We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Meal in a Delightful Cafe”
Review of Caffe Panette

Caffe Panette
Ranked #775 of 5,012 Restaurants in Melbourne
Cuisines: Australian
Neighbourhood: Fitzroy
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Fitzroy
Reviewed 5 March 2021 via mobile

What a great little find this cafe is. A fabulous corner position opposite the South Melbourne Market in a great area with plenty of “buzz”. The cafe is spacious and well laid out inside and out with lots of colour and personality. The service was excellent; friendly, helpful, efficient and the food was really delicious. Our group of four all tried something different gnocchi, smoked trout, Thai beef salad and the special salmon. Everyone pronounced theirs as the best. Excellent coffee and good wines. This is our new favourite place for breakfast/brunch/lunch.

Date of visit: March 2021
Thank 74graemet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (63)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 63 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2020 via mobile

I’ve been to Caffe Panette many times but this is my first review. Visited recently during Covid restrictions and was impressed by their organisation of social distancing patrons and the sign in sheet before you enter, well done!!

I always order the Spicy South with smoked trout on the side; spicy scrambled eggs, olive bread from next doors Woodfrog Bakery with a side of smoky baba ghanoush to die for, seriously the best I have ever had (and you can buy it to take away in a tub if they have made enough).

Service from the young Irish lass and South American girl is always excellent but the older more fiercer looking woman who seems to be in charge not so good, smile please and act like you are happy to look after your customers!

The location of Caffe Panette is perfect for watching the world go by opposite the South Melbourne Market, I tend to sit outdoors so long as it’s not raining (heaters are on in winter).

Love this place, my fav breakfast spot in Melbourne.

Date of visit: June 2020
1  Thank Reesy7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2020 via mobile

We had poached eggs on toast, croissant with home made jam, coffee and a pot of tea. Great service and lovely fresh food.

Date of visit: February 2020
2  Thank 2017Ravs4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2020

I have been here a few times for a coffee but this time I had breakfast.

The owners have changed. It is a lovely area to sit and people watch. Situated opposite the South Melbourne Market, it is often full of people which proves that though it is pricey, people will still come as the food is great.

I had the the poached egg, Swiss cheese, bacon and avocado [minus the bread] and it was very nice. Presentation was ok and the food was fresh. I also had an espresso - great, strong quality coffee.

Staff are nice and once you get served are very attentive.
Worth trying out and you be the judge.
Parking - in the market, side streets or shopping centre - on market days is free first 2 hours

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Swelltraveller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2020 via mobile

It was a lovely summer’s day, sitting outside opposite South Melbourne Market, enjoying a nice serve of scrambled eggs with generously-buttered crunchy sourdough toast and a pot of leaf tea. And a large bottle of cool tap water. $16.50 all up. The wait staff at Cafe Panette were very welcoming and helpful. All credit to the cafe for offering their customers the chance to donate to support the bushfire victims. Most enjoyable.

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank GlennS249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Caffe Panette also viewed

Melbourne, Victoria
 
Melbourne, Victoria
Melbourne, Victoria
 

Been to Caffe Panette? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.