We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience ”
Review of Escape Mate

Escape Mate
Ranked #1 of 24 Fun & Games in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Bookings essential! An Immersive, unique, dramatic, high-energy, intellectual puzzle solving escape game, that will test your wit, intellect and problem-solving skills. Work together with your team to accomplish a mission; find clues, solve mysteries, complete puzzles, operate hi-tech gadgets, and even use a time machine in order to save the world from total destruction! To complete these missions, you and your team will need communication, precise detective skills, and attention to detail, collaboration will see you escape, failure to do so could see the end of the world as we know it. Your mission in The Vault is to infiltrate the headquarters of a secret society known only as ‘The Syndicate,’ an organisation aiming to enslave humanity through brainwashing, human experiments and cyborg war machines. Once you’ve uncovered their secrets and collected all the incriminating intel, you can escape; but be warned, you only have an hour before ‘The Syndicate’s’ plans are put in motion, plans which could have disastrous effects on the entire world. The Lab is an inter-dimensional laboratory where one of our top scientists, who was in charge of weaponry research and development has been held as hostage and forced into developing a deadly, poisonous bio-weapon. You need to collect the main ingredients of the toxic weapon and the research in order to save the world from a chemical-biological warfare. The dimension of the room is unstable, and we only can keep the portal open for 60 minutes. If you are unable to rewire and operate the time machine on time, the portal shuts and traps you forever. Switch off from reality and switch onto a world where you are secret agents in a mind-blowing, movie-like, themed environment. Always loved spy movies and puzzles? Always thought you'd make a damn good detective? Well, prove it.
Useful Information: Lockers / storage, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I did the temple room back in February as a group of 2, and it was amazing. Working at an escape room myself, my expectations are high, and Escape Mate surely delivered.

This escape room beats every other one Ive been to because of their customer service. I didn't even realise an escape room could have as good of a service that they manage to provide.

Thank Nic_Hoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EscapeMate, Guest Relations Manager at Escape Mate, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hi Nic, thanks again for joining us at Escape Mate! We're always happy to have experienced agents around to give us a hand. So glad you had a great time on our Temple mission, according to the debriefing notes it appears your team of 2 did a mighty fine job taking down our death gods, well done! Thank you for the kind review and hope to have you back at HQ again soon, in the meantime, stay safe out there agent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (158)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"escape room"
in 23 reviews
"great fun"
in 20 reviews
"a lot of fun"
in 9 reviews
"team building activity"
in 4 reviews
"grabone voucher"
in 4 reviews
"vault room"
in 3 reviews
"bank vault"
in 3 reviews
"bonding experience"
in 3 reviews
"fun team"
in 3 reviews
"perfect level"
in 3 reviews
"red herrings"
in 2 reviews
"seconds to spare"
in 2 reviews
"bigger room"
in 2 reviews
"puzzle solving"
in 2 reviews
"spy game"
in 2 reviews
"difficulty level"
in 2 reviews
"problem solving"
in 2 reviews
Filter

6 - 10 of 158 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Intelligent, safe fun. If you love playing games you will love this experience! As a large group we were welcomed and well catered for.

Thank tulia2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I think I may now be addicted to Escape Room adventures. This was our second one, having completed one whilst on holiday in France. The Wellington experience was just as brilliant. First big plus is the warm welcome that we were given. Great staff who are friendly and pleased to see you. A cool vibe in the waiting area gets you full of anticipation for what is behind the door. There were four of us doing the escape and as soon as we were locked in, we were locked on to solving the riddles and clues. The Welington one was much harder than the French one. Super clever and imaginative providing lots of shrieks of alarm and excitement when unexpected things happened as we solved puzzles. We did have to make use of the intercom to ask for a bit of help when we got stuck, but I don't think we felt failures for getting a bit of assistance here and there. We were released with about 40 seconds to spare and felt elated that we had escaped. Will definitely return to do the other room. When we all discussed it afterwards our only thoughts were that it would be better if the first clue was in a more accessible place, providing a definite starting point because once you solve the first riddle, you feel like you are off and running. Thanks again Escape Mate - you rock!!

Thank Gwen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EscapeMate, Guest Relations Manager at Escape Mate, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Gwen, thank you so much for joining us here at Escape Mate! We had a wonderful time meeting your team and are so happy to hear you had a stellar time on your mission. We take a lot of pride in the complexity of our puzzles, so we were very pleased you found them challenging at least compared to your last experience in France - as we like to say here, if it were easy it wouldn't be as much fun. Appreciate the feedback and look forward to having you back to do our other mission shortly! Until then, stay safe out there agent. :-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our group of four completed the Temple room challenge last week. It was good sized group for this room and we all had a great time finding, sorting and interpreting the clues to the conclusion. I was aware after doing it that I felt as though my brain was switched into a very alert state for the rest of the day - awesome!

Thank KiwifamilyNelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EscapeMate, Guest Relations Manager at Escape Mate, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello agent! Thank you again for joining us here at the Escape Mate Intelligence HQ. We're so happy to hear you loved your mission and escaped just in time to save the world. Hope to see you back again for another mission so we can get that switch flicked back on!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2018

We did the Temple escape room as a small corporate team of 3. That was a pretty good size for the room. Staff were great and kept the comms well balance to help us make it through the room.

Thank jwaihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EscapeMate, Guest Relations Manager at Escape Mate, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hello Josh! Thank you again for helping us save the world on our Temple mission. We had a great time with your team and look forward to having you back at Escape Mate soon. Until then, stay safe out there agent!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Escape Mate also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Escape Mate? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing