We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victoria Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Rotorua(Rotorua)
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Six on Union(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$53
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$42
US$39
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Astray Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$32
US$31
Priceline
View Deal
US$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
126
81
31
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
81
31
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate thermal poolhot tubsmall roomcentral locationsky tvtown centrefriendly ownersenjoyed our stayclose to shopslocal knowledgepolynesian spabed was comfortablefull kitchenlocation is greatclean roomswould definitely stay here againliving room
Filter
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 17 February 2017

We overnighted at Victoria Lodge to break up a long drive from Gisborne to Auckland and were hoping to get a decent night's sleep but unfortunately that was not to be! The rooms come with a bedroom, bathroom and outdoor spa pool and there are signs on the window that leads to the spa pool asking customers to please not use the pool between 10pm and 9am, in consideration of others staying in the complex. We stayed in Room 2 and the persons staying behind us in Room 8 were either illiterate or just plain inconsiderate, as they started up the spa pool after 10pm, just as we'd climbed into bed. The noise from the water pipes, the splashing and echoing of their voices made it impossible to sleep. To make matters worse, they kept topping up the warm water every 20 minutes or so, causing the pipes to rumble and squeak constantly. The excessive noise went on until nearly midnight and was extremely inconsiderate! Unfortunately, reception was locked and there was no one for us to complain to, so we left for a long drive to Auckland the next morning feeling very sleep deprived. The lodge needs to supply complimentary ear plugs in all rooms for patrons to use, as the signs on the spa pool doors obviously don't work! Other than that, the staff in reception were very friendly and helpful, providing us with brochures for nearby sights and discount vouchers where relevant.

Room Tip: Try and book one of the rooms on the end of the complex (e.g.: room one) to prevent excessive noise from other spa pools
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sightseeingsuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaLodge, Manager at Victoria Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate the time you spent providing it.

We are sorry that due to the actions of other guests you didn't get a good night sleep. Where reception does close at 8:00pm there is a sign on the reception door that provides both our toll free phone number as well as the international phone number for those who do not have an NZ mobile, we do answer the phone 24 hours per day and if you had have called one of those numbers we would have taken immediate action to ensure you were not disturbed and that you did get a good night sleep.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Welcome - excellent friendly and very helpful.
Location- very close to the shops , takeaways, restaurants, liquor store , walking distance 2-5 mins.
Apartment - clean , tidy , spacious but yes it is needs new paint, curtains, lightening .
Rooms - stay in a two bedroom , nice beds with nice bedding.
Bathroom - very spacious , to find the lights it was outside the bathroom., no lightening inside the shower. Toiletries was a bit down , it didn't look it had been changed.
Kitchen would be nice to have dishwashing liquid.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank revlon95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaLodge, Manager at Victoria Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Thank you very much for your feedback, it is this type of well thought out feedback that is very helpful to improve a property and gives other guests an idea of what the property is like.

We currently have a renovation project underway that is being tackled as we can due to being in the high season currently so hopefully you will see a change next time you visit! We do have repainting, new curtains, new carpet and more on the list of things to upgrade.

Regarding the level of the shower gel that is in the bathroom, for the benefit of other guests I will point out that it is a large bottle of shower gel that is in a dispenser, we have spoken to our cleaners and have put in place a standard as to when our cleaners are to replace the bottles, this is to ensure that the gel won't run out while a guest is in house.

Regarding the dish washing liquid, we do have a bottle in each room, in the 2 bedroom apartments this is located under the sink. Again we have put in place the same standard with our cleaners as to when to replace it to ensure no guest runs out.

We are happy that you seem to have enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

The manager's vast local knowledge and helpful attitude made our trip enjoyable. Our room was clean and spacious enough for two. The private thermal pool was an unexpected delight. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank guyincognito2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaLodge, Manager at Victoria Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Thank you so much for you lovely comments, we truly appreciate the time you took to provide this feedback.

We also love the pools also and look forward to having you back again on your next trip to Rotorua

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Situated a short walk away from the town centre and in amongst the many Motels in Rotorua, we were pleased to have chosen to stay at Victoria Lodge. A very friendly welcome when we arrived and although the room was not the biggest, it was clean and comfortable. We also appreciated the hot tub fed with thermal waters.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill-in-Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaLodge, Manager at Victoria Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it and are pleased that you had a good time staying with us.

We look forward to having you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

A great location with shopping centre and food outlets in walking distance. Clean and tidy with a funky modern look.
A fairly quiet part of town. Lovely owner who is willing to help with discounts on local activities. We Enjoyed our 3 nights here.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank RachandSteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaLodge, Manager at Victoria Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Thanks for your great feedback Rach & Steven! We're very happy that we were able to help you get the most out of your stay and look forward to having you back when you return to Rotorua!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews