We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Grand Club an evening day care center”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 162 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This would have been a marvelous expeience if it were not for the families that choose to bring their children in for the cocktail hour at the grand club. Hence the "grand' loses its grandeur. It's more like McDonaldland.

Room Tip: Try the Park Hyatt if you want an adult experience in the lounge area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jheadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear Jheadden, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We appreciate your fair opinion and note how frustrating such interruptions can be. Our team strive to always make our environment for (all) as comfortable as possible and we can find this some what challenging, particularly over the festive season. Our food and beverage offering is one to be proud of in this space; however noise must be considered at all times to allow peace and tranquillity our guests relish. Thank you. We do hope you will consider staying at our hotel again to allow our team the opportunity to change your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,373)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,211 - 4,215 of 4,373 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2011

We took advantage of a special deal from one of the travel shows on TV and what a relaxing and gorgeous stay it was. We were in one of the 'lead-in' priced rooms with a fantastic bathroom and views over the city in a really great location (cnr Collins and Russell Street).Take some time out to visit the biggest hotel gym I have seen with friendly and interested staff.
The highlight was the buffet breakfast set in a beautiful space where every imaginable foodie item you would dream of having for breakfast is available. Strong coffee, a waffle and pancake station with pastry chef cooking to order, cheese and smallgoods with what must have been a French tripple cream Brie that was heavenly, yum cha dumplngs, fresh fruits and juices, eggs cooked to order with streaky grilled bacon and button mushrooms and of course the regular cereals, pastries and breads. The subtle lighting, plenty of newspapers, attentive staff - it really was the best hotel breakfast ever.

Room Tip: Ask for a Yarra River view and marvel at the amazing sports precinct in the distance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clifden27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear Clifden27, Thank you for taking to time to share a review of your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed our new guest room and buffet breakfast. May we suggest you also try our Sunday Brunch, which offers even more dishes for you to try! We hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2011

My friend and I was torn between choosing Langham and Grand Hyatt and the former was what we've chosen to spend Xmas eve. I made the booking reservation over the phone and I must say I was very impressed with the customer service exhibited by the person at the other line. When I told her that we were contemplating between Hyatt and Langham, she gave a couple of good reasons why we should choose the hotel - a "service" lacking when I phoned a couple of other nearby hotels.

Check in/ out was hassle-free - the frontdesk person (Luke) was welcoming and always smiling.
Had a fantastic view of the southbank/flinders being at the 27th floor. Room and bathroom was clean. Bathroom amenities - the booking was for 3 pax; we were provided 3 towels but was only given a couple of the complimentary toothbrush, etc (not a really a big deal since we brought our own anyway, but expected that these be for 3 pax as well)

complimentary buffet breakfast was great with a massive selection of food
Pool was OK but water was salty - felt we were swimming in a sea

The only downside was the airconditioning. My friend and I felt as if we were not in a 5-star hotel. temperature can only go down to 18.5 and the positioning of the air-conditioner was not the best. It is situated at the top left side of the bed, therefore, the air travels to the far end of the window that must then bounce back to the wall where the bed is at. We were sweating by 3am and wanting to ring housekeeping/frontdesk to provide us a with a "fan" (!). My friend's daughter who occupied the rollaway bed was the only one who had a good sleep because she got a grasp of the (reasonably) cool air. Thank goodness for the comfy bed and pillows, we still felt a bit rested.

Room Tip: ask for higher floors so you get a good view of the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cri-t-q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear cr-t-q, Thank you for your important comments in relation to our hotel. Your lovely feedback to our staff will be shared with the team. In relation to your comments on the air-conditioning not being cool enough to your liking; please know that this has been shared with our Engineering team to review for future improvements of our guests. We do hope you will choose to celebrate another special occasion with us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2011

Stayed at the Grand Hyatt recently...very lucky to score a room in this hotel with a 'mystery' deal from an internet on-seller. The staff were very professional, polite and helpful and were not fishing for tips. The room was very clean and well appointed. It wasn't the biggest room, but was very well laid out. The king bed was extremely comfortable and was not split in the middle as some are. I really liked getting two different sized pillows...which is a great touch. The hotel is very central to the tram line, south bank and the main shopping area. The tram to St Kilda leaves from the front of the hotel. It is also just an enjoyable 20 minute walk to the MCG/tennis centre/AAMI. A tip for those travelling to Melbourne - if you are going to use the trams (which are excellent) save your coins as the machine on the tram is coin only. We didn't actually partake, but the seafood buffet for Sunday lunch at the Hyatt looked really fresh and good value.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thumper151
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear thumper151, Thank you for your lovely kind comments in relation to our hotel. We are so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and that we met your expectations. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2011

The Grand Hyatt is centrally located, easy walking distance to plenty of shopping and restaurants. The rooms are nicely appointed with all features you would expect, except one. I am dissapointed that there is no good quality office chair in the room. While the small lounge and dining table effect would be great if I was travelling with my partner, it was not particularly good when I wanted to spend a few hours working on my laptop in the evening. It is quite possible housekeeping could supply a chair if you ring and ask, but that just gets annoying. The hotel knows I am travelling alone, and knows I am on a corporate rate - they should expect I want a good work environment.

Do not get me wrong - this is one minor criticism in what is otherwise a very good establishment.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dvd_blah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 22 December 2011

Dear dvd_blah, Thank you for taking to time to share a review of your recent stay with us. We are so pleased you enjoyed our location and our new guest room! We hope to welcome you back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 162 in Melbourne
2,769 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 162 in Melbourne
1,993 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 162 in Melbourne
5,690 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#33 of 162 in Melbourne
838 reviews
Central Business District
QT Melbourne
QT Melbourne
#2 of 162 in Melbourne
629 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 123 Collins St., Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: RM798 - RM2,500 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 548
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 550 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing