We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The George Christchurch
Nearby Hotels
US$111
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Heritage Christchurch(Christchurch)
US$153
US$118
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Airport Palms Motel(Christchurch)
US$89
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ibis Christchurch(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$69
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Airport Gateway Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$66
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Colombo in the City(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$90
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Arthur's Court Motor Lodge(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$69
US$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belmont Motor Inn(Christchurch)(Great Value!)
US$81
US$73
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Montreal(Christchurch)
US$186
US$176
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,510)
Filter reviews
1,510 results
Traveller rating
1,057
317
98
29
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,057
317
98
29
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsteddy bearpescatore restaurantsmall luxury hotelpark suitenew zealandturn down servicehagley parkjunior suiteheated floorslovely hotelbeautiful parkour honeymoonavon riverbotanical gardensvictoria streetsouth islandnice room
Filter
Updating list...
781 - 786 of 1,510 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2016

Hm, been there for a couple of nights few years ago, I had the apartment with the backyard/park view, it was incredible amazing. Can't wait to return <3 Mini BAR inside of the room is full of cool things, drinks with a reasonable pricing and room service is perfect.

Room Tip: Room with park view rocks <3
  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank cescagui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2016

Dear cescagui
We are thrilled to hear you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us and that everything, from the view in your room to our mini bar offering, met with your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.

Kind regards

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2016

As we have traveled through NZ, The George has been one of e better hotels. On the positive side, the room is comfortable, offers good quality sleep, is quiet, service is park side location is very convenient, there are ample TV channels (including ESPN), the Internet is lightening fast by NZ standards (40 Mb down, 10 Mb up). The breakfast was very good.

On the negative side, the exterior is not particularly attractive, there was significant mold on the bathtub/ shower, the lighting was inadequate, paint was missing along the windowsill, the thermostat didn't work, the bathroom was small and the toilet was really hard to flush.

Not a bad place. The bottom line - at $360 per night, we just expected more.

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank kstraveler81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2016

Dear kstraveler81
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are pleased to receive your appreciation of your room, our location, the breakfast you enjoyed and the speed of our internet service and also to hear that we were one of the better hotels you stayed at in New Zealand. We are however sorry you experienced some maintenance issues in your room and these have been noted for us to address internally.
Thank you again for your feedback.

Kind regards

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2016

What I liked: fairly quiet setting, close to a beautiful park; good food at the 50Bistro - wanted to try the Hotel's renowned Pescatore restaurant, but unfortunately it was fully booked - learn from our experience and reserve in advance before your arrival; service was impeccable, all the way from housekeeping, who gave us a (complementary) cute teddy-bear doll named George (of course) - which was adopted straight away by our daughter; to the concierge and reception staff who were very very patient, knowledgeable and helpful; above ground parking space next to front door of the hotel hosted our rental to perfection; nice, spacious room with a view of some old trees and city suburb; short ride from city center; what else? well, I think for me that was more than enough to create a very nice, cozy, warm and solid hotel, which made us feel quite welcomed in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SemperParatus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2016

Dear SemperParatus
We are delighted you enjoyed your recent visit with us. It is very pleasing to hear how much you appreciated everything from the helpful and welcoming service you received from all our team, the car-parking space available, the view from your room and your dining experience in 50 Bistro.Thank you for taking the time to post this review. We hope we will be able to welcome you back to The George should you return to Christchurch in the future.
Kind regards

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2016 via mobile

This park side gem of a hotel was among the finest we've ever stayed at. From location to service to impeccable amenities. From a Michelin-quality restaurant to their flawlessly appointed rooms and even chocolates and a free teddybear for the kids at turndown, this small luxury hotel is as good as it gets. Spacious rooms, heated floors, feather-soft beds and even afternoon tea upon check-in, wow. Love it. Very reasonably priced for what you get here as well. I couldn't think of a single thing I'd change.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
Thank wildlandphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2016

Dear wildphotopro
We are so pleased to hear that your recent stay with us met and hopefully surpassed all your expectations. Thank you for your very kind comments relating to our rooms, your dining experience, the comfort of your bed and our facilities and amenities. It is wonderful that you have appreciated the essence of what we are trying to achieve – a high level of service and facilities with some unique touches.
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your feedback.
Kind regards

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2016

Booked our stay at The George based on TripAdvisor recommendations - great choice! The hotel is nicely located on fringe of CBD (easy walk into town unless infirm) and opposite a large park and adjacent Botanical Gardens. The hotel has bikes that can be used by guests to get around too. The Service is impeccable - friendly, engaging, very helpful. Just small things like a complementary coffee shortly after arrival, very efficient laundry service and room service - but they made all the difference. Actually, the level of service from everyone was beyond any hotel I have stayed in, including other Small Luxury Hotel members (the George is a SLH member). The rooms are nicely sized - not huge - and well fitted with comfortable chairs and a desk for working at (if needed). There are 2 excellent restaurants and a small bar (see entries for 50 Bistro and Pescatore). We didn't have breakfast included in our package - $23 for continental. This included coffees, cereal, fruit juices, pastries, small cheese and cold meats/fish selection, fresh fruit, yogurts and breads (toast). Actually, very reasonable but more than adequate. There was also an a la carte hot selection that looked good (didn't have).
Each room also gets a wee bear - George the bear - to take home. A fun touch that exemplifies this really, really, really friendly hotel. Can't recommend enough. I haven't stayed anywhere else in Christchurch and so can't offer insightful comparisons but when next in town I won't be staying anywhere else. It will always be The George for me. (One last tip - when we booked - 3 months before - both direct bookings and several mainstream agents offered no availability. Booked with Hotel.com - first rate).

  • Stayed: January 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank heracles2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2016

Dear heracles2015
We are thrilled you enjoyed your recent stay with us and appreciate your glowing review of our facilities. It is wonderful that all aspects of your stay, from our location, our amenities, your dining experiences in both 50 Bistro and Pescatore and most importantly, the friendly and helpful service you received from our team, all left such an impression on you. Thank you for your recommendation to others and for taking the time to post your review. We are now delighted that we will have other opportunities in the future to welcome you back to The George .
Kind regards

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews