We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,552)
Filter reviews
1,552 results
Traveller rating
1,091
324
99
29
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,091
324
99
29
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsteddy bearpescatore restaurantsmall luxury hotelpark suiteupgraded to a junior suitenew zealandturn down servicehagley parkheated floorslight switcheslovely hotelbeautiful parkour honeymoonavon riverbotanical gardensvictoria streetsouth island
Filter
Updating list...
1,287 - 1,292 of 1,552 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in August 2012, The room was immaculate and the staff very friendly.
10 minutes after we checked in reception called to check if everything was OK with room, nice touch!
Food in 50 Bistro was great for both dinner and breakfast.
Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C0aster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

From the moment you step inside, you feel that they are there to take care of you. Service is impecible, I had hardly walked in the door of my room when the phone rang offering me a tea or coffee which got delivered to the door within minutes of having hung up.

The bed was soooo comfortable and the bathroom is spacious and luxurious. I did have a problem with the inbuilt buttons to flush the toilet. They were particularly difficult to push in, even my husband mentioned the fact.

We dined in both of their restaurants and was completely impressed by food quality and service. 50 Bistro offers yummy food with a twist and is reasonably priced. Pescatore is another whole experience. I recommend you book as they are popular.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margot A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed in this property for 2 days, and i must say that hotel was really good.
Its the only 5 star hotel in Christchurch as per what they say, but its not as big as 5 star hotels in other parts of the world, its comparitively very small. But still the hotel was very neat and tidy as well as the staff was courteous. The park in front of the hotel adds the beauty. Also the hotel is earthquake resistant, a must for a city like Christchurch.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abhishekgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The George knows how to do luxury right. Great restaurant. Amazing rooms and bathrooms. Great view of the park. Friendly service. Only downside for our visit was the unfortunate state of the CBD from the earthquake (no fault of the hotel of course, which looks undamaged)

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BSmith4333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2012

Stayed for 1 night. Beautiful modern rooms, very friendly staff. The restaurant also seemed very nice and popular though we actually chose to have dinner outside the hotel. Unfortunately the city centre has been badly hit by the earthquakes and there are not many tourist attractions available at the moment.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Themis_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews