We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 January 2012

Yes, back again at this classy and charming hotel in the city. We love coming back for quite a few reasons but most importantly we love coming back because of great service with a smile we get every time without a fail and because of the fantastic accommodation. We got room on 28th floor with absolutely stunning city view. As usual, big comfortable room with ceiling to floor windows, lovely comfortable lounge next to the window, a decent table with two chairs and an amazing king size bed. The bed, bed linen, pillows - everything perfect! If you are suffering from back pain as I do, then you know how much we appreciate a good, comfortable mattress. I had the most wonderful sleep and woke up refreshed and rested. You couldn't hear any noise at all from the hallway outside, everything so quiet and peaceful. The only noise we could hear was the noise from the air conditioner which wasn't too bad but it was too loud for our liking. There was also a good selection of tea and coffee ( wouldn't mind more milk in the fridge! ) and a complimentary water. We didn't come with much baggage but in our opinion there is enough storage space for 2 people. Bath robes and slippers are also provided for you. Bathroom is gorgeous, big enough and luxurious, with a bath and a shower. Plenty of lovely towels,shampoo, soap, etc. and also a scale. Buffet breakfast ( $40p/p ) at Collins Kitchen was tops, with great selection of hot and cold dishes, bread, fresh fruit, juices, bakery delights, and the list goes on. Great service all the way, very polite and respectful staff, nothing is too much trouble for them. So over all, 10/10 without a doubt, we had a lovely and the most relaxing weekend. Would absolutely recommend to anybody who appreciates great service, quality meals and good night sleep!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on high floor with city view - you will enjoy every minute of it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maja1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear ZdenkaAussie25, I am extremely delighted to note of your satisfaction with your overall stay with us. It is also very reassuring that you continue to return with us and that we exceed your expectations each time.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,390 - 4,394 of 4,565 reviews

Reviewed 2 January 2012

Great location and amenities. Good service and room condition. However lacks character but I was not expecting much at the first place given that it's a chain hotel. A bit pricey if comparing to Westin which is just next door (and cheaper).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobolei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear Bobolei, Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are really pleased that you enjoyed our amenities and location. Keep an eye on our competitive rates always loaded on Hyatt.com; as seen via our third party partners sites. I am sure you will find on many occasions we are very well priced in the Five Star market. Please come back and stay with us again; we really appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Booked the Grand Hyatt for NYE. Found the front desk check in service abrupt and impersonal. Stayed on the 11th floor where a piercing noise emanated every time a lift button was depressed. Given the delays for lift service this was particularly annoying. Wasn't welcomed with any information about the hotel facilities except the LUDICROUS price for Internet wifi, but only after enquiring. Seriously in this day and age! I can go to a third world country and get free wifi. Australian hotels need to seriously look at this blatant rip off. I would look for a more service oriented offering. Beds were great and reno fine if you're into marble. Try the Langham, much better service and an outdoor pool.

Room Tip: High up and ask for city views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VivaTravelcuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear VivaTravelCuba, Thank you for sharing your review and your kind comments to our central location and newly renovated rooms. We strive to provide authentic hospitality to all of our guests and memorable experiences so we were disappointed to read you found the service not particularly friendly. Know that your important feedback has been shared with our management team as we learn and grow and continue our path to excellence at all times. Please do consider Grand Hyatt Melbourne once more; we would love to change your mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Hotel was close to all tourist areas in central Melbourne. Clean tidy efficient. Lobby on first floor. Room was spacious and bathroom was very clean and well presented. Amenities were good. Nice range of coffee tea etc and good mini bar. Overall good stay and would recommend.

Room Tip: rooms facing road side probably ore pleasant outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjay255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear Sanjay255068,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on our hotel. We are thrilled to note of your experience and look forward to warmly welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I have stayed at the grand hyatt melbourne very regularly for 3 years plus. It is one of the most welcoming business hotels - good check in, excellent staff attitude (except in ground floor bar where you will be shephered into the dark bar and made to feel unwelcome if you resist - i dont know why they do this - probably to keep overflow space fir meakls) - but i cant fault all other areas-

Room Tip: Go for higher rooms but thus is one of the best hotels in melbourne to get a quiet nights sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bettabegoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear firstbenimble, Your kind comments in relation to our recently redesigned Club rooms and Club Lounge are very much appreciated and we are naturally pleased to learn that your stay enjoyable and that we met your expectations. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#10 of 161 in Melbourne
2,915 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#16 of 161 in Melbourne
2,084 reviews
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#5 of 161 in Melbourne
5,968 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 123 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: RM772 - RM2,217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 550 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing