We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not luxury but still comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Ranked #25 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 16 October 2017

We are a family of five including three little kids, I have booked this hotel because of the price (the cheapest in all hotels located in CBD Auckland). That is why, we didn't expect too much about the room and facility. But the room was big enough to stay with 5 people which had two double beds and a sofa/coffee table and there was even a kitchen facility.
Even though the hotel itself was a quite small located on a busy street, I loved the interior of entire house and most importantly, the cleanliness was 100% perfect.
I would definitely rate 5 stars if the hotel offered their house guests a free parking.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Iwasaki F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACH157, Manager at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Iwasaki,
Thank you for your compliments regarding our interior and cleanliness. Unfortunately we only have limited parking on site, and so it is not practical for us to provide complimentary parking to all our guests (besides the point that it is a revenue stream for almost all CBD hotels). Again, your valuable feedback is much appreciated.
Regards
Auckland City Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (976)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

30 - 34 of 976 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

just stayed over night, hotel is nice and modern. the room was spacious, clean and modern as well. although the shower didn't get very hot, it was barely warm so maybe a problem there as there was extremely hot water coming from the sink. otherwise good stay.

Room Tip: i wouldn't know sorry
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

It's in the city centre, just a few blocks away from the InterCity bus station and the Airport Shuttle stop.

Hotel staff is friendly and helpful.

Room is a bit old but clean, toilet and shower is basic. The corridor is dark.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MeniaHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ACH157, Manager at Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St, responded to this reviewResponded 18 October 2017

Dear Menia,
Thank you for your compliments regarding our staff and the cleanliness of our rooms. We are embarking on a program of progressive refurbishments, so we hope to welcome you back to a refreshed look the next time you visit.
Regards
Auckland City Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile

Clean, tidy and confortable. Great price and staff are so friendly. Was worried about being opoosite the city mission but never once felt unsafe. Is abit out of the main cbd of queen st but 3 blocks over makes the world of difference in terms of road noise and building noise. With the bus right out the door to motat and the zoo it was perfect.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank amberleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017

Stayed 2 nights in this hotel, and they have good amenities with free wifi, Breakfast has good choices and location is just 7-10min walk to Sky City Tower. Hotel is close to convenience stores as well and on top of that they have a very accommodating friendly Filipina Staff.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank 사치 임
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
997 reviews
0.1 km away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#38 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,154 reviews
2.5 km away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#31 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,166 reviews
0.6 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
717 reviews
1.1 km away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#30 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St

Address: 157 Hobson Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: RM395 - RM939 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
1912, The year of the Titanic, was when the lobby and entrance of the Auckland City Hotel - Hobson St was originally erected. The hotel has retained the character and charm of its past enhanced with a new building housing 138 rooms with contemporary decor and modern conveniences. The Auckland City Hotel is ideally located at 157 Hobson Street - in the heart of Auckland's entertainment and business district with easy access to motorways. Only five minute's walk to the Sky Tower, Aotea Square, Civic Theatre and Queen Street, the Auckland City Hotel offers convenient, environmentally friendly accommodation for business and leisure travelers alike. Enjoy a meal at hotel Cafe & Restaurant, renew with a read of the Word for Today in our rooms or relax with a workout at our offsite gym and swimming pool, the Auckland City Hotel is called to serve more than just your accommodation needs. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St Hotel Auckland Central
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing