We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Victoria Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Ibis Rotorua(Rotorua)
US$84
US$62
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$71/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
RotoVegas Motel of Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$111
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Best Western Braeside Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Six on Union(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$53
US$50
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
YHA Rotorua(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$42
US$40
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
Astray Motel(Rotorua)(Great Value!)
US$32
US$31
Priceline
View Deal
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveller rating
126
81
31
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
126
81
31
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate thermal poolhot tubsmall roomcentral locationsky tvtown centrefriendly ownersenjoyed our stayclose to shopslocal knowledgepolynesian spabed was comfortablefull kitchenlocation is greatclean roomswould definitely stay here againliving room
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 257 reviews
Reviewed 27 February 2017

The facility was basically nice, but needs some refreshing. Our double room was so full of furniture that it seemed very tight. We did enjoy the private hot tub facility and used it both nights that we were there. Parking is tight. Front desk was very helpful and we followed many of her suggestions and were always glad that we did. This hotel is in a very convenient location. We walked to the events in town.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JennyPlesums
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaLodge, Manager at Victoria Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback Jenny and we are happy that you enjoyed your time in Rotorua.

We are in the process of renovating the property at the moment so next time you come to NZ you should find a refreshed Victoria Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2017

The location is all right. The hosts are very friendly and helpful ready with information and recommendations for activities and experiences. You can park your car right in front of your door albeit a bit tight, but still. The private thermal heat pools were EXCELLENT! Can stay there again definitely!!!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JaM6150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaLodge, Manager at Victoria Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thanks for your time in providing the feedback, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Rotorua!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2017

Sited close to the main shopping streets and malls, and in a central location, this lodge is perfect for those visiting Rotorua for the first time. Reception was friendly and helpful, the room was a little small and dark but very comfortable with more than the usual range of facilities. Shower, fridge, cupboard with plates, knives, forks, spoons, coffee strainer, tea jug, cups, glasses, microwave, 50 channel Sky TV, table, chairs, double (and extra single ) bed, fan (no A/C) and ... an outside private heated pool. Amazing!

Good value as well and although showing some wear also clean. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on south side are quieter but may also be darker.
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lord_Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaLodge, Manager at Victoria Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate it!

We do find exactly the same thing with the location, we are situated very well within walking distance of many of the great options Rotorua has to offer.

Cleanliness is extremely important to us and we are happy it met you expectations and look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Rotorua.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2017

We overnighted at Victoria Lodge to break up a long drive from Gisborne to Auckland and were hoping to get a decent night's sleep but unfortunately that was not to be! The rooms come with a bedroom, bathroom and outdoor spa pool and there are signs on the window that leads to the spa pool asking customers to please not use the pool between 10pm and 9am, in consideration of others staying in the complex. We stayed in Room 2 and the persons staying behind us in Room 8 were either illiterate or just plain inconsiderate, as they started up the spa pool after 10pm, just as we'd climbed into bed. The noise from the water pipes, the splashing and echoing of their voices made it impossible to sleep. To make matters worse, they kept topping up the warm water every 20 minutes or so, causing the pipes to rumble and squeak constantly. The excessive noise went on until nearly midnight and was extremely inconsiderate! Unfortunately, reception was locked and there was no one for us to complain to, so we left for a long drive to Auckland the next morning feeling very sleep deprived. The lodge needs to supply complimentary ear plugs in all rooms for patrons to use, as the signs on the spa pool doors obviously don't work! Other than that, the staff in reception were very friendly and helpful, providing us with brochures for nearby sights and discount vouchers where relevant.

Room Tip: Try and book one of the rooms on the end of the complex (e.g.: room one) to prevent excessive noise from other spa pools
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sightseeingsuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaLodge, Manager at Victoria Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Thank you for your feedback, we do appreciate the time you spent providing it.

We are sorry that due to the actions of other guests you didn't get a good night sleep. Where reception does close at 8:00pm there is a sign on the reception door that provides both our toll free phone number as well as the international phone number for those who do not have an NZ mobile, we do answer the phone 24 hours per day and if you had have called one of those numbers we would have taken immediate action to ensure you were not disturbed and that you did get a good night sleep.

We hope you enjoyed the rest of your trip!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 January 2017

Welcome - excellent friendly and very helpful.
Location- very close to the shops , takeaways, restaurants, liquor store , walking distance 2-5 mins.
Apartment - clean , tidy , spacious but yes it is needs new paint, curtains, lightening .
Rooms - stay in a two bedroom , nice beds with nice bedding.
Bathroom - very spacious , to find the lights it was outside the bathroom., no lightening inside the shower. Toiletries was a bit down , it didn't look it had been changed.
Kitchen would be nice to have dishwashing liquid.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank revlon95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VictoriaLodge, Manager at Victoria Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2017

Thank you very much for your feedback, it is this type of well thought out feedback that is very helpful to improve a property and gives other guests an idea of what the property is like.

We currently have a renovation project underway that is being tackled as we can due to being in the high season currently so hopefully you will see a change next time you visit! We do have repainting, new curtains, new carpet and more on the list of things to upgrade.

Regarding the level of the shower gel that is in the bathroom, for the benefit of other guests I will point out that it is a large bottle of shower gel that is in a dispenser, we have spoken to our cleaners and have put in place a standard as to when our cleaners are to replace the bottles, this is to ensure that the gel won't run out while a guest is in house.

Regarding the dish washing liquid, we do have a bottle in each room, in the 2 bedroom apartments this is located under the sink. Again we have put in place the same standard with our cleaners as to when to replace it to ensure no guest runs out.

We are happy that you seem to have enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews