We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
St James Bed & Breakfast
Nearby Hotels
Airport Palms Motel(Christchurch)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel 115 Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$67
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$75/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$118
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$65
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Southwark Apartments(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$53
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
US$78
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$86/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Belmont Motor Inn(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arthur's Court Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$232
US$191
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (85)
Filter reviews
85 results
Traveller rating
76
7
1
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
76
7
1
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmagnolia roombed and breakfastclose to the airporthighly recommend stshared bathroomheated mattress padlong flightone nightb and bbeautiful housebreakfast was amazingnew zealandwonderful staylast nightyogurtlittle touchesother guests
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 85 reviews
Reviewed 21 January 2017

I've been there just for one night with my family. But it was a good and quiet night. Very clean, comfortable place and easy to get to the airport. Margaret greeted us personally, introduced us to the room very kindly and carefully. I do recommend that bed and breakfast in Christchurch.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alessandro t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marg05, Owner at St James Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2017

Hi there, I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your stay at St James, and do hope that your travels went well with the family. They certainly looked to be thoroughly enjoying their family holiday together. I do hope the travels continue to go well, kind regards Marg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017

We flew into Christchurch late in the day and were more than pleased with the accommmodations at the St. James B&B. Margaret was gone, but the key to the stables was there for us, and we settled in easily. The unit was attractively decorated and impeccably clean. Margaret had provided a lovely breakfast pie, bread for toasting, jams, fruit, ramen noodles, bars, orange juice and milk, cereals and coffee. The unit was a charming apartment only a short walk away from the sweet Alpacas. I couldn't recommend this B&B more highly, and it's only a kilometer away from the airport, easy walking distance. How I wish we could have gotten a room there for our return flight, but it was not to be.

Stayed: January 2017
Thank amershon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marg05, Owner at St James Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2017

Hi there...lovely to read that you enjoyed your stay in the Stables.. and that the breakfast was enjoyable too! So sorry that we cant enjoy your company again on the way back for you but hope you enjoy our beautiful country and that we may meet you when you next visit.
kind regards Marg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2016

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of days and absolutely loved it. We tried to change or plans to stay longer. The owner is a lovely lady who knows how to make you feel welcomed. The location is very relaxing even though the airport is very close. A lot of thought was put into the design of making guest feel comfortable. The decor is warm and cozy. The bathroom has a shower/tub room and a separate toilet or water closet. There is also a cottage that is completely self contained. She has the sweetest pets which only add to the warmth of the location. Beautiful garden. Great place for a wedding or a small family reunion. We look forward to returning someday.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed nice. Ours had a balcony.
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dr John D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret F, Owner at St James Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2017

Hi John, thank you so much for letting me know that you enjoyed your stay at St James whilst you were in Christchurch. We have since enjoyed Christmas and the New Year Celebrtaions here and have enjoyed some very hot (and mixed weather!) Its so good to hear you enjoyed our neck of the woods, and I do hope the rest of your travels have treated you well too...appy New Year to you both kind regards Marg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2016

We stayed one night. Chose this Bed & Breakfast because it was close to the airport. We had traveled all over New Zealand for 24 days. It was nice to relax in this beautiful home.
We had the lovely balcony room with a queen size bed. Gorgeous home & grounds with roses and flowers. Margaret is a wonderful hostess, breakfast was french toast and assortment of fruit, there was yogurt and cereal, juice and homemade muffins. The home was decorated for Christmas. We were there on December 12th. Highly recommend St James Bed & Breakfast we had a great stay!!!!

Room Tip: There are several different size rooms some on ground level and several upstairs.
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank April0195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marg05, Owner at St James Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2016

Hi there....thank you so much for your feedback re your stay with St James. It was much appreciated and I really enjoyed meeting you and sharing this hectic but gorgeous time of the year with you both...meery Christmas and enjoy your days ahead, Marg

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

We chose this Bed and Breakfast for its proximity to our rv rental and airport location. Turns out we actually could easily walk to the rental places. The B&B is a wonderful place to stay: an all around beautiful house and garden with plenty of little touches to make it special. Thank you to our host for making our final day in NZ even better.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank W3511SNandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margaret F, Owner at St James Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2016

Well, it certainly was a pleasure to have you stay and its lovely to read of your enjoyment! Many thanks for choosing to stay at St James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews