We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Novotel Melbourne on Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Adina Apartment Hotel Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Somerset on Elizabeth Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Best Western Melbourne City(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$79
US$72
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Pan Pacific Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
US$173
US$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Pegasus Apart'Hotel(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$87
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$83/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$88
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Citadines on Bourke Melbourne(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 28/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$133
US$110
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Treasury On Collins(Melbourne)(Great Value!)
US$182
US$166
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Breakfast
Reviews (4,822)
Filter reviews
4,822 results
Traveller rating
3,053
1,116
408
147
98
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,053
1,116
408
147
98
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscollins kitchenthe club loungemarble bathroomcollins streetstar hotelroom servicecorner roomfederation squarebeautiful hotelbuffet breakfastvalet parkingking roomyarra riverlate checkgreat roomlocation is excellentcentral location
Filter
Updating list...
4,625 - 4,630 of 4,822 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Great location and amenities. Good service and room condition. However lacks character but I was not expecting much at the first place given that it's a chain hotel. A bit pricey if comparing to Westin which is just next door (and cheaper).

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobolei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear Bobolei, Thank you for taking the time to comment on our hotel. We are really pleased that you enjoyed our amenities and location. Keep an eye on our competitive rates always loaded on Hyatt.com; as seen via our third party partners sites. I am sure you will find on many occasions we are very well priced in the Five Star market. Please come back and stay with us again; we really appreciate your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

Booked the Grand Hyatt for NYE. Found the front desk check in service abrupt and impersonal. Stayed on the 11th floor where a piercing noise emanated every time a lift button was depressed. Given the delays for lift service this was particularly annoying. Wasn't welcomed with any information about the hotel facilities except the LUDICROUS price for Internet wifi, but only after enquiring. Seriously in this day and age! I can go to a third world country and get free wifi. Australian hotels need to seriously look at this blatant rip off. I would look for a more service oriented offering. Beds were great and reno fine if you're into marble. Try the Langham, much better service and an outdoor pool.

Room Tip: High up and ask for city views
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VivaTravelcuba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear VivaTravelCuba, Thank you for sharing your review and your kind comments to our central location and newly renovated rooms. We strive to provide authentic hospitality to all of our guests and memorable experiences so we were disappointed to read you found the service not particularly friendly. Know that your important feedback has been shared with our management team as we learn and grow and continue our path to excellence at all times. Please do consider Grand Hyatt Melbourne once more; we would love to change your mind.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

Hotel was close to all tourist areas in central Melbourne. Clean tidy efficient. Lobby on first floor. Room was spacious and bathroom was very clean and well presented. Amenities were good. Nice range of coffee tea etc and good mini bar. Overall good stay and would recommend.

Room Tip: rooms facing road side probably ore pleasant outlook.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sanjay255068
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear Sanjay255068,
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on our hotel. We are thrilled to note of your experience and look forward to warmly welcoming you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2011

I have stayed at the grand hyatt melbourne very regularly for 3 years plus. It is one of the most welcoming business hotels - good check in, excellent staff attitude (except in ground floor bar where you will be shephered into the dark bar and made to feel unwelcome if you resist - i dont know why they do this - probably to keep overflow space fir meakls) - but i cant fault all other areas-

Room Tip: Go for higher rooms but thus is one of the best hotels in melbourne to get a quiet nights sleep
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bettabegoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear firstbenimble, Your kind comments in relation to our recently redesigned Club rooms and Club Lounge are very much appreciated and we are naturally pleased to learn that your stay enjoyable and that we met your expectations. We hope to welcome you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

This would have been a marvelous expeience if it were not for the families that choose to bring their children in for the cocktail hour at the grand club. Hence the "grand' loses its grandeur. It's more like McDonaldland.

Room Tip: Try the Park Hyatt if you want an adult experience in the lounge area.
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jheadden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2012

Dear Jheadden, Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with us. We appreciate your fair opinion and note how frustrating such interruptions can be. Our team strive to always make our environment for (all) as comfortable as possible and we can find this some what challenging, particularly over the festive season. Our food and beverage offering is one to be proud of in this space; however noise must be considered at all times to allow peace and tranquillity our guests relish. Thank you. We do hope you will consider staying at our hotel again to allow our team the opportunity to change your experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews