We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Old Countryhouse
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2017

This is the 3rd time I've stayed here. Honestly its the best backpackers Ive ever stayed in. I can not think of anything to criticize them on. The place is the best!!
Thank you OCH and see you next time.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Max B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (217)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017 via mobile

Very nice place to stay with tidy and quiet rooms. Spent more then a week here and i have really enjoyed. Good atmosphere and very kind staff. Hostel has all the facilities you need and even the jacuzzi and sauna which you can use it anytime you want. Definitely a place to stay more then one night.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
Thank Ika G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Hi Ika,

Thanks for your review of our hostel, it was great you chose to stay a bit longer! Our team enjoyed having chats with you, and we are glad to hear you made the most of our great hostel facilties!

We hope you enjoy the rest of your travels around New Zealand, and we may see you again sometime!

Best Wishes

The Old Countryhouse team


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2017

Clean, tidy with friendly and helpful staff. The hostel has a homely feel to it from the big welcoming kitchens to the comfortable and well kept rooms. It got pretty cold at night and my room had a heater that kept it warm.
Clean bathrooms and hot water!

Room Tip: I choose a double room and it was great. Just what I needed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arzoo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2017

Hi there,

Thankyou for taking the time to review us, it is great to hear you enjoyed your stay and the atmosphere of The Old Countryhouse. We are glad we could keep you warm, our central heating is very effective on those chilly winter nights!

We look forward to welcomming you back to Chirtshucrch some time, safe travels!

Kind Regards

The Old Countryhouse team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2017

Lovely hostel with friendly, helpful and enthusiastic staff. Clean, quiet, it's got a homely feel and everything you need. Great place to meet people. So it's worth paying a bit more than other hostels. Thank you to the OCH team !

Room Tip: House 3 doesn't have a common room but is my favourite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alicebw1531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2017

Hi Alice,

Thankyou for your review of our hostel! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us and chose to return to our hostel when you passed through Christchurch. Our team enjoyed chatting to you and hearing how your travels were going! We are glad you enjoyed your time with us, and we hope to welcome you back when you return to New Zealand!

Kind Regards

OCH Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017 via mobile

This is a surprisingly pretty backpackers in a city. Whilst the front entrance is rather ordinary, the cottages inside are lovely and well laid out. Great facilities, clean and everything works. Nice sittings spots around the gardens.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
Thank GRUNDERWOOD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOldCountryhouse, Manager at The Old Countryhouse, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2017

Hi there,

Thankyou for reviewing our hostel, we are glad to hear you were pleasantly surprised by the environment and atmosphere here. It sounds like you enjoyed all of our facilities!

We look forward to welcomming you back here in the future, safe travels.

Kind Regards

The Old Countryhouse team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
2.5 km away
Dorset House Backpackers
Dorset House Backpackers
#11 of 108 in Christchurch
239 reviews
0.3 km away
Kiwi House
Kiwi House
#32 of 108 in Christchurch
69 reviews
2.3 km away
YHA Christchurch Rolleston House
YHA Christchurch Rolleston House
#24 of 108 in Christchurch
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 km away
Around the World Backpackers
Around the World Backpackers
#12 of 108 in Christchurch
129 reviews
2.2 km away
YHA Christchurch
YHA Christchurch
#5 of 108 in Christchurch
210 reviews
3.8 km away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#3 of 108 in Christchurch
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Countryhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Countryhouse

Address: 437 Gloucester Street, Christchurch 8062, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 108 Speciality Lodging in Christchurch
Price Range: RM110 - RM249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Old Countryhouse 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well loved,upmarket and Multi Award Winning Backpackers Hostel in Christchurch. We welcome guests from all over the world since 1998. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your The Old Countryhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Old Countryhouse Hotel Christchurch

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing