We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashleigh Court Motel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tresco Blenheim(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$55
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aston Court Motel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Admirals Motor Lodge(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$72
US$68
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$77/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

ASURE Sundowner Motel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$93
US$90
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alpine Motel(Blenheim)(Great Value!)
US$56
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$96
US$93
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (404)
Filter reviews
404 results
Traveller rating
201
166
30
7
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
201
166
30
7
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnice hoteltop floorbuffet breakfastfree wifithe air conditioningseymour squarenice poolreception areanew zealandfudgelovely parkrooms are cleanclose to shopsgreat roomhappily stay here againsouth islandguest laundry
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 404 reviews
Reviewed 24 March 2018

We stayed for one night in February en route from the Interislander ferry to Kaikoura.

Staff were helpful and friendly, and our room was large and comfortable. We were next to the guest laundry which, although convenient for us, I was concerned may be noisy - I needn't have worried!

Although this was really only a place for us to sleep, we didn't find much to entice us to stay around in Blenheim. With little elsewhere that we could find, we chose to eat in the hotel restaurant, and enjoyed both our dinner and breakfast.

Room Tip: The bar serves a 'wine flight' of six different locally produced wines - great value and an excellent way to sample some different bottles!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PostcardSwansea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel_Horsley, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2018

Hello - thank you for taking the time to place feedback about your recent stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our facilities and service. Best wishes, Carmel Horsley, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Quiet, clean, close to town, very comfortable bed, friendly staff, convenient services such as restaurant and bar. You can reserve the hot tub but the jets aren’t very strong. Really good value for the money here. Well cared for property and the staff is attentive and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank KC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel_Horsley, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2018

Greetings. Thank you for your great feedback: we are so pleased you enjoyed our facilities and that the team could make your stay so enjoyable. Should you ever find your path crossing through Marlborough again, we would love the chance to welcome you once more.
Warm wishes, Carmel Horsley, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

We had a nice couple of days at the Scenic on our Northward tour of New Zealand. The room was very nice with good facilities and a nice big walk-in shower. A reasonably good buffet breakfast but a little more choice in the fresh fruit would have been appropriated.
The staff on reception were very friendly offering a great concierge type service, even managing to get us onto a wine tour for the following day despite the company website suggesting nothing available. A good location near the town centre but as other reviewers have mention don’t go looking for night life as things close up pretty early.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank alanjamesg2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel_Horsley, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Hello. Thanks for your feedback. We are so pleased that we could help to make your journey through NZ enjoyable, and we hope you can make it back for a visit another time.
Warm wishes, Carmel Horsley, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

We chose this hotel because they have 24 hour reception. (We were arriving late off the interislander ferry). When we arrived at midnight after a long journey it was so nice to be met by a polite, well groomed and wide awake receptionist and directed to our room without any fuss.
The bed was very comfortable, the best of our entire trip around New Zealand. It was like sleeping on a cloud. The hotel is in a quiet area of Blenheim but is still close to the shops.
We left early the next morning and the check out process was smooth. I had accidentally paid twice for the room (once on booking and once on arrival - this was my own fault as I offered to pay when we arrived). When we checked out this had already been picked up and the receptionist (a different one) was ready to reimburse me before I asked.
I would happily stay here again. The building itself is a little dated but this is more than made up for by the excellent staff and clean, comfortable room. It is good value for money.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 22KiwiTraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel_Horsley, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2018

Greetings: thanks ever so much for taking the time to let us know how you enjoyed your stay with us. It is great to hear that the team were friendly and welcoming - and got you to bed nice and quickly after your journey. The "Scenic" bed with feather topper is a favourite for many of our guests. We hope to welcome you another time - and trust you enjoyed the rest of your visit to the South Island. Best wishes, Carmel Horsley, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

Type
Large hotel

Location
We decided to stay here because it's centrally located, but we didn't know that the town is dead at 5pm. Stay somewhere else truly scenic like closer to the vineyards for more of an experience.

Room
Good wifi. Air conditioning. Our room had views of the parking lot.

Service
We didn't think the service was very good. We tried to get help to make a dinner reservation, and we were greeted by annoyance and got hung up on. Housekeeping was also not up to par, our carpet was not vacuumed after the room was cleaned; and when asked about it, again the response was annoyance and then cleaned up.

Food/Breakfast
The breakfast is not included.

Stay again
No

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bagwags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carmel_Horsley, General Manager at Scenic Hotel Marlborough, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2018

Hello. Thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback, it is appreciated. I shall pass your comments regarding restaurant bookings and housekeeping on, as we do use any feedback given constructively - and I apologise that our team did not have a more positive response. Our cental location is generally appreciated, and while shops and businesses in Blenheim do close at 5pm, restaurants and bars in town are still open.
Kind regards
Carmel Horsley, General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews