We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Heavenly Minarapa”
The Pheasant Room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Pheasant Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
The Pheasant Room
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Taupo, Taupo District, Waikato Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Valerie P
Marlow, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Heavenly Minarapa”
Reviewed 9 February 2013 for a stay in January 2013

I have to absolutely concur with all the positive reviews on Minarapa Lodge, the hosts, Pep and Shaun super. Lovely daughters. Spent a wonderful evening on the patio sharing a bottle of wine and talking. The guest room we stayed in was beautiful, with a very calming feeling and very tastefully decorated.

And Pep, if you read this review I should have really tried to sneak away the tubular bells in the hall!!!

Wouldn't hesitate to return.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Mar 2013
Hello to you! Thankyou for a wonderful review, we loved having you to stay with us. Have a very happy Easter!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SuMarFlux
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
“A true find...”
Reviewed 17 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012

A short distance out of Taupo township this place is a true find. Hosted by Shaun and Pepper Bragg (& their 3 beautiful young daughters) this place feels like a 5 star lodge. Recently purchased by Shaun and Pepper they have wasted no time in updating the guest rooms and bathrooms into very tasteful accommodation. The setting is beautiful with a large rambling garden which includes a grass tennis court for the energetic. Their background in hospitality shows through (Shaun is a qualified Chef and Pep has exclusive lodge experience) so nothing is a problem when it comes to organising excursions or deciding on a breakfast or dinner menu. We had a great evening meal with another couple from Austria who were staying. The venison was superb. Hard to find any negatives but maybe if you don't enjoy friendly hosts, great food in a relaxed setting (not to mention value for money) then this might not be the place for you. Great for families and couples alike. This would also be a great setting for a wedding. Good luck for what we are sure will be a busy year ahead Shaun and Pep!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Micrognom...
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Culinary highlight of North Island tasting tour”
Reviewed 6 January 2013 for a stay in January 2013

11 days of flat out eating great Kiwi food and this was the highlight for both of us. Arriving in Taupo during peak holiday season, we chose the easy option to have Sean and Pep feed us.

What a meal: four item tasting plate, perfectly finished venison in Pinot Gris and Moroccan spices, followed up with a berry fruit roulade and liquorice ice cream dessert. We'd have been crazy to go anywhere else the next evening. My only disaapointment was not bringing back a couple of fat rainbow trout for the master chef's attention (my one decent opportunity got away). So we had the consolation prize of Sean's signature dish, glazed lamb shanks on a seasonal,vegetable stack.

When you add minute attention to detail in plating out, a personal introduction to each dish by the chef and an opportunity to discuss its production over coffee in relaxed company, away from the tourist crowds in downtown Taupo, you've started to work out why we'll be back for a longer stay next time.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Couples
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingrid B
Wellington
1 review
“caring hosts in a peaceful landscape”
Reviewed 25 April 2012 for a stay in April 2012

Minarapa Lodge is a country stay, about 14 km north of Taupo. When you leave the street you drive through an alley of big trees untill you arrive at the house. It is a wonderful place and the hosts are very friendly and helpful. Barbara is born in New Zealand but speaks the German language very well. My English - I am German - is not as good as her German, though I live since 15 years in a country where everyone speaks English. When I asked for help or information I got it: The hosts gave me advises where to go in Taupo, they gave me books to read, they had time for a chat, I got the recipe for the self-baked bread, as I was freezing I got a hot-water bottle for my bed, ....
I had a good sleep in these quiet surrondings and got a square breakfast.
The hosts have a friendly dog and a nice cat.
And I just want to mention: Every corner in this house is clean.
I love this place. But if you want to see the lake Taupo from your room, if you want to be in-town, if you don't like to be in the nature - don't go there.
All others are very welcome!
Enjoy the stay
Ingrid

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susibLond...
london
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“APeaceful Retreat”
Reviewed 14 February 2012 for a stay in January 2012

A very pleasant house with friendly hosts. There is no wifi and Internet access was not offered. The bedrooms are large and well appointed with views of the lovely gardens. As opposed to the other b&bs we stayed at in NZ we were not asked to share evening drinks with our hosts, which, considering the house was a fair drive from Taupo, was a little disappointing. Breakfast, while perfectly adequate was also not to the standard of the other b & bs. We felt the place was expensive when compared with others where the facilities were superior.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Visit was for: Leisure
Travelling group: Friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing