We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Nearby Hotels
Heritage Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$153
US$120
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ibis Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
US$111
US$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Montreal(Christchurch)
US$187
US$178
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Palms Motel(Christchurch)
US$99
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$66
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tower Junction Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$73
US$70
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colombo in the City(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arthur's Court Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$78
US$76
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmont Motor Inn(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,236)
Filter reviews
1,236 results
Traveller rating
380
489
264
74
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
380
489
264
74
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshagley parkdouble treecity centrebotanical gardensnew zealandlovely hotelbeautiful parkduty managerhotel restaurantreception areavery pleasant stayroom was spaciousfree shuttlethe ground floorstayed here for one nightsouth islandearthquake
Filter
Updating list...
260 - 265 of 1,236 reviews
Reviewed 20 June 2017

Choose this hotel because I did not want to stay in the city centre/highrise due to the Christchurch 'shakes'.

Was not impressed initially, as the King Balcony room we were put in were quite cramped. And all we got was a tiny balcony, overlooking a car park.

But by the second day my Hhonors status must have kicked in or something, because we got upgraded to a very nice one bedroom suite - high ceilings, separate bedroom, massive spa bath.

Massive Hagley park across the road to explore, and Westfield Riccarton within walking distance as well.
City centre also a pleasant 30-minute walk away.

Hotel itself feels quaint in a good way. Inside however feels modern.
Staff is very helpful, and would go out of their way to assist.

Room Tip: Ask for a (non-car) park view room
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Max M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Dear Max M,

Thank you very much for sharing a review on TripAdvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay in one of the hotel’s One Bedroom suite.

It was our pleasure to welcome you as a loyal Hilton Honors member and to have the opportunity to assist you throughout your stay.

Thank you for recommending Chateau on the Park Christchurch a DoubleTree by Hilton and we look forward to welcoming you back on future travels.

Regards,
David Wain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2017

Hilton has done an excellent job of refreshing this renowned Christchurch property. Fully renovated bathrooms, new paint, carpet, drapes, beds, furniture all in good taste and spotlessly clean. Not sure if it is Christchurch or Hilton, but staff are all very helpful and friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank kathkiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Dear kathkiwi,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Chateau on the Park Christchurch a DoubleTree by Hilton. It is wonderful to welcome you to the hotel and I am very pleased to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us.

We receive many positive comments about our rooms refurbishment and the fresh new look.

I do hope that we will see you back again shortly to indulge in our world famous warm Chocolate Chip Cookie.

Regards,
David Wain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

It's very nice hotel on a large property .all arround are gardens.we arrived early room was not ready we spend our time in exploring the garden .we enjoyed our walk .very helpful staff they gave the room early.on check in they gave us big chocolate chip cookies very delicious .room and bathroom was nice big and clean .we enjoyed our stay they gave us the cookies when we checked out .highly recommend

Stayed: May 2017
Thank afshangore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Dear afshangore,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Chateau on the Park Christchurch a DoubleTree by Hilton. I'm delighted to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us, in particular our Award winning gardens and signature Warm Chocolate Chip welcome.

We shall look forward to your next visit to Christchurch.

Regards,
David Wain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2017

I have been to this hotel for about 5 times already, always coming as a part of an airline crew for a layover stay. I always have an amazing rest in this hotel. The beds are spacious, soft and one of the comfiest beds out of all countless hotels I have ever stayed as a cabin crew (and believe me it's a LOT of 4* and 5* hotels all over the world)! Rooms are always fresh and clean, the internet always works well, various programs to choose from on the TV. Food in the hotel, being in a la carte lunch/dinner menu, the room service or brekkie is always super delicious, especially the beef! Wine selection is great too. Staff at this hotel is one of the nicest and friendliest I have ever come across, always very helpful. I just love this hotel, it is always one of my most favourite layover stays, I always look forward coming back, and luckily I am at least once a month. I would recommend this hotel to everyone, you will have a fantastic stay! Go and enjoy beautiful Christchurch, hotel is in the proximity to everything! Much love for this place <3 <3

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank EvaDXBtrolleydolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Dear EvaDXBtrolleydolly,

Thank you for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor. It is wonderful to read that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and we shall look forward to welcoming you back again very soon.

It is always wonderful receiving such positive feedback from guests who travel as frequently around the globe as you do.

I look forward to your next visit with us. Please do let me know next time you are in Christchurch so that I can personally welcome you back to the property.

Regards
David Wain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2017

Aptly named Chateau on the Park has a beautiful location. Noteworthy also was its Outstanding Service, MOST helpful and friendly staff. Look forward to our return visits. Much enjoyed their restaurant as well.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton
Thank V6721STscotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David W, General Manager at Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton, responded to this reviewResponded 1 July 2017

Dear Shellfire

Thank you very much for sharing your complimentary review on TripAdvisor detailing your experience at Chateau on the Park Christchurch a DoubleTree by Hilton. We are delighted to read your feedback regarding your stay with us and concur that the hotel’s location is unique, allowing guests to relax in the tranquility of our award winning gardens, from beginning to end.

We receive frequent positive feedback about our warm and friendly staff and the positive dining experiencing of our restaurant.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to have another opportunity to welcome you back on future travels.

Kind regards,
David Wain

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews