We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bolton Hotel Wellington
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park Hotel Lambton Quay(Wellington)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quest on Johnston(Wellington)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Aitken on Mulgrave(Wellington)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
Novotel Wellington(Wellington)
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,471)
Filter reviews
1,471 results
Traveller rating
857
442
130
32
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
857
442
130
32
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsclassic suiteartisan restaurantpremier suiteone bedroom suitewasher dryerbotanical gardensfull kitchenvalet parkingnew zealandgovernment buildingsparliament buildingbusiness hotelroom servicestar hotelpillow menugood sizefree wifi
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 1,471 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I work for a mega hospitality hotel chain so I know big. We have policies and processes to homogenize the stay because consistency is our service byword. So although we gain global brand supremacy we do lose our soul. And this is where a local player such as Bolton comes in. With a professional accommodating staff you don’t need local friends. Every service or dining suggestion was spot on.

We upgraded to a clean and comfortable apartment suite. Just a few NZ$ more than coach class and double the space and amenities. Small sitting and dining area plus a 2 burner stove with pots, pans and crockery. Even a combi-washer/dryer if you are on a extended trip. 4 fixture bathroom so you can choose shower or soak. Silky smooth bed linens and black out curtains that work. So all is well in your temporary living space

Location is close to everything. Wellington is not a large town. You can get to all the in city stuff within a 15-30 minute walk. Loads of great restaurants and museums to fill your day. Take a tour or two and hit Mt. Victoria if the weather is clear and you will rewarded with a 350 degree panorama of Wellington.

Bolton is well worth your choice as an accommodation. Forget the big box and stay with some “friends!”

Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our first hotel in north island. Very modern hotel with great car valet service. Pull into the undercover arrival point, step out of your car and walk into reception. By now, your bags are unloaded and awaiting room number. By the time you have room number and get there, your bags are waiting. Superb service. A very high quality and very comfortable room makes the hotel an ideal choice. A very easy walk to the port where there are dozens and dozens of restaurants. Makes it quite difficult to choose one!. Breakfast at the hotel was superb with great choice and perfectly prepared. A great hotel for your visit to Wellington. The only grouse is the hotel pool and hot tub. Pool was freezing cold and the hot tub was plain worn out. Not hot enough or powerful enough. Come on guys, splash out on some heat for the pool and a new tub!.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank shjig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Seems mainly a business hotel but I was just there for one night. Friendly staff. Nice room. Had combo washer - dryer in our room which my wife loved. A little on the expensive side but that seems to be the case in New Zealand - at least in the main cities. Was a good place.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a washer - dryer combo if you've been on the road a while and need to wash clothes.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gitano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had a large lounge/kitchenette which included a washer dryer AND a dishwasher, with a separate bedroom and a bathroom (with bath). The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, the room was refreshed each day of stay to a very high standard. We are fairly fit but I felt it was a bit of a walk from the main attractions, and after one particular day of walking around the museum and waterfront we needed a cab to get us back.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank pinkduck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed two nights in a newly renovated Premier Suite (Room #1505) with a nice view of hill and old cemetery. This chic modern large apartment style accommodation more than met our expectations with a separate living room, well equipped full kitchen, washer / dryer, and bedroom, The hotel staff was always helpful and very attentive recommending places to eat and directions on getting around town. The hotel is conveniently located within walking distance to parliament, waterfront, cable car, shops / restaurants and is a very short ride to the Interislander Ferry if you are traveling on, as we were, to the South Island. Highly recommend the Bolton Hotel as an excellent value choice for your visit to Wellington.

Room Tip: Stay in newly refurbished premier suite with hill facing view
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews