We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Hamilton Tainui(Hamilton)(Great Value!)
US$65
ibis
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$54
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$97
Novotel
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$36
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lake Point Motel(Hamilton)(Great Value!)
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$123
US$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ascot Lodge Motel(Hamilton)(Great Value!)
US$57
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
185
88
18
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
185
88
18
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthree bedroomspa bathgreat bathroomfree wifilarge roomfriendly receptionfully equipped kitchenceiling fanbed was comfortablegreat accommodationwould definitely stay here againgood sizelocation was perfectup to dateon arrivalclose to shopsshower head
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2018 via mobile

Beautiful clean and spacious. Highly recommend. The pool is a lovely chance to cool off in the summer. So easy to find and the hosts are friendly and extremely helpful. We will definately be back to stay.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
Thank cindywhitelaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Manager at Camelot On Ulster, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

Hi Cindy,

It was a pleasure having you to stay, and we really appreciate the great review!

Thank you for the kind comments regarding the cleanliness and spaciousness of the rooms. We look forward to having you stay again!

Kind regards,

Michelle & Alexei
Camelot on Ulster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2018 via mobile

Lovely motel with extremely friendly person at the front desk.

I booked in for one night for a work trip. Room was spacious, clean and the bed was really comfortable. By afternoon the next day I realised I would need to stay in Hamilton again and was so disappointed that all of the booking websites indicated that there were no rooms available. A few hours later I checked again (just in case...) and I found that a room became available and I booked it immediately.

Will definitely stay again next time I’m in the Tron!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
Thank Marie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Manager at Camelot On Ulster, responded to this reviewResponded 29 January 2018

Hi Marie,

Thank you so much for your great review - it's great to hear that you had a comfortable stay with us, and that you found the room to be clean and spacious. The best time to see the word "disappointed" in a review is when someone is disappointed they couldn't stay longer! Haha.

We are happy to be your new number 1 option for accommodation in the Tron!

See you next time,

Michelle & Alexei
Camelot on Ulster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

We were told when we booked in April the family unit would have been done up with a new kitchen. We were shocked when we opened the door to smell a strong fish smell, see rice grains and finger or toe nail clippings that had not been vacuumed up. The unit had not been done up as promised. The walls were badly marked and in some places the paint had come off. There was even a hole in the wall. The fridge was filthy and the freezer a mess. For the $220 a night we were charged this was totally unsatisfactory. We went to talk to the staff about the unit and they were apologetic and released us to find alternative accommodation and charged us nothing which I thought was very good. We did find other accommodation. Please, please go through this unit checking the walls and fulfill your promise to do it up. It looked like a team of rugby boys had been playing rugby in there and please sort the cleaning out.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank htindall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, General Manager at Camelot On Ulster, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2018

Dear Heather,

Thank you for your review. Although a 2-star rating is uncharacteristically low for Camelot on Ulster, we appreciate that you took the time to submit your feedback.

As the managers, we always try our hardest to keep the property grounds maintained, and we work closely with our housekeeping team to clean the rooms to a high standard. We are proud of the comments we receive regarding the cleanliness here, so we apologise if your room had not been vacuumed before you checked in - we have a dedicated person to check every room once they are cleaned, so it is highly unusual that a room is missed, but unacceptable all the same. A meeting was called after your departure to discuss and reiterate housekeeping processes, expectations, and the importance of a great first impression for our guests.

The owners of Camelot - whom you would've met on your previous stay at the motel - put a lot of thought, effort and expense into every aspect of the units here to ensure a comfortable stay for each guest. The rooms are constantly updated, maintained and improved. While the intention was to get every room fully renovated last year, coordinating 5 different tradespeople to refurbish 40 rooms is not easy to schedule. Other factors that we did not anticipate hindered our progress, including one room being completely flooded by a guest, which took immediate priority to repair and restore.

Thank you for mentioning that we refunded your money and cancelled your booking without charging any fees. In the two hours that you did use the room, I'm sure you would have noticed the brand new bathroom. We are pleased to inform you that the room has now been finished, including new carpet in every room, fresh plaster and paint, and a fully refurbished kitchen - complete with a brand new oven, dishwasher, and appliances!

Thanks again Heather,

Kind regards,

Michelle & Alexei
Camelot on Ulster





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2018 via mobile

No problems AT ALL.
Arrived around midnight due to late flight and door was unlocked (key under mat) lights on and bed turned down ready for us to sleep. Absolutely amazing linen, so clean and spacious!
Bed was the best I’ve slept on in a long time. Will be returning!!!

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Ashleigh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Manager at Camelot On Ulster, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Hi Ashleigh W,

We're glad that you successfully navigated your way around the key safe and enjoyed a comfortable stay with us - we receive a lot of positive comments regarding our beds, which are made right here in the Waikato!

Thank you for your perfect review - we look forward to having you stay again :-)

Kind regards,

Michelle & Alexei
Camelot on Ulster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Very spacious, spotlessly clean and well equipped room. The bed is very comfortable with lovely crisp linen.
Tea and coffee is provided including filter coffee. Fresh milk is provided on arrival. Definately worth a visit as it’s location is perfect if travelling from Auckland airport.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank carolew62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alix S, Manager at Camelot On Ulster, responded to this reviewResponded 1 February 2018

Dearest carolew62,

Thank you for taking the time to submit a review.

They seem to be forever working on the roads between here and Auckland, but you are right - we are only about an hour and 20 minutes away from Auckland airport now, handy for those flying in and travelling South (with stops at Hobbiton and Waitomo Caves on the way!).

We appreciate the comments regarding the spaciousness and cleanliness of the room - we're glad that you enjoyed a comfortable stay with us!

Kind regards,

Michelle & Alexei
Camelot on Ulster

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews