We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“looking for Dad” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Immigration Museum

Immigration Museum
Ranked #25 of 351 things to do in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Explore Australia's history and culture. Journey through Melbourn's history and explore stories of people who have migrated from all reaches of the world. From the reasons for making the journey, to the impact on indigenous communities, these stories are sometimes sad, sometimes funny, but always engaging. Located in the Old Customs House in the heart of the city - an easy walk from Flinders St Station or Southern Cross (or catch the free City Circle Tram).
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“looking for Dad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

excellent exhibition on child migrants which my dad was very informative and some times emotional

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank CODRFD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    525
    367
    76
    16
    5
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just ok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Found it somewhat interesting but it was rather basic for the 15 dollars they charged adults.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Zarken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
251 reviews
184 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“A fun and interesting day out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

Having read in our local newspaper that the museum was having a family fun day we decided to go along and check it out. We were not disappointed; it was a very entertaining way to spend our day.
There is always the worry that as a childless couple, going along to a children’s event, the day might turn out to be a disaster. There can be children running amok, shouting, screaming and being generally distracting; not ideal in a museum. However there was none of that here. There were so many activities going on that the children were always kept fully entertained. Adults were also welcome to join in the activities and we both had a go at making a cardboard house for the cardboard village erected outside. We also made an aeroplane out of pipe-cleaners and ice lolly sticks although we didn’t really make a good job of that.
Once we’d exhausted all the fun activities we turned to the museum displays and they were just as fantastic. From the huge ship, which replicated many eras of sea travel, to the displays of racist and sexist products that we have and still buy today. The most interesting section for us however was the British child immigrants section. It was very sensitively done even while covering some horrendous topics.
Having said that, if the museum had not have the activities on, I'm not sure that we would have stayed as long.
A superb museum and one we would not hesitate to visit again.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Rachael H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Boring”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

What a bore. Been here three times on school excursions. Not very interactive like most museums are these days.

Helpful?
Thank michael_mrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greater Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Very educational and interesting the hardship of the ancestors”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

The immigration museum is actually surprising the detail that is shown for the different years that the ancestors travelled to Australia

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Brenny1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Immigration Museum also viewed

 

Been to Immigration Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing