We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Nice location to explore the region” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Ranked #24 of 93 Hotels in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
64 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice location to explore the region”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

Having just arrived in New Zealand, we drove from Auckland International Airport to Rotorua on our first day and needless to say we were tired. The hotel sits in a quiet neighborhood on the southeastern side of Lake Rotorua, not far from the city but far enough that one does not hear the city noise. In fact the hotel setting is quite peaceful which is what we needed to recover after the long flight. I will say that the area surrounding the hotel is not particularly beautiful but it is situated in a location that makes a good base to explore some of the regional volcanic activities such as buried village, various geysers and mud baths etc. We only stayed one night but found the service excellent, the restaurant very good, and the rooms comfortable but small. There are actually two pools and a whirlpool on the property. We enjoyed the whirlpool. Adjacent to the whirlpool is a small wading pool that is very warm but also somewhat slippery. I’d advise caution when trying to enter it.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveGski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    236
    86
    38
    19
    8
See reviews for
33
261
10
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

We stayed at wai ora resort for 3 days over new years 2011/2012 although the weather was awful the resort and its staff were AMAZING. We loved every minute of it. The service was brilliant, and the food was perfect! We had a great new years and it was a nice way to start our honeymoon. We did not use any facilities but it all looked great. We found the food was fabulous something my partner is still raving about. The band on new years was great fun and very entertaining. The staff were lovely and helpful. Only downfall would be the price for facials, massages etc. A great time overall.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holmes2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

Not sure what the fuss is about. The room was fine - a motel room basically decorated well. The fancy big spa in the room was nice . The outdoor sauna was broken and the water bucket had mould growing in it. Located out of town and looking over the lake but the rooms face to the side so you have to hang out over the balcony if you want a full view. Still smells like sulphur (rotten egg) in a daggy neighborhood. We felt pressured to have a spa treatment - too expensive and also felt pressured to do a trip to 'Hells Gate' mud pools and thermal area (which we did) - also owned by the spa which was a totally overpriced let down.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mentmint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 December 2011

A beautifully appointed hotel, with an excellent spa (extensive opening hours - allowing a soak in the hotpool at both the start and end of our day), lovely view from the room, divine food and so rare for the area, a sulphur-free atmosphere! What propelled Wai Ora to a league of its own though were it's staff - as we walked up to Reception to check-in, we were welcomed by name; Praveen knew the history of our booking and excitedly advised us that our gorgeous room had a superb view. he then ran us through our prebooked spa treatments and wanted to assure us that if we needed anything, info or assistance, we only had to let someone know - each time we passed through Reception after that we were greeted on first name terms, a gesture that made such a large and professional establishment feel intimate cozy and unforced. I'm a stickler for cleanliness and the room, spa and public areas were immaculate, no paint chipping or wallpaper peeling. The spa had a luxuriant feel and the treatments seemed good value, I was especially impressed by the costs of the take-home products on sale, they were inexpensive compared to the gift shops in the area and of an excellent quality, I'm not looking forward to them running out now I'm back home! I had a facial treatment and eyelash/brow tint and tidy, whilst my partner had a massage; both of us were delighted with sessions.
We had breakfast in the awardwinning restaurant and it was a talking point for our trip and beyond - it looked beautiful and tasted even better, another element that made our little weekend feel so special.
Sorry, I have no negatives to throw into the mix, we are saving our pennies to return to Wai Ora and cannot wait to share it with friends and family when they come over from the UK to visit.

Room Tip: Rooms are on two floors in a horshoe shape with the two open ends nearest the lake. Ground floor ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DodopigletNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
358 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2011

This is a great resort about 15 minutes drive from Rotorua and it is on the lake. Our room was one of two that has a lake view.
The food at this hotel is probably the best I have ever experienced at any hotel and the staff were fabulous.
The only disappointments were that the jacuzzis were closed for refurbishment and a really disappointing tiny gym.
I will definitely return....

Room Tip: Choose one of the 2 rooms with a lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frankfurness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
5.7 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
11.0 km away
Hamurana Lodge
Hamurana Lodge
#12 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 380 reviews
4.7 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
Emerald Spa Motor Inn
#14 of 93 in Rotorua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
5.2 km away
Peppers on the Point - Lake Rotorua
5.0 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 93 in Rotorua
5.0 of 5 bubbles 594 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort

Property: Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort
Address: 77 Robinson Avenue, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Rotorua
#7 Business Hotel in Rotorua
#11 Spa Hotel in Rotorua
#21 Luxury Hotel in Rotorua
#30 Romantic Hotel in Rotorua
Price range (per night): RM578 - RM1,062
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort is situated on the picturesque shores of Lake Rotorua in quiet parklike surroundings only 3 mins from Rotorua Airport,and 12 mins to the famous geothermal attractions of Rotorua. This award winning resort hotel features luxurious accommodation with private balconies or courtyards with views to the lake; New Zealand's award winning fine dining Mokoia Restaurant specialising in indigenous herbs and spices which creates amazing taste sensations including a daily full vegetarian menu; superb personal service; relaxing Manary English lounge bar and the internationally acclaimed Wai Ora Day Spa featuring the 2011 and 2012 World Luxury Spa Award winning "New Zealand Cultural Spa "regime based on the geothermal muds of Rotorua and wellness practices of the Maori. Rotorua's only World Luxury Spa Award winner. Enjoy the tranquility of the landscaped gardens and serene sounds of the meandering spring feed stream as you enjoy the hot and cold pools, steam room and sauna that make up the Wai Ora Spa Water Experience. The ideal Rotorua relaxation, spa, food taste sensations destination and accommodation base for all other Rotorua activities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and AAE Travel Pte Ltd so you can book your Wai Ora Lakeside Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wai Ora Lakeside Hotel
Wai Ora Lakeside Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing