We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (6,613)
Filter reviews
6,613 results
Traveller rating
4,950
1,107
356
106
94
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
4,950
1,107
356
106
94
Show reviews that mention
All reviews melba restaurant chocolate fountain aria bar yarra river the club lounge a river view room beautiful hotel turn down service high tea south bank corner room valet parking five star hotel buffet breakfast arts centre flinders street station old world charm
Filter
Updating list...
5,628 - 5,633 of 6,613 reviews
Reviewed 3 March 2012

I would describe this as a traditional 5* hotel which delivers everything you would expect. Riverview rooms (a few pounds extra) offer really memorable views across the river to the city and if you are awake then watching sunrise and the reflections on buildings is great. Location is perfect with a short walk to the city or trams and nice restaurants to suit every budget. There is also a sundeck overlooking the river/city which is a great place to relax after exploring, only downside of this is that strangely they don't provide any sunshades / maybe they will address this?

Room tip: The MCG (Melbourne Cricket Ground) offers a great tour even (like us) as non cricket followers. For a free visit, the library near the top of Swanston St is an amazing building, which has regular exhibitions (Ned Kelly in Feb 12) and is definately worth a visit - we went for a quick look in it and spent 2 hours.
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete_Gill_W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidLM_LanghamMelb, Guest Relations Manager at The Langham, Melbourne, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2012

Thank you for your review. We’re so pleased you enjoyed the lovely vantage point of our hotel and its views of the CBD and (for early risers) the chance to watch the sun come up over the Yarra. And the location is perfect for accessing so many areas of the city – Southbank and its restaurants, the Arts Centre and the CBD itself. We have had shading for the outer sun deck, but have had to temporarily remove them for safety reasons caused by the wind. We are looking at developing this area during the winter. We did enjoy your tour tip too! We do hope you get to explore Melbourne more in the future.
David Landis-Morse
Guest Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

Stayed at the Langham for 5 nights last month and really enjoyed it. Great staff confortable rooms and wonderful breakfasts.

Room tip: If you can afford it get a room with a balcony
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clraedc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Booked a room for Valentines day and it was a lovely treat.The hotel is situated in a very central location, making it possible to walk just about anywhere in Melbourne central. We were upgraded to a River View room which was a lovely touch.
Due to the late checkout we were able to enjoy the breakfast and then lounge around by the pool in the morning.
Lovely and very friendly staff.

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cindy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Very few hotels can be described as 'elegant' today but the Langham suits the tag. Everything about the hotel is quality with well appointed comfortable rooms that are spotlessly clean and little luxuries like a clothes valet and quality bathroom slippers. The staff are all excellent, friendly and there not just to serve but also to please - very important today!

The location at Southgate could not be better, only a stroll across the pedestrian bridge to Flinders Street station where almost every tram stops and Shopping Central is only a block or two further west.

The Langham is not cheap but good deals can be had that represent excellent value - our Travel Zoo offer at $199 represented excellent value and provided us with a memorable stay. Well done Langham!!

Room tip: Really all the rooms would be great!
Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LockStockandTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

I travel around the world frequently, and specifically to Australia (Melbourne) as our head office is located there. I have stayed in literary hundreds of hotels, and I found that the Langham in Melbourne is certainly one of the best, if not the best. As a business traveler, I find this hotel so comfortable in every way. Some of my favourite things: the instant and very fast and stable wireless connection for up to 3 devices in your room, the gluten free buffet at breakfast with a range of fruits and juices, thus plenty healthy options, the room service is excellent, they keep the food warm and the presentation is excellent. They also allowed a late check out which assisted me a great deal! The staff are really friendly and the facilities excellent. I was greeted everyday with the words "welcome home", and I can certainly say that it was my home away from home. Comfortable, luxurious and excellent for business travelers for an extended stay. The hotel is so centrally located in Melbourne, close to Flinders station. The beds and pillows are the best and most comfortable that I have ever slept on. Just the right thing for "jet lag"!

Date of stay: February 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nicolene_murdoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews