We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Beautiful”
Review of Molten

Molten
Ranked #367 of 2,305 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: US$0 - US$100
Cuisines: European
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dannevirke, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Absolutely Beautiful”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Everything was cooked to perfection, the chicken was fantastic. Friendly staff, great cocktails. I would come back again!!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elaine12371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    33
    15
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic dinner”
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We came here because we'd seen 'The Food Truck' series on TV and wondered about the restaurant. We were not disappointed! The food, wine and service were all superb.

We had fired duck livers and buffalo mozzarella entrees, beef sirloin and salmon mains, and chocolate torte and rasberry gratin for dessert. All were perfect, the highlight being the fired duck livers which deserve their place on the permanent 'untouchables' section of the menu.

The service was excellent - attentive without being a nuisance. Our waitress was able to answer all the questions we had about the menu and kept our wine glasses full through dinner :)

It's quite a small restaurant so you're reasonably close to other tables, but we never felt like we couldn't hold a conversation. There's also a little noise from the busy street outside, but nothing that should stop you coming here.

Overall, highly recommended.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ScheuNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“We should come here more often..check out the wine chart”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

We hadn't been for a while and decided it was time for another visit. We are almost locals and enjoy the fact that this top class restaurant is an easy place to get to.
Meals are excellent especially the pork terrine and scampi. Mains continue to surprise in their quality and there was no taste sharing going on between us..always a sign that our choices hit the spot. Staff were attentive and seemed knowledgable.
Some of the tables could be a bit close to each other but we usually find a good one.
Best of all is the wine selection diagram..we've never seen this before and it will appeal to left brain people!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PatchNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Distinctly average”
Reviewed 14 February 2012

Really can't see why this rates so highly. Food is good, but location is worse than most KFCs and service is supercilious.

If you are looking for an upmarket evening out then you will be disappointed. If you want nice food in a suburban shopping area on a busy road then you will be satisfied but feel overcharged. The staff seem to have more of an eye on the potential tip than they do on you; consequently you feel like a meal ticket rather than a diner.

I had a steak and it was OK. But a simple dish such as a steak should be more than "OK" at these prices. There are MUCH better places around.

  • Visited January 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palm Springs, California
Level 6 Contributor
144 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Very interesting dishes”
Reviewed 9 January 2012

Great food in a nice relaxed setting.
The combinations of flavors and ingredients were wonderful.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank World_Traveler_DR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Molten also viewed

Auckland, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 
New Zealand, South Pacific
Mount Eden, Auckland Region
 

Been to Molten? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing