We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,184)
Filter reviews
2,184 results
Traveller rating
989
838
261
50
46
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
989
838
261
50
46
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssky city hotelfortuna restaurantbusy hotelfederal streetupgraded to a suitevalet parkingcentral locationnew zealandroom was spaciouschecking outthe heart of the citygreat roommini barbuffet breakfaststayed one nightqueen streetdicky
Filter
Updating list...
123 - 128 of 2,184 reviews
Reviewed 4 March 2018 via mobile

We have stayed at Sky City on several occasions and availed ourselves of the ‘Experience Package’ which includes valet parking, dining in the Orbit restaurant and other perks. Whilst it is not cheap it is a special treat for occasions of note. The staff are good and the rooms are spacious and well appointed, especially the suites. Well worth a visit to impress a friend or guest.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Bernard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma E, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2018

Dear Bernard R,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay with us at SKYCITY Hotel.

The Experience Package is a great package for a special occasion or for a treat to impress someone. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back next time.

Kind Regards,

Gemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

We arrived at the hotel at about 0930 after flying from the UK via Seoul - two 12-hour flights back to back. We were feeling very tired and in need of a shower and sleep in a proper bed. We fully expected to have to wait until check-in time for our room to be ready. However, the receptionist (David) found us a room nearly straight away. We were very grateful for this. The room didn't have a very good view I have to say, but we didn't care so much at the time. It made a lot of difference to our arrival in Auckland. Well done that man!

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms probably have better views.
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joncer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma E, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Dear Joncer,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at SKYCITY Hotel.

We understand how difficult it is to come off a long-haul flight and you just want to have a shower and rest. Although it is not always possible, we always do our best to have a room ready earlier and I am so pleased that David was able to assist you on your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Gemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

This is a good property (about 220 units) in the heart of Auckland. Rooms are good and reasonably spacious. Bed is great. Bath is very good. Clean and well attended. However, if you're from America..don't expect the basic niceties. There was no ice machine...we had to call down and wait for it to arrive. Little things that one would normally expect (like a few bottles of FREE water in the room) were noticeably absent.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma E, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Dear Steve D,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us at SKYCITY Hotel.

I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. We are very lucky in New Zealand to have clean drinking water available from the tap which is why we don't provide complimentary bottles of water in the room.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Gemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

Good central location,Rooms expensive but high quality, Orbit Restarant impressive great views ,Meal deal excellent 3 courses for $80. Only problem we had was charged us surcharge for using credit card at reception without even offering alternative however did correct this when asked.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank bernardhope06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma E, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Dear bernardhope06,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay at SKYCITY Hotel.

We have dynamic rates which mean they change daily based on a number of different factors. Auckland is extremely busy at this time of the year which in turn means higher rates. Keep an eye out online for special deals throughout the year.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.

Kind Regards,

Gemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2018 via mobile

Good location , but disappointed . I have been travelling worldwide for the last 60 years never have I had to pay for a bottle of drinking water in the room -the view of the harbour is marred by the building works going on.-good location for the quay side , shops and bars to walk to. Room was a good size.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Cheers142
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gemma E, Guest Relations Manager at SKYCITY Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

Dear Cheers142,

Thank you for posting a review about your recent stay at SKYCITY Hotel.

New Zealand is very luck to have clean drinkable water available in the taps which is why we do not offer complimentary bottles of water in the room. This is also part of our commitment to the environment to not introduce more plastic bottles.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Gemma

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews