We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (78)
Filter reviews
78 results
Traveller rating
9
14
15
14
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
9
14
15
14
26
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 78 reviews
Reviewed 20 November 2014 via mobile

We have been to other hostels in Auckland and this was definitely the best! It's in the centre and just a few steps away from queen street. The rooms, bathroom and kitchen are clean. The staff is very friendly, they have every day another highlight like movie night with free popcorn, free BBQ and ice cream and so on. The decoration make you feel a little bit like home.
Just the windows don't keep the noise outside but we always had a good night sleep.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2014

The Frienz hsotel is really clean and friendly backpacker in the center of Auckland, just 5 mins walk from Britomart Station, the price are all right especially weekly rates. The rooms are clean and very spacious and the stuff very friendly and helpful, every night they organise something (movies, poker, barbecue...). Really good backpacker!!!!!!

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cavaz82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This place was ok - the location was great. There was no free parking, you needed to keep a code with you to get in (or buzz the front desk), and there were several stairs to go up before you could take an elevator (difficult with heavy luggage). There were computers with internet to use for free, but wi-fi was paid. The kitchen and common rooms were not very clean or welcoming, I didn't feel like I wanted to spend any time in them or cook anything. The bathroom was fine. The bedroom (6 bed all female dorm) was a bit small but fine for a cheap night. I did like the pink walls! The lady at the desk from the UK couldn't seem to decide whether she wanted to be rude and make us feel like a nuisance or be super polite, easy going and helpful as she was constantly going between the two which we found bizarre. It was fine, but I would look elsewhere if I was going back to Auckland.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JRo85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Very nice hostel steps away from queen street where it can take you anywhere in Auckland and also New Zealand! Awesome staff and always friendly faces around!! Pretty clean for a hostel that big! Staff is always making sure everything is good and clean for guests!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank marciohhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We loved frienz backpackers! When you stay in hostels you just want a clean bed and a decent shower and to feel safe and this was that and more. If you expect any more than that for the amount you are paying a night, then you should probley check into a hotel! Nicky the receptionist was lovely and so helpful always friendly and chatty and the hostel is tidy and well equipped. We found everyone there to be friendly and social and quite a lot of stuff is put on for the travellers such as free BBQ nights. Free drink and club night. Film night. Etc there is a roof top and courtyard for the smokers and a bar and club In the basement which you can't hear at night. Overall this was a good experience for us and I would recommend to anyone long or short stay. R

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tina230584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews