We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice & clean, great tub but a tad noisy”
Review of Ashwood Manor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ashwood Manor
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We chose here as it had an in room hot tub. That was great. Great pressure in shower too.The position of Ashwood is a little noisy as it's close to a main roundabout so if you are a light sleeper don't stay here. No power point close to mirror for hair straightener so bring an extension lead. Overall clean and tidy and adequate with bedding folded back daily which was also nice.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a tub, if possible the most farther away from the roundabout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 13 September 2017

Ashwood Manor is probably my favorite place to stay in Hamilton. It is the most central hotel that I could find that had free parking. Rooms are nice, very large, and includes a small kitchenette. The beds are comfy and they will grind you fresh coffee beans for your morning java. Spa tubs are available in some rooms. The bathrooms and showers are really good. The office staff is always welcoming and friendly, and have been good with recommendations for places to eat. The location is fantastic, very close to the very happening live music scene in Hamilton. It is a quick walk home from Hood Street and Victoria Street. Wi-Fi works great. Lots of little extras at this sweet small motor inn.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ttm85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2017

Dirty Bathroom with mouldy shower. Dirty stained off white towels that stunk strongly of bleach. Filthy floor with stains. The toilet paper holder is large and bulky like those in a public toilet and its right beside the toilet!
No heatpump,no heater, no electric blanket. Freezing cold room. Noisy fridge..
Rude receptionist . Parking is pot luck with no allocated parking per room, parking spaces are small and very few are suited to larger vehicles like utes.. After long days at the hospital it was all I needed to get back to motel each night and find there was nowhere to park, and office only open from 8am until 8.30pm.
Wifi not worth bothering with.
Definitely won't ever go back.

Room Tip: Book any Motel but this one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ishimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshwoodManor, Owner at Ashwood Manor, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2017

Are you sure you stayed at Ashwood Manor? We can't find your name in our booking system. Also, none of these issues raised sound like you were in one of our rooms. Just to pick one point: all of our rooms have central heating in the form of a thermostatically controller radiator along the wall.

Assuming you did stay with us, we would have appreciated it if you would have let us know about these issues when you were here. That would have given us a chance to address them, e.g. show you how to turn on the heater, or how to log into the WiFi. The only way we can address the problems is if you let us know about them at the time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2017

A nice quiet clean motel room close to the city and surrounds. Surprisingly quiet considering being so close to the city. Good wifi, good tv coverage. Staff were helpful. Good value. Parking was a bit of problem especially as it rained during much of our stay and we had to park away from our room.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Garry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Recently my wife had surgery in Waikato Hospital so needed reasonable accommodation close to hospital so I stayed 3 nights! The room was clean spacious with adequate cooking facilities! The bathroom was excellent and very roomy with a good shower! The cleaning staff very helpful and cherry! Shops are handy with the mall in Anglesey Street and Pak and Save close by ! Although parking is probably adequate, if you are late arriving or vacate your park spot don't expect to find a park directly in front of your allocated unit ! In general good accommodation! If there is a downside, it is that if you book and your hospital visit gets cancelled (and it does often) there is no refund! A few days before my wife's surgery, it was postponed a week, but the staff were reluctantly good enough to change the dates without me been out of pocket.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dooleysmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Hamilton hotels
0.4 km away
Ventura Inn & Suites Hamilton
0.8 km away
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
Ibis Hamilton Tainui
#12 of 63 in Hamilton
964 reviews
1.9 km away
Camelot On Ulster
Camelot On Ulster
#5 of 63 in Hamilton
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 km away
Quality Hotel The Ambassador
0.7 km away
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
Novotel Hamilton Tainui
#6 of 63 in Hamilton
1,189 reviews
1.7 km away
Argent Motor Lodge
Argent Motor Lodge
#1 of 63 in Hamilton
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ashwood Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ashwood Manor

Address: 16 Thackeray Street, Hamilton 3204, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Waikato Region > Hamilton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 63 Hotels in Hamilton
Price Range: RM241 - RM557 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Ashwood Manor 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ashwood Manor is quality motel accommodation situated in the heart of Hamilton's CBD, only a 5 minute stroll to the main restaurant and entertainment centre. Our central location makes us handy to Waikato and Braemar Hospitals, Hamilton Lake, Waikato Stadium, Founders Theatre, & so much more. We have 27 modern Studio and Studio Spar Suites, 18 of them with in-room self-filling deep water Spa pools. Our rooms are comfortable and private, each with Sky TV, a Flat Screen TV, Free WiFi (conditions apply), Kitchenette & En suite. So, whether you are in town for business or leisure then Ashwood Manor is an ideal home away from home during your stay in Hamilton. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ashwood Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing