We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Best ice-cream in Auckland” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Giapo Ice Cream

Giapo Ice Cream
Ranked #1 of 68 Dessert in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Description: New Zealand Ice Cream.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
138 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Best ice-cream in Auckland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

This is the best ice-cream in Auckland and easy to get to since it's on Queen St in the CBD.

Giapo is friendly and I love the fact that he's willing to buy home-grown local produce. He might buy up grapefruit from someone and have grapefruit sorbet on the menu the next day.

There is a huge range of flavours and they can change on a daily or weekly basis. These are exciting and innovative flavours; there could be anything from a dark chocolate brownie to chocolate & blue cheese to a sauvignon blance sorbet.

This is definitely a must see when in Auckland!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NixieNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,978 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,530
    320
    91
    29
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“YUMMMMMMMMMM”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

I have been to Giapo on numerous occassions, and would never consider a trip to the city without a stop in for a gelato at the Queen Street store. Gianpaolo (owner and chef) has an incredible understanding of food and nutrition, and an obvious passion for local, organic ingredients. Not only is Giapo a taste sensation, but one that I know is made with love and intention.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Samantha D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Avant-garde Gelato”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I must say, a trip for me to Auckland would be incomplete without a visit to Giapo's. I absolutely love how the experimental flavours keep pulling me back in. Recently I tried organic strawberry and apple/wasabi - it was fantastic. This gelateria is unique in that it also sources from the community - from fresh organic sources. So you know you're getting the best. Also you are served with a welcome as if you're back in italy. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank kidmogul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I have to say this is the BEST icecream i have ever tasted.
The fact that there's constantly a new variety every few weeks is quite astonishing.
Highly recommend to people who love to explore.
-Ralph

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Ralph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Molecular Gastronomy Icecream!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

Flavours that shouldn't work - do. Combinations that sound strange - exciting and inviting. You can't help but be drawn into the world of icecream kitchen chemistry when you visit Giapo. It's a tantalising invitation to sample the entire range of delicious flavours. Chosing just 2 for a tub is so hard. Think you like icecream/gelato..... ? Be prepared to LOVE Giapo.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Giapo Ice Cream also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to Giapo Ice Cream? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing