We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay”
Review of Tarlton's Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Tarlton's Lodge
Ranked #5 of 20 Paihia B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

Thank you very much Peter for your hospitality, a fantastic host and what a great breakfast! Very relaxing in an amazing spot with great views. We had a lovely time and will definitely be back, cheers.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank BriarCL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2017

Thank you Briar for the positive support. We look forward to your return, hopefully in the upcoming summer season. Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (227)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 227 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2017

We really enjoyed this lodge. The lodge is on a hill with a terrific view over the bay and it is very quiet with forest around. It is an easy walk down to the waterfront. Our hosts were terrific - very helpful with finding restaurants and fishing charters: we came as lodgers and left as friends. Highly recommended

Room Tip: three rooms - all equally good, with balcony facing the bay where excellent breakfast was served eac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank schistos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your positive response. We hope to see you return one day
Peter & Katalina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

Had 3 wonderful nights at Tarltons where our hosts Peter and Katalina were a wonderful source of information and assistance. Breakfast was a wonderful treat and an afternoon spa overlooking the Bay of Islands was a suberb ending to a busy day. Perched on a hill overlooking the Bay, it was only a few minutes drive down to numerous restaurants and attractions.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thanks for your review Kathy. Best wishes
Peter & Katalina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

Me & my husband had been for our 2nd anniversary to this place. we had selected room 3 which had a great view. the owner Peter is a warm person he had already made arrangements for the hot jaqucci. he also has a list of restaurants ready for you which is handy.
the rooms were very clean with the basic amenities in there.
I feel its great for a couple as it doesnt have a microwave or anything if you have a baby with you, but the owner is warm enough to help if needed.
the breakfast is included & the breakfast was nicely made with generously loaded with cheese & other goodies. I think it is a bit over priced. but worth the $$ for the excellent view.
i would definitely visit this place again.

Room Tip: All rooms are really nice but Room 3 has a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gauri m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 days ago

Gauri:

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. Unfortunately our policy dictates that we don't offer cooking facilities, nor accept children or infants, hence the absence of a microwave. Nevertheless we love babies, and recently have been blessed with a third granddaughter. We do however offer a kettle for heating water, tea, coffee, fresh milk, a basket of fruit and filtered fresh water...with lemon slices at breakfast.
All the best and we hope you will return sometime this year.
Best Regards
Peter & Katalina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

We had the most incredible 3 days at Tarltons Lodge. We were greeted with the most amazing sea view. Waking up & enjoying the most divine breakfasts, sitting on the balcony & soaking up the morning sun & the most beautiful view every day was such luxury. The gorgeous spa pool that each room has was pure paradise & indulgence! The peace & tranquility was just awesome. The rooms were immaculate & the bed & linen so comfortable. We have stayed in many places around NZ & Africa & this would have to be our favourite. Words cannot express how beautiful this place is - go & see for yourself! Big thank you to Peter & Katalina for bmaking it such a memorable stay.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Natasha v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thank you Ian and Natasha for your review. You summed up what we offer so well. Katalina and I hope to see you back some day. Very Best Regards

Peter & Katalina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paihia hotels
1.2 km away
The Waterfront Suites - Heritage Collection
1.7 km away
Sea Spray Suites - Heritage Collection
0.5 km away
Anchorage Motel
Anchorage Motel
#3 of 43 in Paihia
464 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Paihia Beach Resort & Spa
1.3 km away
Breakwater Motel
Breakwater Motel
#1 of 43 in Paihia
635 reviews
1.2 km away
Allegra House
Allegra House
#1 of 20 in Paihia
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tarlton's Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tarlton's Lodge

Address: 11 Sullivans Road, Paihia, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Northland Region > Bay of Islands > Paihia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Paihia
Price Range: RM903 - RM1,347 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Tarlton's Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Paihia’s most spectacular sea & island views await your discovery at Tarlton’s Lodge. All our luxury B&B rooms have their own entrances, decks, spa pools & parking space. Each room is designed & furnished to the highest standard with leather armchairs you can really relax in & enjoy the fabulous views. Every morning(weather permitting) I will cook you a wonderful breakfast & serve it to you on your own deck. Each day I service your room & replenish your fridge with fresh milk. After you return from an adventurous day relax in your own spa pool looking out over the Bay of Islands. I have lots of local knowledge about the area & the tours as well. Tarlton’s Lodge is situated just an 8 minute walk or 2 minute drive to the centre of Paihia, close to the amenities & tours but away from the hustle & bustle.**Please note we do not take children** ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tarlton's Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tarlton's Lodge Paihia, New Zealand - Bay Of Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing