We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Priceline
US$129
US$123
View deal
Expedia.comUS$123
TripadvisorUS$123
Booking.com
Hotels.comUS$123
CheapTicketsUS$123
Trip.comUS$129
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (389)
Filter reviews
389 results
Traveller rating
274
84
29
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
274
84
29
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thermal tub outdoor heated pool the ground floor family room huge bathroom private balcony lake taupo underfloor heating long drive centre of town min walk comfy bed spacious rooms hot water nice room definitely stay here again enjoyed our stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 389 reviews
Reviewed 23 April 2021 via mobile

Such a wonderful experience. The hosts are amazing and everything from start to end was top notch. The worst part of the stay was that we have jobs and had to check out.
The rooms are lovely, very spacious. The best feature is the spa in the backyard. Water heated naturally and you can just turn on the water and fill it up whenever plus its private so as a couple it was a plus point.
The room feels like freshly refusrbished and are really cleaning, full marks to housekeeping. I usually dont prefer cooking when on a holiday but the room had a kitchnette with all necessary appliances where you can cook all sorts of stuff.
I didnt use the outdoor heated pool but it looked amazing, not too big not too small just perfect according to the Lodge.
I can see a few reveiws regarding parking, i do admit the space is tight but i never had an issue parking the car and we had a Jeep. The lodge is not too big so doesnt matter where you park, you will always be close to your room.
Check in process was so easy, they sent me a map of the lodge with directions to my room and the keys there so they are doing a super job with the contact less service.
Check out was simple. Just drop your keys. Location is ideal, in city center, all the major restaurants are just in a 5 minute driving radius.
I would highly recommend this place and would like to thank the hosts for having us and taking such good care and making our stay memorable.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank vibhayjitb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody Semmens, Owner at Baycrest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2021

Hi - thank you for your lovely words! We love to hear that our guests have had a fabulous experieince with us at Baycrest and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again when your travels next bring you to Taupo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2021

Sitting on the balcony offered great views. The room was neat and tidy, and had everything you would need on a weekend away. Parking was a bit tight though. The heated pool was well set up and relaxing.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RayPorter1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody Semmens, Owner at Baycrest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2021

Hi Ray - thanks for your feedback. We have a park for every suite however with our constant high occupancy the parking area can get over crowded! Luckily we have plenty of roadside parking that is well lit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2021 via mobile

A spacious, private, quiet unit with a thermal hot pool in the small enclosed courtyard. Magic! Parking was a bit of an issue, as tradies vehicles made the parking area congested. The hot water which supplies the hot tub, also flows down into the lake, which is a short walk away. A well equipped motel - we'll definitely stay here again.

Date of stay: March 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody Semmens, Owner at Baycrest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2021

Hi Sue - thank you for your feedback - great to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thankfully our refurbishment is now complete with the new suites ready to be booked!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2021

We booked the Baycrest for our staff and families for a weekend away. I cannot rave enough about how accommodating Barry and Jodie are. They truly went above and beyond to look after all 35 of us! The facilities are fantastic. The rooms spacious, impeccably clean and well equipped. The location is wonderful, views of the lake superb. An absolute A+++++ effort.

Room tip: The top floor balconies looking over the lake are amazing!
Date of stay: March 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody Semmens, Owner at Baycrest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2021

Thank you Rebecca - we are delighted you enjoyed your weekend with us at Baycrerst Lodge!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2021 via mobile

We cannot recommend this place enough!! We came with 2 small kids and had the private spa room. The room is super spacious and clean. The patio is gorgeous. We expected to only come here to sleep but our kids loved the private spa and the heated pool so much we barely left!!

We have traveled with our kids all over the world and this was by far their favorite place, it beat out fancy hotels in Japan!

If you want a great place to chill, relax and be steps away from a sandy beach, this is the place for you!!

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 607kasiaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jody Semmens, Owner at Baycrest Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2021

Thank you for our feedback - we are delighted you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews