We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Ranked #31 of 65 Hotels in Auckland Central
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 8 October 2017

Reception staff couldn't care less about their customers, Beggars outside the hotel were very rude and drunk! When asked if there was a back entrance (because the kids were terrified to walk past the awful people outside) the staff said no sorry you'll have to use the front door. Just not impressed with the hotel, very expensive to stay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank lyndyward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Romeo L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear lyndyward

Thank you for your feedback, our sincerest apology if you felt that our team did not serve you better, we do have a back entrance but we do not tend to inform our guests to use it during evening hours or at night for security reasons, in regards to the homeless and beggars we have addressed this many times to Auckland Council who seam to take no action. We hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Yours Sincerely

Romeo Liebig
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,186)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 56 of 1,186 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2017

Flexibility if check-out time extended to 12 on my request FREE this time giving recognition of being a regular customer. This is my 5 th stay. Romeo and Lily were very friendly and extended top class service.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank saliya_ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear. saliya_ca

Thank you for taking your precious time to write us a feedback and continue to staying with us, we hope you had enjoyed your stay and hope you will stay with us again in the not so distant future.

Yours Sincerely

Scott Lee
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

The Hotel was perfect for our visit to Auckland. We were only a short walking distance to shows, shops restaurants and transport. Polite, thoughtful staff, comfortable clean room and parking on the property.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Q1901QVsueb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear. Q1901QVsueb

Thank you for your feedback and comments following your recent stay with us, it always a great achievement for our team to satisfy our guests and we sure did in this instance.
We look forward to accommodating you again in the near future.

Yours Sincerely

Scott Lee
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

This Best Western is in a great location about 10 minutes from Britomart Station and the waterfront and directly opposite the SkyTower.

Rooms are spacious and well appointed, they are clean and I always felt safe.

It's relatively modern, but the rooms do lack "warmth" and are pretty bland.

Beds are comfortable, linen is clean, and the staff are very helpful.

There is a supermarket right next door which is convenient.

While there are homeless people nearby they are harmless, friendly, and it is no way a reflection of the hotel or city (other reviewers have mentioned this and I wanted to dispel this as an issue for not staying at this hotel).

I would stay here again.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank gypsyheart75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear gypsyheart75

Thank you for your very detailed feedback and other guest would appreciate your feedback for planing their trip to Auckland. We look forward to your next stay with us in the near future

Yours Sincerely,

Scott Lee
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017

Handy located in CBD. Tidy and simple. Got everything you need for a trip. Special thanks for Lisa Dong, who's way of dealing with the most difficult customers with a beautiful smile was truly inspiring!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Leo P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scott L, Front Office Manager at Best Western President Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear Leo P

Thank you for your feedback and I will pass on your comment to Lisa. We hope we can accommodate again on your next visit to Auckland.

Yours Sincerely,

Scott Lee
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.6 km away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#22 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,007 reviews
2.2 km away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#19 of 65 in Auckland Central
737 reviews
0.5 km away
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
Auckland City Hotel-Hobson St
#25 of 65 in Auckland Central
997 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 km away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#21 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,711 reviews
0.1 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,321 reviews
0.6 km away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#40 of 65 in Auckland Central
1,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western President Hotel Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western President Hotel Auckland

Address: 27-35 Victoria Street West, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Green Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: RM381 - RM851 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Best Western President Hotel Auckland 3.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Modern Apartment Hotel located in the Central Business District, 150 meters from ferries & buses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Hotels.com so you can book your Best Western President Hotel Auckland reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Best Western
Best Western Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auckland New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing