We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy friendly escape, conveniently located”
Review of Victoria Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Victoria Lodge
Ranked #12 of 52 Rotorua B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Sited close to the main shopping streets and malls, and in a central location, this lodge is perfect for those visiting Rotorua for the first time. Reception was friendly and helpful, the room was a little small and dark but very comfortable with more than the usual range of facilities. Shower, fridge, cupboard with plates, knives, forks, spoons, coffee strainer, tea jug, cups, glasses, microwave, 50 channel Sky TV, table, chairs, double (and extra single ) bed, fan (no A/C) and ... an outside private heated pool. Amazing!

Good value as well and although showing some wear also clean. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side are quieter but may also be darker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lord_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaLodge, Manager at Victoria Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate it!

We do find exactly the same thing with the location, we are situated very well within walking distance of many of the great options Rotorua has to offer.

Cleanliness is extremely important to us and we are happy it met you expectations and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Rotorua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (244)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 244 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2017

We overnighted at Victoria Lodge to break up a long drive from Gisborne to Auckland and were hoping to get a decent night's sleep but unfortunately that was not to be! The rooms come with a bedroom, bathroom and outdoor spa pool and there are signs on the window that leads to the spa pool asking customers to please not use the pool between 10pm and 9am, in consideration of others staying in the complex. We stayed in Room 2 and the persons staying behind us in Room 8 were either illiterate or just plain inconsiderate, as they started up the spa pool after 10pm, just as we'd climbed into bed. The noise from the water pipes, the splashing and echoing of their voices made it impossible to sleep. To make matters worse, they kept topping up the warm water every 20 minutes or so, causing the pipes to rumble and squeak constantly. The excessive noise went on until nearly midnight and was extremely inconsiderate! Unfortunately, reception was locked and there was no one for us to complain to, so we left for a long drive to Auckland the next morning feeling very sleep deprived. The lodge needs to supply complimentary ear plugs in all rooms for patrons to use, as the signs on the spa pool doors obviously don't work! Other than that, the staff in reception were very friendly and helpful, providing us with brochures for nearby sights and discount vouchers where relevant.

Room Tip: Try and book one of the rooms on the end of the complex (e.g.: room one) to prevent excessive noise...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sightseeingsuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaLodge, Manager at Victoria Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate the time you spent providing it.

We are sorry that due to the actions of other guests you didn't get a good night sleep. Where reception does close at 8:00pm there is a sign on the reception door that provides both our toll free phone number as well as the international phone number for those who do not have an NZ mobile, we do answer the phone 24 hours per day and if you had have called one of those numbers we would have taken immediate action to ensure you were not disturbed and that you did get a good night sleep.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Welcome - excellent friendly and very helpful.
Location- very close to the shops , takeaways, restaurants, liquor store , walking distance 2-5 mins.
Apartment - clean , tidy , spacious but yes it is needs new paint, curtains, lightening .
Rooms - stay in a two bedroom , nice beds with nice bedding.
Bathroom - very spacious , to find the lights it was outside the bathroom., no lightening inside the shower. Toiletries was a bit down , it didn't look it had been changed.
Kitchen would be nice to have dishwashing liquid.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank revlon95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaLodge, Manager at Victoria Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Thank you very much for your feedback, it is this type of well thought out feedback that is very helpful to improve a property and gives other guests an idea of what the property is like.

We currently have a renovation project underway that is being tackled as we can due to being in the high season currently so hopefully you will see a change next time you visit! We do have repainting, new curtains, new carpet and more on the list of things to upgrade.

Regarding the level of the shower gel that is in the bathroom, for the benefit of other guests I will point out that it is a large bottle of shower gel that is in a dispenser, we have spoken to our cleaners and have put in place a standard as to when our cleaners are to replace the bottles, this is to ensure that the gel won't run out while a guest is in house.

Regarding the dish washing liquid, we do have a bottle in each room, in the 2 bedroom apartments this is located under the sink. Again we have put in place the same standard with our cleaners as to when to replace it to ensure no guest runs out.

We are happy that you seem to have enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

The manager's vast local knowledge and helpful attitude made our trip enjoyable. Our room was clean and spacious enough for two. The private thermal pool was an unexpected delight. Would definitely stay here again!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank guyincognito2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaLodge, Manager at Victoria Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Thank you so much for you lovely comments, we truly appreciate the time you took to provide this feedback.

We also love the pools also and look forward to having you back again on your next trip to Rotorua

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Situated a short walk away from the town centre and in amongst the many Motels in Rotorua, we were pleased to have chosen to stay at Victoria Lodge. A very friendly welcome when we arrived and although the room was not the biggest, it was clean and comfortable. We also appreciated the hot tub fed with thermal waters.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bill-in-Surrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaLodge, Manager at Victoria Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Thank you for your feedback, we really appreciate it and are pleased that you had a good time staying with us.

We look forward to having you back again in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rotorua hotels
0.5 km away
Quest Rotorua Central
Quest Rotorua Central
#1 of 92 in Rotorua
721 reviews
1.1 km away
Aura Accommodation
Aura Accommodation
#3 of 92 in Rotorua
219 reviews
1.1 km away
Novotel Rotorua Lakeside
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Princes Gate Hotel
Princes Gate Hotel
#26 of 92 in Rotorua
805 reviews
0.6 km away
Sudima Hotel Lake Rotorua
2.0 km away
Holiday Inn Rotorua
Holiday Inn Rotorua
#19 of 92 in Rotorua
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Victoria Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Victoria Lodge

Address: 10 Victoria Street, Rotorua 3010, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Bay of Plenty Region > Rotorua District > Rotorua
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Rotorua
Price Range: RM346 - RM672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Victoria Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Smart comfortable 4 Star Victoria Lodge in Rotorua. Walk to restaurants shops cafes bars lakefront attractions. Trip Advisor and Lonely Planet recommended. Cosy Studios for 1-3 people with your own private thermally heated hot pool. Two bedroom self-contained apartments for families or small groups. SKY Guest Select 50+ channels. Pet friendly rooms available! Friendly and knowledgeable hosts Kasia and Shane will provide information and make reservations for your stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Victoria Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Rotorua

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing