We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central but in need of some updating”
Review of Victoria Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria Lodge
Ranked #12 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 October 2016

Stayed here for 2 nights with the family. Very central as is over the road from the Central hub of Warehouse, Briscoes, Farmers etc. Accommodated our family of 5 (3 kids, 2 adults) well upstairs. Very clean. Lovely staff. TVs in both bedrooms, and another downstairs. Full kitchen.
However, the decor was in need of some serious updating. Downstairs had low ceilings ith very little natural light. The dinig room was dismal at best so we ate out as much as possible (best choice is Burger Fuel - Rotorua needs a serious injection of Ponsonby-Road-level food cafes). Some suggestions (we were in room 14):
- paint out all the dark ochre (it is depressing) and replace with light grey (very modern)
- install more lights in the dining room (and repair the hole in the ceiling)
- change the 1950s-inspired dining suite to something more modern - even the Warehouse sell good basics
- replace the yellow glass by the front door with clear (the dim yellow light that filters through is depressing)
- put in nice toiletries in the bathroom (we had one soap bottle which looked like it had been used several times from the scuffed label)
- replace the non-descript paintings on the wall with photographs from around Rotorua (get out your phone, take some snaps, print them off at the Warehouse, and while there grab acheap frame and bam, your new local wall art is done).

The staff and cleanliness were outstanding, but the drab decor won't see me returning here. We normally stay at the Regal Palms but given the recent drowning there we won't be going there either. :(

Room Tip: Don't choose room 14
  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AucklandKitten12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (242)
There are newer reviews for Victoria Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 27 September 2016 via mobile

Stayed at the Victoria Lodge for 1 night

clean and tidy.

Not the newest motel but effort is made

Hot shower. Close to city centre

Has tv in every bedroom

Service station on the corner

Laundromat 200 metres away

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

we had a queen studio with private hot pool, it was nice and cosy. service is excellent. i forgot to get the name of the guy in the reception but he was really helpful and pleasant. I can recommend this place to my friends. Plus we really had a nice breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Anne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Victoria Lodge, Rotorua was tops. Nothing was too much trouble. Julia and Ryan organised a wonderful two nights accommodation, restaurants to eat, Polynesia Pools and two delicious breakfasts - fresh fruit, fresh warm toast and eggs. Accomodation was warm and cosy. More than adequately provided with essentials such as coffee perculator, fluffy towels. We chose a special package for a special anniversary. You two -we loved the swans made from towels, heart from petals and box of chocolates. Thanks to both of you with wonderful hosting and organisation - overwhelming - however we will never forget this Anniversary.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 763anne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaLodge, Manager at Victoria Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2016

Thank you very much for your feedback!

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your time here and honoured that you chose our place to spend your special day as a couple.

We hope to see you again soon, it was a pleasure for us to have met you both.

Kindest regards,
Julia & Ryan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

This is a small motel just off Fenton Street and about a 5 minute walk to the CBD. The reception was friendly and helpful, and the smallish room modern and well appointed. Our bed was comfortable and all the necessary room essentials were available. A cooked breakfast is offered ($19.00) and was ample and tasty. Off street parking is available for each room.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JohnMarion H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
717 reviews
1.1 km away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
207 reviews
4.5 km away
Best Western Braeside Rotorua
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Millennium Hotel Rotorua
1.2 km away
Silver Fern Rotorua - Accommodation and Spa
0.2 km away
Rotorua Motel
Rotorua Motel
#5 of 52 in Rotorua
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Lodge

Address: 10 Victoria Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: RM323 - RM706 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart comfortable 4 Star Victoria Lodge in Rotorua. Walk to restaurants shops cafes bars lakefront attractions. Trip Advisor and Lonely Planet recommended. Cosy Studios for 1-3 people with your own private thermally heated hot pool. Two bedroom self-contained apartments for families or small groups. SKY Guest Select 50+ channels. Pet friendly rooms available! Friendly and knowledgeable hosts Kasia and Shane will provide information and make reservations for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing