We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place ,close to Town”
Review of Ashwood Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashwood Manor
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 May 2017

Great Location , walking distance to bars ,shops etc. Big Rooms that have everything you need . Spa Pool in Bathroom which is great . Only stayed 2 nights and room was serviced daily ,would def stay again.

Room Tip: not sure as all look good
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Ashwood Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 116 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2017

I arrived at a city centre hotel and expected to hear traffic all night but was pleasantly surprised. The road noise was minimal and although the plumbing was noisy it did not disturb me, maybe my sleep patern upset the other guests when I showered before the were awake. The plumbing noises are totally understandable and acceptable because when you get into the shower it is strong enough to remove the 3 hour flight and 2 hour drive with water to spare. I never used the spa bath, standing under the shower removed all aches and pains. I would have preferred a smaller bath and bigger cubicle but then I would not have left the room.

Internet was slow, car park full, the two may be related, full occupancy taking up all the bandwidth. Which made me forget work and spend more time in the shower.

5 minutes walk gets you on hood and Victoria streets full of food and bars, just far enough to be out of ear shot but close enough to enjoy.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank overseas_engineer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

Stayed 1 night, wish we could've stayed longer. Unit was very spacious, bathroom was huge. Spa tub was amazing! Water pressure in the shower was heavenly. Kitchenette was cute and had everything we needed. Freshly ground coffee on arrival was nice and unexpected. The beds and pillows were so comfy I wish I could take them home! Sky tv was great. Wifi was great. Staff were friendly and professional.
Don't know Hamilton at all but the location seemed central (4 min drive to Starbucks). Would recommend to friends, will definitely stay again.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with family
Thank livspencer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

This was a rather nice and comfortable room, very convenient, all amenities available.

However, by the time I arrived I had already decided I would consider very carefully staying with them again, and by the end of my stay I thought probably I won't ever again. I booked a ten night stay, no trifling matter, I was having medical treatment in the city and I needed a place to stay. I booked a week before. I was about halfway there, having just driven two hours without phone reception. I got a text message from them, saying please reply yes if you're still staying with us, so of course I replied yes as soon as I received the message. Then my phone rang as I pulled into their drive just after 7pm, I couldn't answer while I was driving so let it go to voicemail, and checked in as usual. When I listened to my message later that night, it was the motel, threatening to cancel my entire booking if I didn't phone them immediately to confirm. This is rude and unnecessary, never before have I been treated like this by a motel, particularly cheeky considering I can't get a refund on the first night so they would be getting double price for on-selling my already paid for room.

The other very bad thing was there was a noisy party half the night in another room, starting about 15 minutes before reception closed for the night, and they did absolutely nothing about it. I waited, surely they would do something, but no they just packed up and left for the night. I had to step around vomit on the stairs next day.

Breakfast was average, I ordered Vegemite and got Marmite, and the yolk on one of my poached eggs was blown out and destroyed and the eggs were overcooked. No butter, or margarine, what the? Never had a motel breakfast without butter or margarine for my toast before, Vegemite is not the same without it.

The stairs were tedious and not easy to get up fully laden, also it was sometimes quite a hike from the car as the car park was almost always full up by mid afternoon, so I had to park down the hill a bit.

The spa was lovely though, and I loved that dumplings were available by room service, and freshly ground coffee in reception although this could perhaps just be left in your room by housekeeping instead of making a big production of giving you something amazing that you wouldn't expect in a motel room. Just about every motel room in the country supplies ground coffee these days. Kitchenette was great and well laid out. Housekeeping staff were very friendly and cheerful, they could train reception staff in customer service.

So I can't really say for sure if I'd stay again, never say never, but this place would probably be near the bottom of my list after the way I was treated.

Room Tip: Spa rooms are very nice
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jody W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AngleseaMotel, Reception at Ashwood Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 7 May 2017

Hi Jody,

Thank you for your honest comments, we are sorry to hear that you were threatened with loosing your room. The staff member you received the call from will be spoken to about this unacceptable behavior.

I would like to formally apologize for the way you were spoken to over the phone and the substandard breakfast. We pride ourselves on holding our services up to a high standard.

We are going to work on ways to make sure what you experienced never happens again.

Regards
Simon (Reception)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017 via mobile

While this motel was very clean & tidy, with good communication prior to our late (10pm) arrival, we were disappointed to find that they had not left any milk in the fridge, (or little sachets) for a cup of tea in the morning. We rang reception several times from 7am with no response. Also we felt as if we were in a rather commercial public bathroom, with a huge double toilet roll holder on the wall and a huge hand sensor paper towel dispenser in place of real hand towels. At the basin and the sink there were large hand soap dispensers. The shower was a small one with an angled door opening so that when you turned the shower on a lot of water would have hit the floor had I not turned the nozzle away from the open door. Why such a small shower when there was masses of room for a good size square one!! I guess it's done for economic reasons but I feel they have done themselves no favours with the very commercial look, unhomely look to the bathroom, particularly.

Stayed: April 2017
Thank Ludbrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.8 km away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#9 of 63 in Hamilton
948 reviews
1.9 km away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
254 reviews
0.4 km away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 km away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,162 reviews
1.4 km away
Anglesea Motel & Conference Centre
2.1 km away
Atrium on Ulster
Atrium on Ulster
#2 of 63 in Hamilton
320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashwood Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashwood Manor

Address: 16 Thackeray Street, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: RM255 - RM574 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashwood Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashwood Manor is quality motel accommodation situated in the heart of Hamilton's CBD, only a 5 minute stroll to the main restaurant and entertainment centre. Our central location makes us handy to Waikato and Braemar Hospitals, Hamilton Lake, Waikato Stadium, Founders Theatre, & so much more. We have 27 modern Studio and Studio Spar Suites, 18 of them with in-room self-filling deep water Spa pools. Our rooms are comfortable and private, each with Sky TV, a Flat Screen TV, Free WiFi (conditions apply), Kitchenette & En suite. So, whether you are in town for business or leisure then Ashwood Manor is an ideal home away from home during your stay in Hamilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashwood Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing