to hear feedback like this.

Thank you again for your positive comments; we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.

Kind Regards,
Rebecca Roberts
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights with a friend. We usually stay at another hotel on our yearly visit to Melbourne but were unable to get a booking so chose the Grand Chancellor. Had a minor hiccup checking in as the receptionist could not find our booking but eventually it was located. Our room was at the back, the view looking through to Lonsdale Street between the wall of another building on one side and the hotel on the other. We were unable to unlock the balcony door - maybe they are locked for security/safety reasons, however the window opened and it was nice to let fresh air in. We had a twin bed room and the beds were very comfortable. The shower was excellent with plenty of (very) hot water. The main gripe I had was that the only chair in the room was an office type one at the desk, obviously for use when connected to wifi. When we were in the room the only other place to sit was on the bed. A couple of lounge chairs in the room would be an excellent idea. The location was good, close to everything. Staff were very obliging and friendly. We left our bags for a couple of hours after check out with no problems. We really only returned to the hotel to sleep so it was good value for what we paid.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roselilycat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hgcmelbourne, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Chancellor Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 26 November 2012

Dear Roselilycat,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Hotel Grand Chancellor Melbourne.

It's great to see you found the location of the Hotel favourable and the beds comfortable. I was also pleased to see that your interactions with our team were positive except for the minor hiccup with locating your booking, looks like it was quickly resolved! I will definitely be sharing your positive comments with the front desk team.

Unfortunately as the Hotel is located in the CBD and is surrounded by buildings, not all our rooms offer views and is the reason why we only advertise that our Superior & Spa Rooms do, all of which offer views of Lonsdale Street, Wesley Church and the surrounds.

Each room at the Hotel does have the desk and chair you mentioned but they should also have two tub chairs, it was concerning that you mentioned your room didn’t have this. Also you should have been able to access the balcony, it sounds like the balcony door in your room may have been stuck which does happen from time to time, however this should have been noticed by housekeeping and rectified before your arrival, I apologise for both of these issues.
Please don’t hesitate to contact me at the Hotel if you wish to discuss these issues further.

Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Hotel soon.

Kind Regards,
Rebecca Roberts
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Chinatown
Mantra On Russell
Mantra On Russell
#36 of 161 in Melbourne
2,412 reviews
Chinatown
The Crossley Hotel
The Crossley Hotel
#39 of 161 in Melbourne
1,818 reviews
Chinatown
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
Rydges Melbourne Hotel
#86 of 161 in Melbourne
2,311 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Oaks on Collins
Oaks on Collins
#124 of 161 in Melbourne
1,316 reviews
Central Business District
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne
Central Business District
Mantra City Central
Mantra City Central
#100 of 161 in Melbourne
894 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Chancellor Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Chancellor Melbourne

Address: 131 Lonsdale St, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Chinatown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#73 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#90 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: RM428 - RM1,059 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Chancellor Melbourne 4*
Number of rooms: 160
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-regarded Traditional 17-story Hotel in city center, near theaters, shopping & Chinatown. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Expedia, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Booking.com and Ctrip TA so you can book your Grand Chancellor Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Chancellor Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Grand Chancellor Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Chancellor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing