We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very average food”
Review of The Surrey Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Surrey Hotel
Ranked #49 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 13 November 2017

Came to this hotel for a function and was disappointed with the quality of food, considering how much we had to pay. Not quite enough food to satisfy people, and the deserts were especially disappointing, very repetitive dishes and not much choice. We also were seated high in the rafters, I felt very sorry for the organisers of our event having to cart everything upstairs to set up. I was also quite surprised at how much I was being charged for a glass of wine, very overpriced.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank michmegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise K, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

The cats awards dinner was the function you attended and we felt that you were very well catered for. Your organiser booked for 50 and only 35 attended your glass of wine was $9.50. ( We charged for 35) I was on duty that night and our staff "carted" everything upstairs for the organiser and we had many lovely compliments from the group. I am sorry you didn't enjoy your evening.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 192 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2017

Really enjoyed our stay here and appreciated the excellent customer service from staff. Very polite and friendly. We stayed here on several occasions and enjoyed our stay on every occasion. Thanks very much! :)

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank dragostesun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise K, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

So good to hear you had a nice stay. We have some lovely staff at the Surrey and I am very proud to be their Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

I have just stayed at the Surrey Hotel and had a very disappointing experience with the management. The hotel carpark was full of tradesmans' vehicles as the hotel was renovating their motel section, so I parked on the street, not realising it wasn't available parking, and ended up with a ticket of $113. When I showed this to the management, in the hope that they might contribute in some way, I was rudely sent away - it was all my fault, apparently. They could at least have offered me a discount on my next stay. I spend 3 nights each month in Auckland, but will not be staying at The Surrey Hotel again.

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Tina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Certain activities were cancelled last minute, we had no where to go, so we stayed another night in Auckland. We decided to pick a better hotel to stay for one night, better means more expensive.

We checked in quite late, but the process was fast. The lobby area was looking grand, so were the exterior of the hotel. The pool area looked nice too. There're lifts. Remember to ask for your wifi password, the receptionist forgot to give it to me, I had to ask for it. By the way, I can't use it because signal was weak and slow.

Our room was at the end of the hallway, 2 bedrooms, a kitchen and a bathroom, fits 5 adults. The furnishing was a bit old, but still consider clean. Beds okay. Heater in one room broken, called the receptionist, she told me to grab the portable heater in the store instead.

Bathroom very old school and quite tight. Once shower, the floor is wet and flooded. One thing good, water pressure was strong and water was hot enough.

Neighbourhood was quiet which was good. The hotel has a great view of Sky Tower. Parking was easy too.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melanie_Yeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017

This place is not far from Eden Park Rugby Ground. It offered an opportunity to watch an international match on the TV. Simple small bar, for NZ standards with a very limited menu. There was only four of us eating but items we not even available on the menu
Many other better pubs around

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank GordonW318
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
3.4 km away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland Central
103 reviews
2.7 km away
Econo Lodge City Central
Econo Lodge City Central
#51 of 66 in Auckland Central
349 reviews
1.3 km away
Quest Ponsonby
Quest Ponsonby
#58 of 66 in Auckland Central
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 km away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
737 reviews
3.4 km away
M Social Auckland
M Social Auckland
#19 of 66 in Auckland Central
70 reviews
2.3 km away
Abaco On Jervois
Abaco On Jervois
#3 of 66 in Auckland Central
349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Surrey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Surrey Hotel

Address: 465 Great North Road | Grey Lynn, Auckland Central, Auckland 1021, New Zealand (Formerly Quality Inn West End)
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#35 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: RM503 - RM817 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Surrey Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 83
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Surrey Hotel comprises of a hotel and motel complex offering a wide range of accommodation options for the budget conscious corporate or leisure traveler. The hotel complex houses The Surrey Pub, indoor pool, spa and gym. The unique English theme with it's charming decor, antiques and memorabilia as well as the informal kiwi style hospitality make for an enjoyable stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Agoda so you can book your The Surrey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn Auckland
Auckland Quality Inn
The Surrey Hotel Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing