We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quest on Durham
Nearby Hotels
Gateway Motor Inn(Mount Maunganui)(Great Value!)
US$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Baywatch Motor Inn(Mount Maunganui)(Great Value!)
US$129
US$104
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boatshed Motel Apartments Mt. Maunganui(Mount Maunganui)(Great Value!)
US$96
US$93
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Haven Motel(Mount Maunganui)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Wave Motel(Mount Maunganui)(Great Value!)
US$90
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Westhaven Motel(Mount Maunganui)(Great Value!)
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn Academy(Tauranga)(Great Value!)
US$90
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Trinity Wharf Tauranga(Tauranga)(Great Value!)
US$121
US$107
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Summit Motor Lodge(Tauranga)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Armitage(Tauranga)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
43
62
25
10
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
43
62
25
10
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswasher dryerthe ground floorspa bathbedroom separatedshared balconystudio apartmentunderground parkingthe kitchenper nightwalking distancesliding doorliving arealate checkoutcheck in was easyvery nice staylarge roomnice balcony
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 17 March 2018

The one bedroom apartment didn't have a bedroom, just screens that turn the bed area into an airless cell. The balcony was tiny and filthy- the build up of dirt and grime was months old - and the view of the huge near naked woman mural was annoying. The bed was easily the most uncomfortable and lumpy we have encountered. The top bed linen was two flatsheets with a thin doona between - unfortunately the doona was far too small for the bed so if you moved out of the saggy middle, one person lost the doona. The washing machine/dryer was an Aristor that had no obvious instructions, and when Reception was asked how it worked the guy had no idea. We got the thing working and it washed everything quite well but the dryer function didn't seem to work. After trying to work out why we looked up the machine on the internet and tried to follow the instructions in the online manual (translated badly from Spanish I think), after a frustrating few hours it was obvious the dry function did not work. As the reception is not 24 hour, our wet washing had to wait till morning. In the morning we rang reception and explained the machine was broken and requested they send someone up to collect our washing, dry it and then return it, and as we didn't know how long it would take, give us late checkout. Luckily the lady on reception immediately agreed to this idea and about 90 minutes later our washing reappeared dry and folded.
Just to finish, the guys on reception need to explore the area around the property, when I asked not long after check-in where I could buy some alcoholic drinks and nearby food outlets I was sent on a three kilometre drive. There is actually a Liquorland 100 metres away and twenty restaurants/takeaway outlets within 500 metres.
Also there was free WiFi if you asked, it was not offered at Check-in.

Room Tip: Until they update and upgrade I doubt there are any "good" rooms
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Philip D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2018 via mobile

We booked 5 rooms for a family function in early February and found Quest on Durham to be ideal for what we wanted. We could walk to the waterfront, shops and restaurants. The rooms were clean and well stocked with all our overnight needs. Check was made easy and pleasant by the lovely, young man on duty on Saturday 10th February. All in all, I would recommend Quest on Durham to anyone visiting Tauranga.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
Thank Debbie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018

We were really disappointed with the Quest to be honest. With the fabulous views they show on their website - we were initially put in a room with a view of the street carpark. We asked if we could move which we were accommodated for easily but that wasn't that much better - it over looked buildings and another carpark - the view is located quite far away. We were informed that they only have the ground floor and 1st floor so no accommodation is available higher up as they do not own them.

The bed is not in a separate room even though it states one bedroom apartment (in past this to me means separate bedroom), but if you wanted you could pull a sliding door around the bed which would make you feel like you're in a box - no windows.

The amenities weren't too bad - staff left trolleys and beds in hallways a lot which we had to walk around all the times we left and arrived back at our room.

The balconies were very open to others in the street and your room neighbours - so very little privacy.

No free wifi which to me is not good these days - you pay for what you get $189 per night plus $15 for parking in the basement. It was cheaper to pay vodafone.
If you want breakfast - it is delivered the night before !

It pretty average but ok for a quick stay I guess.

Room Tip: You only have the choice of ground level or level 1.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
Thank Jo-Ann E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2018

This was a really good apartment, good size, well equipped, clean and super comfortable bed. We had a couple of utensil issues with the kitchen, the staff soon rectified them. The balcony was nice for relaxing after a day touring. Would recommend this and happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bram v, Manager at Quest on Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2018

John
The team at Quest on Durham appreciated your comments. The team strive to make our guests stay as hassle free and comfortable as possible. We look forward to being of services to you again in the future.
All the best and have an enjoyable year.
The team at the Quest on Durham, Tauranga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

Was really impressed with our room here, it was really large, well laid out, lovely decor, clean and modern. We had a nice balcony also and could see the sea. Bathroom was lovely and clean with all the amenities needed. Was an added bonus to have the washer and dryer also. Check in was easy and the guy was super friendly.

Only thing was there was no free wifi, we stayed at another Quest in Wellington and we had it there so I am now wondering if I needed to ask as maybe the guy forgot to give us the details.

This apartment was also in the perfect location just a few meters down the road to all the bars/cafes and shops and bus stop right there also

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bram v, Manager at Quest on Durham, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2018

The entire team at Quest on Durham are appreciative of your feedback are are hoping that we can be of service sometime in the future. Our apologies about the Wifi - we do provide 1Gb of free Wifi per day per room but you need an access code.
All the best for the year

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews