We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
SKYCITY Hotel
Nearby Hotels
CityLife Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$130
US$122
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Millennium Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$129
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Crowne Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$139
CrownePlaza.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$208
US$189
Sofitel
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Pullman Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$131
US$111
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Rydges Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$156
US$116
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Scenic Hotel Auckland(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$133
US$99
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hilton Auckland(Auckland Central)
US$216
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel(Auckland Central)(Great Value!)
US$123
US$103
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Fitness centre
  • Free Internet
US$146
US$122
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,093)
Filter reviews
2,093 results
Traveller rating
931
813
256
49
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
931
813
256
49
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky city hotelfortuna restaurantbusy hotelfederal streetupgraded to a suitevalet parkingcentral locationnew zealandroom was largegreat roomthe heart of the citychecking outmini barstayed one nightbuffet breakfastqueen streetdicky
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
35 - 40 of 2,093 reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2018

This is a good property (about 220 units) in the heart of Auckland. Rooms are good and reasonably spacious. Bed is great. Bath is very good. Clean and well attended. However, if you're from America..don't expect the basic niceties. There was no ice machine...we had to call down and wait for it to arrive. Little things that one would normally expect (like a few bottles of FREE water in the room) were noticeably absent.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma E, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Dear Steve D,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at SKYCITY Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are very lucky in New Zealand to have clean drinking water available from the tap which is why we don't provide complimentary bottles of water in the room.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Gemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

Good central location,Rooms expensive but high quality, Orbit Restarant impressive great views ,Meal deal excellent 3 courses for $80. Only problem we had was charged us surcharge for using credit card at reception without even offering alternative however did correct this when asked.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bernardhope06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma E, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Dear bernardhope06,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at SKYCITY Hotel.

We have dynamic rates which mean they change daily based on a number of different factors. Auckland is extremely busy at this time of the year which in turn means higher rates. Keep an eye out online for special deals throughout the year.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Gemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

Good location , but disappointed . I have been travelling worldwide for the last 60 years never have I had to pay for a bottle of drinking water in the room -the view of the harbour is marred by the building works going on.-good location for the quay side , shops and bars to walk to. Room was a good size.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Cheers142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma E, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Dear Cheers142,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at SKYCITY Hotel.

New Zealand is very luck to have clean drinkable water available in the taps which is why we do not offer complimentary bottles of water in the room. This is also part of our commitment to the environment to not introduce more plastic bottles.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Gemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

Stayed in a deluxe room. Two rooms reconfigured. Bathroom was strange either the “shower” part having a tiny tolet and even smaller sink. Shower had loose tiles that gushed water up from beneath and mold

Room Tip: Nice city location
Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank rbjella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma E, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear rbjella,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at SKYCITY Hotel.

I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay however our bathrooms have all been recently renovated and all aspects are a standard size, including the toilet and sink which you mentioned above as being small.

Kind Regards,

Gemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2018

Despite being a very large hotel the staff are charming, helpful and go out of their way to give personal attention. Rooms are very clean and well serviced. The hotel is centrally located ideal for night life and has a casino. It doesn't have a pool but there is an excellent pool which guests can use across the road in its partner hotel opposite.
Avoid the nearby restaurants which are over priced and not particularly good. Inside the Casino drink and food is of reasonable quality and price. Best place to eat however is down on the Water Front.

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frances C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma E, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear Frances C,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at SKYCITY Hotel.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and made the most out of your time here. The SKYCITY Grand Hotel does have a pool which our guests are able to use on occasion however does need to be requested at the time of arrival and may not be available.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Gemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews