We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge a book by it's cover”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #5 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Whilst the appearance of the Hotel from the outside may look average, inside is a completely different story.

As soon as I stepped outside the taxi, I was greated by the Porter and the checkin process only took only a matter of minutes. The Porter took by bags and walked with me to my Hotel room and explained air conditioning / tv etc...without appearing to wait for a tip

Following a call to reception regarding wifi (which a small amount of data is complimentary), I was then offerred a fresh juice which was then delivered within minutes.

The Hotel is within a short walking distance to the devastation of the earthquake city centre (a walk down Gloucester Street is an "eye opener").

The "free" George teddy bear is a nice touch to take home.

Whilst I did not "upgrade" the base room I booked, the view from the room, not surprisingly, was not great.

My prebooked taxi (as arranged by the Hotel) arrived on time in the very early hours of the morning for my next flight.

Whilst the Hotel is approx 15 minutes from the airport, this Hotel would be my first choice for my next stay in Christchurch.

Room Tip: Room 302 was located right next to the lift, but I did not find this an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BCME2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,187 - 1,191 of 1,449 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2012

We stayed for 2 nights in August 2012, The room was immaculate and the staff very friendly.
10 minutes after we checked in reception called to check if everything was OK with room, nice touch!
Food in 50 Bistro was great for both dinner and breakfast.
Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C0aster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2012

From the moment you step inside, you feel that they are there to take care of you. Service is impecible, I had hardly walked in the door of my room when the phone rang offering me a tea or coffee which got delivered to the door within minutes of having hung up.

The bed was soooo comfortable and the bathroom is spacious and luxurious. I did have a problem with the inbuilt buttons to flush the toilet. They were particularly difficult to push in, even my husband mentioned the fact.

We dined in both of their restaurants and was completely impressed by food quality and service. 50 Bistro offers yummy food with a twist and is reasonably priced. Pescatore is another whole experience. I recommend you book as they are popular.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margot A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

We stayed in this property for 2 days, and i must say that hotel was really good.
Its the only 5 star hotel in Christchurch as per what they say, but its not as big as 5 star hotels in other parts of the world, its comparitively very small. But still the hotel was very neat and tidy as well as the staff was courteous. The park in front of the hotel adds the beauty. Also the hotel is earthquake resistant, a must for a city like Christchurch.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abhishekgg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2012

The George knows how to do luxury right. Great restaurant. Amazing rooms and bathrooms. Great view of the park. Friendly service. Only downside for our visit was the unfortunate state of the CBD from the earthquake (no fault of the hotel of course, which looks undamaged)

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BSmith4333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
711 reviews
1.4 km away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
1 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#10 of 146 in Christchurch
244 reviews
0.9 km away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
6.7 km away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: RM 1,020 - RM 2,461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing