We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great dinner with Friends - Something for Everyone!”

Doolan Brothers Newmarket
Ranked #1,617 of 2,360 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Doolan Brothers are Auckland’s quintessential Irish pubs. Stretched across four corners of the city’s suburbs, the Lynfield, Newmarket, Botany & Ellerslie locations ooze authenticity and tradition and as part of the wider group of 6 Irish Pubs, ‘Doolans’ offers Auckland’s premiere Irish pub, food and entertainment experience.
Reviewed 2 June 2016

We were a party of 5 that wandered into Doolan Brothers on a Friday night (about 7.30pm) without a reservation. Place was busy and we were lucky to get a table. Casual pub atmosphere - typical tavern/restaurant with Super Rugby on the big screen. Steinlager on tap - very nice. Particularly liked the menu options: either pub-style meals or more fine-dining options. Choose your meal and order/pay at the bar. Service here a little unwelcoming. Half table had steak, chips and salad and all were very pleased with their meals. Steak cooked perfectly. Others had restaurant menu options: crispy skin fish - was beautiful; and the pork belly - again beautifully cooked and presented. Prices mid-range but good value for money. Would definitely go again.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolansNewmarket, General Manager at Doolan Brothers Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2016

Hey Helen!

Thanks for the amazing rating! Glad you had a great time here! Hope to have you and your friends back again soon!

Thanks :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (62)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 62 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2016 via mobile

Popped in at lunch for a beer and a burger from their lunch menu. Service was friendly and draught beer ok. Chicken burger $15, basic shredded lettuce, tomato, not sure what chicken cut - wasn't breast. Fries were inedible - soaked in oil.
Nice watering hole but not for food.

Thank drdfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolansNewmarket, General Manager at Doolan Brothers Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2016

Hey

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. Sorry to hear that you were not 100% happy with your meal, our staff members would have gladly changed this for you. The chicken we use for our burgers is chicken thigh! Doolan's are great destinations for sporting games, hopefully will have you back for one of the upcomming All Blacks test matches against Wales! Enjoy the long weekend.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

We emailed and booked a group of 8 and got a very nice confirmation email back. We asked if we could be there when they opened at 11.30am on a Sunday. Arrived to find place locked and told by a staff member "we dont open until 12"..advised we had a booking, which she didnt know about, and reluctantly let us in. Place wasnt ready for customers. Order taken for drinks ok but we waited ages for food orders to be taken...had to call them over. One fish meal arrived raw/uncooked and was sent back. My wife had thai beef salad and couldn't even eat it...cold, bland and meat covered in congealed fat. You would have thought the chef would have come and asked what was wrong when the meal went back 95% uneaten, but no one even asked. Went to order a coffee to be told the "Machine is out" and then 5 mins later a coffee arrived for one of the other guests and the waiter said sorry " I didn't realize they had bought in another machine". Other meals were quite nice, but overall everyone said it was fairly average. No-one came and cleared the table so we had to dump of plates on an adjacent table. Staff seemed unhappy, uninterested and completely out of tune with customer service. We wont go back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Steve2902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolansNewmarket, General Manager at Doolan Brothers Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Hey Steve,

thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are sorry to hear that your experience has not been up to standard. At Doolan Brothers we do pride ourselves in our staff, service & food and, as you can imagine, are quite disappointed to hear that you did not experience this on the day.
Steve, if you wouldn't mind emailing me on grainne@thebbc.co.nz with the date you made the booking and any staff members you may have dealt with so i can look at rectifying this situation.
Thanks again for your time on leaving the review. Look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2016 via mobile

Been here a few times and the guy behind the bar is consistently unfriendly.

The drink glasses can be poorly washed and the tables seem to be forever sticky.

Thank Aklguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolansNewmarket, General Manager at Doolan Brothers Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Hey,

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We are disappointed to hear the comments about the staff and cleaniness of the venue. If you wouldn't mind emailing me on grainne@thebbc.co.nz with details of staff members you have dealt with in particular and the last visit you would have made to the bar. We pride ourselves with our venues and are disappointed to hear you have not had a good experience.

Thanks again for taking the time to leave us feedback. Look forward to hearing from you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2016

Not much to see here, not exactly a destination - more a watering hole for locals and office workers. Very average wine list, more of a beer drinking haunt. Wouldn't really recommend the pub grub. Has live music on occasion and if you need to find a place screening a sports game it's a pretty good bet.

Thank ZoeBowkerTableNo7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DoolansNewmarket, General Manager at Doolan Brothers Newmarket, responded to this reviewResponded 26 May 2016

Hey,

thanks for taking the time to leave us a review! Its a great venue for watching sports ( especially the upcoming All Blacks Vs Wales tests! ) There is also a menu change coming in the next couple of weeks, so definitely come back and give that a try! Have a great weekend!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Doolan Brothers Newmarket also viewed

 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Doolan Brothers Newmarket? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing