We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The George Christchurch
Ranked #5 of 146 Hotels in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 13 December 2017 via mobile

A very short overnight stay before flying back to the UK. This is a lovely small hotel staff very friendly and breakfast was amazing. Had a great room and a lovely surprise in the evening of chocolates and George the bear. Loved it will recommend and stay again if we get chance.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Angela_Chesterfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear Angela_Chesterfield
We are delighted your recent stay with us, although short, was an enjoyable one and that you especially appreciated your room, your dining experience at breakfast, our special turn-down gifts and the service you encountered from all our team. We certainly hope we might have another opportunity to welcome you back should you return to Christchurch and thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Kind regards

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,424)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

17 - 21 of 1,425 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed for two nights in this lovely hotel. We relaxed the minute we walked in starting with the check in process, seated at the reception desk rather than standing queuing. The room was spacious and elegantly decorated and the bathroom was well stocked and spacious (although shower was in the bath it had good pressure). There were chocolates left beside the bed in the evening and a turn down service. The staff members were extremely friendly and helpful and recommended two very good restaurants during our stay. I would thoroughly recommend a stay at The George.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank nikkihind24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear nikkihind24
We are thrilled to hear that from the moment you arrived until your departure all aspects of your stay met with, and hopefully exceeded, your expectations. We are particularly pleased you appreciated the ease, and comfort, of our check-in process, your room and our turn-down amenities, and most especially, the friendly and helpful service you received from our team. We appreciate your recommendation and you taking the time to post your review.
Kind regards

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2017

The property is well positioned near the Centre of Town. It is handy to the Botanical gardens (5 min walk) museums and restaurants.We had one night here prior to commencing a 10 day driving holiday South of Christchurch. The room was spacious , comfortable and huge bed was good. Check in was seamless and staff were friendly and efficient. The little touches were great. A pot of Tea brought to the room on arrival, The Bear, chocolates and the staff just checking to see everything was to our satisfaction. Plenty of Parking

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 15 December 2017

Dear George C
Thank you for your kind words following your recent stay. We are so pleased to hear that your entire experience with us, from the convenience of our location, the comfort of your room (especially the bed), the friendly service you encountered on arrival, and all our welcome and turn-down amenities made such a positive impression on you. We hope we might welcome you back on a future visit and thank you again for your feedback.
Kind regards

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Good hotel, good service, good restaurant, good room, good position, in fact it was good everything! When we return to Christchurch in the future this will definitely be the hotel we choose to stay with.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank stephentH6181AI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2017

Wonderful Hotel amazing Staff great Food and service very well located for easy walking distance to sight see in yet another Beautiful place in New Zealand we would happily recommend this Hotel to anyone

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
1 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
704 reviews
1 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
2,071 reviews
1.4 km away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
Hotel Montreal
Hotel Montreal
#9 of 146 in Christchurch
233 reviews
0.9 km away
Novotel Christchurch Cathedral Square Hotel
0.8 km away
Crowne Plaza Christchurch
Crowne Plaza Christchurch
#23 of 146 in Christchurch
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The George Christchurch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The George Christchurch

Address: 50 Park Terrace, Christchurch 8001, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Christchurch
#3 Green Hotel in Christchurch
#5 Luxury Hotel in Christchurch
#7 Romantic Hotel in Christchurch
Price Range: RM1,017 - RM2,463 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The George Christchurch 5*
Number of rooms: 53
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The George is the essence of supreme comfort. Its 53 spacious rooms are designed with a stylish eye for detail, complete with luxury amenities. With a one-to-one ratio of staff to guests, impeccable service is guaranteed. In 2013, 2012 and 2010 it was recognised as ‘New Zealand’s #1 City Hotel’ in Travel + Leisure World’s Best Awards, was New Zealand’s Leading Boutique Hotel’ 2006 – 2010 & 2012 – 2013 in the World Travel Awards. The George offers discerning travellers superb comfort and individual attention in an intimate ambiance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, HotelQuickly and Ctrip TA so you can book your The George Christchurch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The George Christchurch Hotel Christchurch
The George Hotel Christchurch
George Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing