We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,585)
Filter reviews
1,585 results
Traveller rating
1,119
328
100
29
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,119
328
100
29
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews teddy bear pescatore restaurant small luxury hotel park suite new zealand turn down service hagley park junior suite heated floors lovely hotel beautiful park our honeymoon avon river underfloor heating botanical gardens victoria street south island
Filter
Updating list...
134 - 139 of 1,585 reviews
Reviewed 19 February 2018

if not for the first floor restaurant manager i would have been extremely disappointed she went out of her way to solve a problem when waitstaff was happy to blow me off. coming in from an all day tour i went to bar but was not served in casual attire i was clean and stylish for a hiker. no one else at the bar but i couldn't get anyone to take my order just wanted a beer so i went upstairs and changed came down and sat in restaurant but told i would have to move 10 ft back to the bar if i wanted a burger. the waitress was curt and tough. so i did, ordered thats when the manager came over and said i could sit at the table and eat my burger more easily than on a couch

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Christy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2018

Dear Christy R
We are most concerned to hear you had a less than positive experience in 50 Bistro during your recent stay with us. While we are pleased our Restaurant Manager managed to resolve the situation at the time we would like to apologise for the circumstances that occurred and for your disappointment. We would also like to assure you that the issues you encountered have been addressed internally with our team.Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.
Kind regards

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

We enjoyed the staff and venue. Great dinner recommendation to Chillingworth (spelling?). George’s Bistro convenient with good food. Easy walk to Botanic Gardens and museum. Don’t miss the cardboard church either.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cruiser750027
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

we stayed for 2 nights an d had as lovely suite with all facilities you could want>The bathroom was perfect with lots of space and it looked as if we were the first people to use it, it was so clean.
The staff were always helpful, the only slight let down was the breakfast, the choice was limited and as is the trend now a days we asked for a flat white coffee and were charged extra, which seems a little mean

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank maxBadgworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

Central location for Botanical gardens. Food quality excellent except for breakfast. Al a Carte restaurant very good. Hotel could easily be stuffy but excellent keep it down to earth friendly and welcoming

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank ianmcg2100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2018

Stayed a night at the George and really enjoyed it. Found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. The room was clean and new. Nice bathroom! And a surprise greeted us after we returned from dinner - the George Bear. A gift from the hotel, the George bear is super cute and I was happy to take it on our travels. A great marketing idea and one I embraced.

Room tip: Rooms overlook the park.
Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 773path
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheGeorgeGM, General Manager at The George Christchurch, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Dear Pat H
We are very pleased your recent stay with us was an enjoyable one and that you appreciated the service from all our team, the comfort and cleanliness of your room and most especially, our special turn-down gift. We do hope George Bear is enjoying his travels with you! Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
Kind regards

Bruce Garrett
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews