We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2 nights without kids!”
Review of The Langham

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham
Ranked #4 of 159 Hotels in Melbourne
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“2 nights without kids!”
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Just had the 2 night Easter Haven package. Make sure you do breakfast, but leave room for the chocolate goodies on offer... pancakes with shaved chocolate, smarties and ice-cream. And the chocolate fountain for breakfast!! Unashamedly decadent!
Had a massage with Daniel at the Chuan Spa and loved the jacuzzi, sauna and steam room!
Great position at Southgate.

Room Tip: Ask for a view! I forgot to and then did not bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cate W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,412 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,044
    923
    293
    83
    69
See reviews for
841
2,685
286
912
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

The Langham is a true home away from home. An old-fashioned notion with a modern context. Everything is beautiful, elegant and quiet - the food is fabulous, location super-easy and the Chuan Spa is delightful. Thank you Langham for being an oasis for every Melbourne visit!

Room Tip: the river rooms are worth the extra $ and the corner rooms are a treat.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2012

Just returned from our first stay at the Langham and couldn't be happier with experience. I had booked a river view room for one night on the wish apon a star package as we had a show to go to at Rod Laver arena. To further enhance our stay I had booked for afternoon tea so we arrived early expecting to leave luggage with valet etc, however there was a room ready and we also received an upgrade to grand river room. The concierge and reception were first class all the way, our check in was seamless as was our whole stay. The room was lovely, traditional furnishings, very fresh and very clean, very comfortable bed and also noticeably quiet. Afternoon tea in Aria was delightful as was our late night snack and drink after our show that evening. Breakfast in the Melba restaurant couldn't be faulted either, great food, excellent service and good coffee. We also managed to fit in a swim in the pool. My husband and i who enjoy travelling for pleasure and staying in 5 star hotels were very impressed with The Langham, the service is what you hope to receive from a 5 star hotel but often isn't what you get! The staff we dealt with are a credit to the hotel. The Langham obviously understands the value of a smile! The Langham also excells with the little thoughtful touches such as the bottle of water left in our car on departure. The hotel is also in a perfect location for restaurants, walks and shopping. If you are considering staying in Melbourne, give the langham a go!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SherbetMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2012

We stayed there for our wedding anniversary and it was fantastic. I always wanted to stay there and it was everything I had imagined. From the moment you arrive the staff are so polite and helpful. The room was amazing and the buffet breakfast was delicious. Overall we had a great break.

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aidonop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Wow! What an amazing hotel with excellent service! This was the first visit to Australia for me and my wife and I don't think it could have been better. The staff were extremely hospitable when we thought we could show up with no reservation. They were able to get us a room right away and helped us plan our activities for the week we were there. Honestly such an amazing experience and we are forever grateful to have stayed at The Langham.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darryl H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Melbourne hotels
Southbank
Crown Towers Melbourne
Crown Towers Melbourne
#3 of 159 in Melbourne
2,256 reviews
Park Hyatt Melbourne
#6 of 159 in Melbourne
2,595 reviews
Quay West Suites Melbourne
#10 of 159 in Melbourne
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
Grand Hyatt Melbourne
#23 of 159 in Melbourne
4,118 reviews
Parkville
Art Series - The Larwill Studio
Central Business District
The Hotel Windsor
The Hotel Windsor
#28 of 159 in Melbourne
7,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham

Property: The Langham
Address: 1 Southgate Ave, Melbourne, Victoria 3006, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > Victoria > Melbourne > Southbank
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Spa Hotel in Melbourne
#2 Family Hotel in Melbourne
#3 Green Hotel in Melbourne
#4 Luxury Hotel in Melbourne
#5 Business Hotel in Melbourne
Price range (per night): RM717 - RM2,126
Hotel Class:5 star — The Langham 5*
Number of rooms: 387
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Melbourne Hotel Melbourne

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing