We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room and location!”
Review of VR Queen Street

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
VR Queen Street
Ranked #23 of 66 Hotels in Auckland Central
Reviewed 28 September 2017

The room was great and the location was excellent! Manpreet at the front desk was very helpful and answered all our questions! The food was good and the wait staff in the restaurant were also very nice...We'd recommend this hotel highly!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LoveSouthAfrica3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, General Manager at VR Queen Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Valued Guest,
We wish to thank you for your valuable feedback and are happy to note that you had a comfortable and a good experience with us. Its nice to know that you liked our staff and their approach towards customer delight, we take pride in that.
I shall certainly convey your compliments to the housekeeping and restaurant staff.
We now look forward to your next stay
Regards
Ajay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (565)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9 - 13 of 566 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2017 via mobile

What a find! I read a few other reviews which mentioned VR has the best beds and showers - and that's the truth! I've stayed in lots of hotels for business, many 2-3 times the price of VR, and the beds have been worse. VR isn't the latest in fancy decor but everything is clean and fresh - and those beds are to die for!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Thelly76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, General Manager at VR Queen Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Thelly,
We wish to thank you for your valuable feedback and are happy to note that you had a comfortable and a good experience with us. Its nice to know that you liked our staff and their approach towards customer delight, we take pride in that.
I shall certainly convey your compliments to the housekeeping staff. Its great to know that you liked the beds and the shower pressure.
We now look forward to your next stay
Regards
Ajay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017

All in all, I enjoyed my stay, but I'd challenge the 5-star rating. Wotif.com advertises this Hotel as a 5-star hotel. Foyer looks like 3-3.5 star. Strange odour in the hallway, however room was clean and lovely.
Advertised as a king room, it was actually two twin beds pushed together. The pillows made up for this disappointment. This aside, room was spacious with kitchen along one wall.
Bathroom was fine. Shower bay was large but the shower stool/chair in corner detracted from the model feel. Important feature though for impaired guests.
Easy walk to city food and tourist destinations and a convenience store across the street for water/snacks.
Reception staff, when they were there, were very helpful. Called me taxis each morning and printed my presentation for a fee per page. Did ring multiple times though with no answer.
Restaurant was OK - ate breakfast only. Tables were small and not a private area, but those eggs were pretty tasty after an overnight flight!
Overall would recommend if you have commitments top end of the city.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pebble_79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, General Manager at VR Queen Street, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Pebble,
We wish to thank you for your valuable feedback and are happy to note that you had a comfortable and a good experience with us. Its nice to know that you liked our staff and their approach towards customer delight, we take pride in that.
I shall certainly convey your compliments to the housekeeping staff. Its good to note that you found the hotel location very central.
We now look forward to your next stay
Regards
Ajay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017 via mobile

The room was clean and comfortable. However the internet kept going off and there was never anyone to help out. The reception phone was never answered and we did miss room service.
Plus points. Great location and comfortable room.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank dolphinmama22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, General Manager at VR Queen Street, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Valued Guest,
We wish to thank you for your valuable feedback and are happy to note that you had a comfortable and a good experience with us. Its nice to know that you liked our staff and their approach towards customer delight, we take pride in that.
I shall certainly convey your compliments to the housekeeping staff. The internet problem has been rectified and it is perfectly fine now.
We now look forward to your next stay
Regards
Ajay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2017 via mobile


Room itself was clean,and well equipped.Great shower, and very comfortable bed.

All the staff were friendly and accomodating.

It was clean, stylish, roomy with excellent service in restaurant where we had dinner. Food was beyond good and great value for money.

I could say I was very pleased with my stay, and although short and sweet this second time around,I hope to be back for a longer visit in the future.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank mira804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VRGroup, General Manager at VR Queen Street, responded to this reviewResponded 22 September 2017

Dear Mira,
We wish to thank you for your valuable feedback and are happy to note that you had a comfortable and a good experience with us. Its nice to know that you liked our staff and their approach towards customer delight, we take pride in that.
I shall certainly convey your compliments to the housekeeping and restaurant staff.
We now look forward to your next stay
Regards
Ajay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland Central hotels
0.4 km away
Scenic Hotel Auckland
Scenic Hotel Auckland
#21 of 66 in Auckland Central
997 reviews
0.5 km away
VR Auckland City
VR Auckland City
#38 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,154 reviews
1.6 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland Britomart
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland B...
#7 of 66 in Auckland Central
830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Auckland
The Quadrant Hotel and Suites Au...
#30 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,246 reviews
0.5 km away
Grand Millennium Auckland
Grand Millennium Auckland
#14 of 66 in Auckland Central
499 reviews
1.5 km away
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
Waldorf Stadium Apartments Hotel
#20 of 66 in Auckland Central
1,694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to VR Queen Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about VR Queen Street

Address: 401 Queen Street, Auckland Central, Auckland 1010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Auckland Central
Price Range: RM400 - RM1,393 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — VR Queen Street 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A brand new 4.5 star hotel with an unbeatable location on Queen Street, contemporary styling and well appointed modern rooms. For the convenience of travellers and visitors to Auckland, VR Queen Street is an ideal location, situated on the prime street of Auckland CBD. This brand new hotel offers excellent convenience of being in the heart of the business, shopping and food district of Auckland. The hotel boasts 80 well appointed rooms offering accommodation options starting from a Queen Room, a more luxurious Deluxe King Room and Premier King Suite, followed by much larger one bedroom and two bedroom suites.For the convenience of our guests, we have a full kitchen in our Deluxe King Room, Premier King Suite, One bedroom and Two bedroom suite, modern ensuite bathroom, LCD TV with Sky Channels, centralized air-conditioning and complimentary high-speed wireless internet. The hotel has an onsite restaurant offering buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner, a contemporary styled cafe and bar, common guest laundry facility, complimentary WiFi access, air-conditioning in public areas and secure on-site car parking. At VR Queen Street, you get the advantage of superior accommodation, superior features, and an unbeatable location, all at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your VR Queen Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
VR Queen Street Auckland, New Zealand

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing