We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Pavilions Hotel(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
US$109
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
US$108
Commodore Airport
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$70
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Airport Palms Motel(Christchurch)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$92
US$87
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$84
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmont Motor Inn(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$80
US$72
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arthur's Court Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$99
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$190
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (987)
Filter reviews
987 results
Traveller rating
715
239
22
8
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
715
239
22
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscity centrecentre pointnew zealandsouth islandthe owner managerwithin walking distancedvd playershort walklittle touchesrooms are spaciouswould definitely stay here againgreat hostsstayed here for nightsgreat place to stayfirst stopquiet locationvisit christchurch
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 987 reviews
Reviewed 23 January 2017

Travelled to this hotel as our first stop in New Zealand after arriving at Christchurch airport. The first thing the host did was give us a very detailed round down of the area, the methods of transportation and all of the good spots. The local knowledge was excellent and the attention to detail was great. This actually really helped out in shaping our trip in Christchurch.

The rooms are not very spacious but they are very comfortable and the hotel staff is so attentive to the client needs that I don't imagine it would be easy to have a disappointing stay here.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Simon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Hello Simon B and thanks for the review. Great to see you were able to make good use of the way we present guests with info and had a good look around Christchurch. As for that small room, you did book our smallest and cheapest room, and we only have 1 room this size. It is the cheapest room we sell for a reason. At 20 square metres (215 square feet) it is small but is most well appointed and we do try to make sure the size is published as much as possible. Other than that it is the same as all our other rooms. Our other rooms are a mixture of 24 square metres (258 square feet), 28 square metres (301 square feet), to 47 square metres (505 square feet) and finally 61 square metres (657 square feet). These rooms do of course come with different pricing, the bigger the room meaning the higher price etc. Thanks for the chance to explain this!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017

All the positive reviews are spot on. The owner was so welcoming and helpful, giving clear directions to places of interest and suggesting sights. She also provided a separate map and information (address, operating hours, and price ranges) for a great number of restaurants in the immediate area and within walking distance. We liked the two levels, which the unit feel like a proper apartment. Huge bedroom area, with both a double and a twin bed. Plenty of storage space, with a full cupboard and many small drawers, making it ideal for either a one-night or longer term stay. The safe is a plus. Many thoughtful touches: a power cube, DVD player, a well-supplied kitchenette, electric blanket, choice of milk. Free wifi is quick and reliable. The hotel and the surrounding area are quiet. Next time we're in Christchurch, CentrePoint will definitely be our place to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MicheleBelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Hi there MicheleBelle and thanks for the review and for providing balance with the last reviewer who missed the boat. I hope readers realise that it was Naomi, the owner who checked you in, and yes she was the one who checked in the person who took it all so badly. Your review proves that when one is with it, it all works! Thanks for the comments! Thanks for also commenting on the various points of the rooms you loved! See you next time!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2017 via mobile

Unfortunately we got off to a very bad start on arrival here, we had prepaid our whole tour in advance yet when we arrived we were asked for our credit card details incase in the ladies exact words 'trashed the room' not exactly the warm welcome, we had been due to stay again but actually booked elsewhere as we were so put off. Room was fine but smelt stale on arrival so we had to air it.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2017

Yes you did! And please tell me since when was prepayment a guarantee of acting like an angle? We have a policy of confirming credit card details for room guarantee and 99.9% of people understand it as standard procedure.
In your case, Naomi - the owner of the motel - had to ask several times in different ways before she used a mixture of Kiwi humour and sarcasm to try and communicate this point to you. Obviously that went right past you.
Apologies to you if we caused any offense but this is the way we do things and the countless other reviews testify to the fact that this time, you got it wrong.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

I travel all the time, and the title, Best Motel, doesn't come easy.
It Just had everything I needed when I needed it with no hassle.
Friendly staff, great location, clean, spacious and reasonably priced room.
The list continues, but you get the picture. From now on, it's the only place I'll stay in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TurnpikePete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Hiya there TurnpikePete and thanks for the review which contrasts with the one above this. We like it when experienced travelers book, stay, and review us! Thanks for pointing out the good points and how good they were! We look forward to you staying again next tie you are in Christchurch!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2017

I concur with other excellent reviews. CentrePoint was ideal for our needs during our 4 day stay. The little table and chairs on the upstairs deck was a great place to meet people. The kitchen items were sufficient to prepare a simple meal. Wifi was good with very simple terms of use that you could actually read, "Be good online" Hope to return as Christchurch gets rebuilt.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank elizhealy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Centrepoint1, Owner at CentrePoint on Colombo Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2017

Thanks for the review after staying with us for 4 nights. The weather must have been great while you were here and wonderful you made use of the communal balcony area to relax and meet other guests. Haha! Thanks for noticing the Ts'nCs of the internet use, that is what we expect while guests try to chew their way through the 5GB daily limit. Yes! Come back to see how the city gets rebuilt, see you then!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews