We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location....small room..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Econo Lodge City Central
Ranked #51 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 3 August 2012 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for five nights the staff is amazing and very helpful, the assisted us with everything that we need.
The room that was first given was tiny and near the elevator ,so the staff gave us another room bigger (still small.). The room although small are clean and serviced daily
This hotel is centrally located near everything. There restaurant stores, ferry terminal, bus terminal are all at a walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank foxy86_love
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (353)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

238 - 242 of 353 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2012

The room was perfect for my needs. Yes they are small, but at that price the location cannot be beaten. Very central, well presented, very clean and tidy, great shower. I would definitely go back, but would get one of the bigger rooms if travelling as a couple.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2012

I found they have diff taps for hot and cold water. And how to u use warm water with this kind of taps. I don't know whether they have change it since we went in June 7 2012. Also i noticed they lowered their price after we left. Not sure if it is seasonal. Other hotels also did not change. Their heater is a portable one but it is very warm. Room is tiny with queen bed. Staff is not friendly nor forthcoming with any suggestions. The shower head is fixed to the wall which is very inconvenient for me too. Too expensive with this kind of facilities charging me NZ$129 for one night. Only thing is near to Queen street.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DYNK L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

I would recommend this place only if you are travelling on your own, don't have too much luggage, and don't want to do yoga in the morning. The rooms are tiny (that's how come you pay so much less), but in addition to that there are steps up to the lobby from the street. A good secure alternative to hostel accommodation, but without the character or ability to meet other people. You get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ranui T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2012

I recently spent three nights at this hotel. It's in a great location, handy to all public transport, shops and the waterfront. Rooms are small but clean an have all you need. Excellent choice for those not wanting to spend a fortune.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SallyBrandreth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.7 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#36 of 66 in Auckland Central
736 reviews
3 km away
Alpers Lodge
Alpers Lodge
#56 of 66 in Auckland Central
105 reviews
0.7 km away
Ascotia off Queen
Ascotia off Queen
#53 of 66 in Auckland Central
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel
#34 of 66 in Auckland Central
234 reviews
0.3 km away
Best Western President Hotel Auckland
Best Western President Hotel Auc...
#31 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,207 reviews
0.8 km away
Crown on Cintra Lane
Crown on Cintra Lane
#45 of 66 in Auckland Central
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Econo Lodge City Central? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Econo Lodge City Central

Address: 37 Wellesley Street | Corner Wellesley & Albert Streets, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand (Formerly City Central Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Price Range: RM 257 - RM 677 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Econo Lodge City Central 3*
Number of rooms: 105
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Econo Lodge City Central reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
City Central Auckland
Hotel City Central
Econo Lodge City Central Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing