We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family fun”
Review of Escape Masters

Escape Masters
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Escape Masters is an adventure, where teams are locked in a themed room and their common goal is to break out within an hour. To escape, they have to use objects from around the room, find clues and solve puzzles. This internationally popular phenomenon promises a vivid experience where you can become the main character of a captivating mystery. Choose your own difficulty level, select one of the themed rooms and bring a team of 2-8 people per room. Suitable for all ages, Escape Masters is the perfect venue for corporate functions, parties, stag and hen nights, or a good time with family and friends. Rest assured, there is an emergency exit in each room, so it's perfectly safe and no one will jump out to give you a fright. NEW!!! Lost bag - exciting outdoor adventure, includes a lot of places for you to explore around AKL CBD and gather information to help you with your quest. Numerous exciting HTC Vive VR games available in our spacious lobby. Come and immerse yourself!
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Stairs / lift, Baby buggy parking, Lockers / storage, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access
Reviewed 2 April 2018

We had a fantastic time at Escape Masters. It was our first time there so we needed some help to get started. The staff were really friendly and helpful. I'm in a wheelchair and found the room easy to navigate and the staff helpful. We will be back to master another challenge.

Thank KateAaronPaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swetha V, Manager at Escape Masters, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thanks for a great review! Would be awesome to have you back solving another fun challenge :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (231)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"great fun"
in 29 reviews
"team building"
in 15 reviews
"spy room"
in 8 reviews
"fun activity"
in 9 reviews
"escape room"
in 11 reviews
"easy level"
in 6 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 13 reviews
"medium difficulty"
in 4 reviews
"problem solving"
in 5 reviews
"year olds"
in 3 reviews
"awesome experience"
in 3 reviews
"rainy day"
in 3 reviews
"puzzles"
in 42 reviews
"alien"
in 13 reviews
"cyber"
in 6 reviews
"legacy"
in 5 reviews
"challenges"
in 10 reviews
Filter

18 - 22 of 231 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

This was our first time doing an escape room. We chose spy theme, easy level. We were a family of four, including 2x 8-year-olds. It was a lot of fun for all of us. Challenging enough without being too difficult. There were a couple of clues that we "got", but there was a little trick to them that we needed some help discovering. The staff were really friendly and helpful. The price means that for a family, it would be something you would do on occasion, not frequently. If cost wasn't a factor we'd all go back again tomorrow!

Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swetha V, Manager at Escape Masters, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thanks for an amazing review! So happy to know that you all had heaps fun! With pricing the more people come in to play the cheaper it will get. Hope to see you again soon with a bigger group for another fun challenge! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018 via mobile

It's a fun and hardworking experience. Great for everyone and shows how well people work as a team. Me and my friends are going to do it again next time we visit.

Thank Matt M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swetha V, Manager at Escape Masters, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2018

Thanks for an amazing review!! Will be great to see you again soon for another fun challenge! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

An unusual date night but one to remember! My boyfriend and I are from the UK and love doing escape rooms at home so this was great! Definitely a relationship builder haha! Staff were friendly! We done the haunted room which was exciting and fairly difficult! We'll definitely be back to do another! :)

Thank MelissaWeathersbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lilluska, Owner at Escape Masters, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you for your review Melissa! It was a pleasure to host you guys for your date night. We would love to have you back again and we have 4 more experiences you can choose from. :) Glad to hear that our staff was friendly and made your experience better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018

We did the Alien Prison Escape and overall it was a huge let down.
First of all, one of the first padlocks was already unlocked and it’s always disappointing when a room isnt properly reset.
One of the other puzzle mechanisms didn’t work with the right sequence and we needed to call the game master in, who also had trouble and had to use force to open it.

Small things like a lack of story setup and lack of ambience really could be improved on.

We were going to bring up our issues with the staff but since she didn’t really seem interested, we decided not to bother.

The overall vibe was quite amateur and disinterested. We left feeling defeated and disappointed even though we escaped the room with almost 10 mins remaining. This is a real shame because normally when we leave an escape room- successful or not- we try to book another room immediately after, because we love the experience so much.

After posting our original review on TripAdvisor, we were contacted by someone from Escape Masters to discuss our concerns. We were impressed by her willingness to listen and take on board our feedback. She spoke to the game master who handled our game to discuss her lack of interest. She also offered a refund and a free game.

Even though our experience on the day was quite poor, the contact we received afterwards was good, and we hope that future players have a better time at Escape Masters than we did.

Thank MilkyButterBae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Escape Masters also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Escape Masters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing