We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tarlton's Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$121
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$134
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Abri Apartments(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$101
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$152
US$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breakwater Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
US$110
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Retreat(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$64/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$145
US$113
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Paihia TOP 10(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Bed of Roses(Paihia)
US$235
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (256)
Filter reviews
256 results
Traveller rating
240
11
2
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
240
11
2
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot tubprivate spaeach morningnew zealandour honeymoonthree roomsamazing spastunning viewsprivate accessamazing place to stayoverlooking the baysteep hillwelcoming hostshighlight of our tripthoroughly enjoyed our stayother guestsexcellent breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
30 - 35 of 256 reviews
Reviewed 17 May 2017

We really enjoyed this lodge. The lodge is on a hill with a terrific view over the bay and it is very quiet with forest around. It is an easy walk down to the waterfront. Our hosts were terrific - very helpful with finding restaurants and fishing charters: we came as lodgers and left as friends. Highly recommended

Room Tip: three rooms - all equally good, with balcony facing the bay where excellent breakfast was served each morning
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank schistos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you for your positive response. We hope to see you return one day
Peter & Katalina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2017 via mobile

Had 3 wonderful nights at Tarltons where our hosts Peter and Katalina were a wonderful source of information and assistance. Breakfast was a wonderful treat and an afternoon spa overlooking the Bay of Islands was a suberb ending to a busy day. Perched on a hill overlooking the Bay, it was only a few minutes drive down to numerous restaurants and attractions.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Kathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thanks for your review Kathy. Best wishes
Peter & Katalina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2017

Me & my husband had been for our 2nd anniversary to this place. we had selected room 3 which had a great view. the owner Peter is a warm person he had already made arrangements for the hot jaqucci. he also has a list of restaurants ready for you which is handy.
the rooms were very clean with the basic amenities in there.
I feel its great for a couple as it doesnt have a microwave or anything if you have a baby with you, but the owner is warm enough to help if needed.
the breakfast is included & the breakfast was nicely made with generously loaded with cheese & other goodies. I think it is a bit over priced. but worth the $$ for the excellent view.
i would definitely visit this place again.

Room Tip: All rooms are really nice but Room 3 has a good view
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank gauri m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2017

Gauri:

Thanks for taking the time to write your review. Unfortunately our policy dictates that we don't offer cooking facilities, nor accept children or infants, hence the absence of a microwave. Nevertheless we love babies, and recently have been blessed with a third granddaughter. We do however offer a kettle for heating water, tea, coffee, fresh milk, a basket of fruit and filtered fresh water...with lemon slices at breakfast.
All the best and we hope you will return sometime this year.
Best Regards
Peter & Katalina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2017 via mobile

We had the most incredible 3 days at Tarltons Lodge. We were greeted with the most amazing sea view. Waking up & enjoying the most divine breakfasts, sitting on the balcony & soaking up the morning sun & the most beautiful view every day was such luxury. The gorgeous spa pool that each room has was pure paradise & indulgence! The peace & tranquility was just awesome. The rooms were immaculate & the bed & linen so comfortable. We have stayed in many places around NZ & Africa & this would have to be our favourite. Words cannot express how beautiful this place is - go & see for yourself! Big thank you to Peter & Katalina for bmaking it such a memorable stay.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Natasha v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thank you Ian and Natasha for your review. You summed up what we offer so well. Katalina and I hope to see you back some day. Very Best Regards

Peter & Katalina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2017

In March 2017, my partner and I stayed at Tarlton's Lodge for two nights. What a lovely place with fantastic views. Peter and Katilina could not be more helpful in making our stay comfortable. The weather wasn't so nice. So much rain but that did not damping our stay. The first morning's breakfast was lovely, sitting out on the verandah enjoying the view. Unfortunately the weather served us a poor start to the second morning. Peter and Katilina took the weather in their stride and serve breakfast upstairs with the other guest. Great conversations and a yummy breakfast to start the day.
When in Paihia again, we will certainly be staying at Tarlton's Lodge and hopefully the weather gods will be nice to us.

Room Tip: All rooms are downstairs with great views.
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 56JayB555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tarltonslodge, Manager at Tarlton's Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2017

Thanks so much for your review. It is unfortunate that your stay coincided with the first poor weather in several months.

Best Regards

Peter & Katalina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews