We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A pleasant stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Ranked #23 of 161 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Stayed here for 3 nights over the recent F1 Grand Prix weekend. Arrived at 11am and was promptly checked in, which is a nice surprise. Room is abit on the small side but adequate for me and the king size bed is very comfortable. Free mineral water in room and complimentary newspaper in the morning is an added bonus. Bathroom has separate bathtub and shower cubicle, and complimentary toiletries which is expected from a 5 star hotel.
Leisure facilities is good as there is a big gym (but can be crowded) and a small swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. I like sport facilities in hotel so this is a big thumb up from me.
Didnt have a chance to dine in here as i missed breakfast every morning ( slept in) but did frequent the bar every nights for drinks. Staff is friendly too.
Location wise is good as near to shops and restaurants.
For the record, my best experience with Hyatt is at Hyatt on The Bund Shanghai. But for Melbourne, this is good enough. A pleasant weekend stay. Will be back.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank whereisfatboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear whereisfatboy
Thank you for your complimentary comments of our hotel. In particular we’re glad that you thoroughly enjoyed our first-class gym facilities at the City Club Health and Fitness Centre - it’s the largest hotel gym in Australia. As a sports fiend, next time be sure to play tennis on the outdoor court located on Level 9 in amongst the city skyline. We hope you enjoyed the Grand Prix and look forward to hosting you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,431)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,213 - 4,217 of 4,431 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2012

I stayed here 2 years ago for a conference and then again this year. The rooms have been upgraded in that time I think. Very modern and elegant. Rooms have flat screens and ipod docs as you would expect. Nice lobby to catch up with people. Enjoyed my 2nd stay here much more than the first.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Halfwayhome101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear Shane G
Thank you for your kind review. You are correct in assuming that our guest rooms have been recently refurbished, now reflecting a modern residential design framed with spectacular city views. We’re glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

My son and I stayed at the Grand Hyatt for 3 nights. The service at check-in left something to be desired. I was asked for my credit card, was handed a plastic key and was waved in the direction of the elevators. I had no idea where I was going or how to use the key (did not know you need to use it in the lift, a kind guest showed this and then showed me to my room). In-room dining is a different story, Vlad was a stand out staff member. His impeccable service was 5 star and delivered the best customer service I have ever experienced. Emily was our hostess during breakfast and high tea and was also a stand out. Her delightful nature and attention to detail was something to behold and the GH should be thrilled to have both her and Vlad on staff.

Upon check-in, I ordered the complimentary newspaper but each morning I had to call downstairs as it had not been delivered. One cheeky woman on front desk suggested I "pop down to level 1 and collect it" at $380 a night, I would expect a newspaper I had ordered would be brought to me!! Another drawback was the dreadful noise from the room next door, showers running for no less than 30 minutes AT 5AM!!!!! Loud chatter in the hallway and doors slamming at all hours took away from the luxurious surroundings.

Room Tip: If you want peace and quiet, book the entire floor!!! ALWAYS request Vlad to deliver in-room dining.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlisonD75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2012

Dear AlisonD75,
Thank you for your comments and we appreciate your thorough review of our hotel.
We are pleased to hear that a couple of our standout staff members made a huge difference to your stay and we will pass on the feedback.
However it is disappointing that all levels of service were not up to scratch. Grand Hyatt Melbourne prides itself on providing attentive 5-star assistance to meet our guests’ needs, so anything less is unacceptable.
We hope that you will choose us again and allow us to turn your experience around. We’ll keep Emily and Vlad on standby!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2012

There was a time when a stay here was hit and miss but my last two stays have been very comfortable. There's clearly been effort going into the hotel over the past few years and it shows. Service was excellent, price was tolerable, meals were excellent, and the beds are just about the most comfortable I've slept in. I never sleep well in hotels - except here.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SteaknKidney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear SteaknKidney
We are delighted to note that you chose Grand Hyatt and that it surpassed your expectations. Our beds are so well renowned that we actually have a website where you can buy them - A little extreme, then perhaps you’ll need to stay again for a fabulous night’s sleep!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2012

i was completely underwhelmed by the overpriced ($580 per night) hotel, i stayed four nights, i cannot recall a time in Australia where i have stayed in such a small room in an alleged 5star hotel. There was not even a desk in what is supposed to be a business hotel. I had to put the computer on the bench over the mini bar and stand up to do emails and work on my computer. there is also no stationery i couldnt find an envelope to send a letter in and had to go to the front desk to get one.

The shower cubicle is built for one of "the beautiful people" normal size adults will find themselves bumping up against the walls of the shower.

As far as tolteries go a lovely array of empty boxes were on display, i put them in the bin but they were either "recycled" or the staff had a supply of empty boxes, are cotton buds really that expensive?

The airconditioning doesnt cool the room even after nbeing adjusted to its minimum and i assume that some energy saving measure is at play as the outside temperatures were quite reasonable, it made it really dificult to get a good nights sleep.

i did have a wonderful view of the airconditioning plant though could not tell fi it was switched on.

Coffee will take at least twenty minutes in the restaurant and if you are unlucky like i was on a sunday morning it took just over 30mins.

The only positives are the great location and the very friendly staff otherwise it wouldnt even rate one star

Room Tip: Stay at a different hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GrandHyattMelbourne, General Manager at Grand Hyatt Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 23 March 2012

Dear Anthony T
We thank you for sharing your detailed feedback on the layout of our recently refurbished rooms. The new work station and dining area (3 seat couch, table and chair) is a total departure from the conventional desk and chair set-up and appreciate that some guests prefer the traditional format.
In terms of the amenities being empty this is unacceptable and has been raised with our Housekeeping manager. Your comments regarding the air-conditioning have also been relayed back to our Engineering department as to the cooler temperature not being as should be.
Hyatt prides itself on providing authentic hospitality to all of our guests and we are greatly disappointed to read that the service was unacceptably slow in Collins Kitchen for your coffee service. This too has been shared with our Director of Food & Beverage.
Anthony T, we hope you will stay again and afford us the opportunity to turn your Hyatt experience completely around.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#8 of 161 in Melbourne
2,815 reviews
Central Business District
The Westin Melbourne
The Westin Melbourne
#17 of 161 in Melbourne
2,016 reviews
Central Business District
Sofitel Melbourne on Collins
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
Sheraton Melbourne Hotel
#26 of 161 in Melbourne
870 reviews
Southbank
The Langham, Melbourne
The Langham, Melbourne
#6 of 161 in Melbourne
5,776 reviews
Central Business District
InterContinental Melbourne The Rialto
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hyatt Melbourne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hyatt Melbourne

Address: 123 Collins Street, Melbourne, Victoria 3000, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Central Business District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#6 Business Hotel in Melbourne
#22 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
Price Range: RM740 - RM2,491 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Grand Hyatt Melbourne 5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Grand Hyatt Melbourne hotel is a 5-star hotel on Collins Street in the centre of CBD, business, luxury shopping, theatre and restaurant district. The hotel is located within walking distance of Princess Theatre, Federation Square and Southgate. The hotel provides 550 rooms and suites with extensive meeting rooms and event facilities, spectacular upper and lower lobbies, the restaurant, Collins Kitchen, the bar, RU-CO, as well as an exclusive retail environment and innovative events venue, the residence. Guests booking into Club accommodation will enjoy all the benefits of the Grand Club lounge including personalised express check in and check-out, deluxe continental breakfast, all day refreshments, evening drinks with canapes and private meeting areas. For meetings and events, Grand Hyatt Melbourne offers the perfect combination of first-class function rooms, outstanding services and a range of flexible packages. For weddings our Melbourne hotel offers a range of romantic rooms for your special day. Grand Hyatt Melbourne also offers all guests' access to City Club Health & Fitness 24/7. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hyatt Melbourne reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hyatt Melbourne Hotel Melbourne
Melbourne Grand Hyatt
Hyatt Melbourne
Melbourne Hyatt

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing