We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$158
US$151
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Grand Hotel(Auckland Central)
US$150
US$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$131
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
SKYCITY Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$130
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$74
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Fitness centre
  • Free Internet
City Lodge(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$54
US$48
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
    Savings alert! 17% below average rates

    The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$58/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    US$158
    Expedia.com
    View Deal
    Certificate of Excellence
    • Pool
    • Restaurant
    Kiwi International Hotel(Auckland Central)
    US$34
    US$27
    Agoda.com
    View Deal
    • Free Wifi
    • Restaurant
    Savings alert! 34% below average rates

    The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$41/night.

    We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

    Reviews (1,067)
    Filter reviews
    1,067 results
    Traveller rating
    252
    528
    196
    55
    36
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    252
    528
    196
    55
    36
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsqueen streetgreat locationvalet parkingairport bus stops rightsky toweraotea centresky buscivic theatrecentral locationseparate bedroomdouble bedsitting areasmall kitchenettenew zealandwould stay againhotel restaurantfree wifi
    Filter
    Updating list...
    87 - 92 of 1,067 reviews
    Reviewed 28 September 2017

    I want to preface this review by saying that my only complaints have nothing to do with the hotel itself or the management, which is why I wouldn't downgrade the hotel. I only mention my reservations for the benefit of other travelers.

    First, the location was superb. The SkyBus does stop right outside, there are tons of restaurants and attractions within walking distance, and we were quite happy with that aspect. The hotel is clean, and while the decor might be dated, I found it charming. Staff was friendly, and our room had a wet bar and sitting area was very comfortable. There were just three things that kept our stay from being perfect.

    The bathroom was lovely, but the shower cubicle was very small. Which was fine! But keep that in mind if you need a larger space. The bed wasn't super comfortable, but I'm very much aware that your mileage may vary. Some people would probably love the mattresses.

    The main issue was the street noise. We were staying in a room on the north side of the hotel, and there were at least three mornings (maybe four?) where there was a lot of loud banging very early (4 or 5 am). It sounded like a lot of glass being thrown into a bin, which made sleep difficult. Again, this isn't the hotel's fault at all, but if you're staying there, you might want to ask for a room on another side of the hotel.

    Overall, we had a very pleasant stay, and I would recommend this hotel, but with that caveat.

    Room Tip: Our room on the north side was really noisy with street noise.
    • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    6  Thank Jerusha H
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2017

    Thank you for your review and I am sorry you were disturbed by noise, there are strict noise control restrictions between 10pm and 7am. Thank you for letting us know so we can monitor the area more carefully.
    Kind regards, Ken

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

    We were kept up for a large portion of the night due to noise from the room next door. There were 7-10 guests in one room having a very loud, drunken party. We complained several times and it continued. The night manager at one point was being intimidated by several large boys who were angry and drunk. We had a baby in our room who got no sleep. The next morning we were told by the staff member as we checked out she could do nothing about it. We were offered a free coffee! What a joke! We paid over $200 dollars for the room. Would never stay again!

    Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    2  Thank 452bellas
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 September 2017

    I am very sorry you had this poor experience, these were bad people, the night manager got them to leave the hotel but they returned later on and started carrying on again. It was a difficult situation for the night manager and I am sorry we could not do better to quiet them down. I understand we have been in touch and given some compensation.
    Again I am very sorry you stay was unpleasant because of these horrible people.
    Kind regards, Ken

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

    What an awesome hotel!! Right through from the friendly staff to the cleanest room we have had in Auckland. Everything you need is there in the room from the stove/oven right to an umbrella. I was totally impressed finding a makeup wipe sachet in the bathroom. There is nothing worse than the threat of incurring extra charges for staining towels and face cloths with makeup. There was even a box of shoe shine products and a little bag provided to take the toiletries home of you wanted. Even the mini bar prices were reasonable. The Wifi was a bonus extra. The restaurant downstairs had some nice tasty meals on the menu, and again the service was great. As we were flying out mid afternoon, the staff allowed us to checkout almost an hour late, and looked after our luggage while we had a wander. This will definitely be our go to hotel when we stay in the city. Thanks for the great stay

    Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    Thank Q2076FSteresah
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

    So pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your positive online comments.
    Kind regards, Ken

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 9 September 2017

    We chose this hotel because of the location close to the city as well as being at the SkyBus stop to the airport.

    During the trip, we used this hotel on arrival and before leaving and so had two different rooms. While both were clean and offered the same small kitchenette and amenities (plus very nice toiletries), we found the room facing Queen St to be quieter and more spacious with city views.

    The hotel provided a late checkout for us and staff were very helpful with directions and with our tour connections. Although the main foyer is small, there is a great cafe next door called MLC which offers excellent lunches during the week.

    I would recommend this as a good first stop in Auckland for those planning to go further.

    • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
      • Value
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank TWBuddy
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2017

    The Skybus service is the best way transfer to or from our hotel, it’s right outside and very frequent 24/7
    There is also a really frequent inner city bus service that stops directly outside for just a $1. It does a loop of the city, K’rd and waterfront, a great option for budget sightseeing and you will get a feel for the city lay-out.
    Thanks for the great review
    kind regards, Ken

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 26 August 2017

    Scenic Hotel Auckland is a in great central location which is the best thing going for it. Staff were friendly and polite but the hotel itself is a bit dated and felt like it needed a spruce up. Rooms are ok and what you'd expect based on what you're paying. Don't expect to be blown away but it suffices.

    • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
      • Sleep Quality
      • Rooms
      • Service
    Thank Travelling_Cantab
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Ken M, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

    Thank you for staying with us and taking the trouble to post your comments.
    Kind regards, Ken

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews