We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful bonus”
Review of Menteith House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Christchurch
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Menteith House
Ranked #67 of 138 Christchurch B&B and Inns
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed three nights with this wonderful couple. Their hospitality is first class, I was ill and their care and concern was excellent, helpful but not intrusive. The accommodation was top rate, exceptional really, but the rates were very reasonable indeed. It was a lovely bonus to our holiday to meet people with a genuine desire to please. Thank you Faye and Stephen.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
Thank MGB074
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 2 June 2012

We had the pleasure of staying with Faye and Stephen in Christchurch for 2 nights on our 2 week tour of New Zealand. They were very accomadating and the room large and spotless. We enjoyed our breakfasts and happy hours with them and felt very much at home with them. You can tell how much they enjoy what they do. We had the honor of being their last guests as they are retiring and selling their home. We will cherish the memories from our visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieLWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahammenteith, Owner at Menteith House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

It has been a pleasure to be listed on Tripadvisor for the last 5 years. Our lives have moved in a different direction and we have sold our business in Springs Road and moved to a delightful property in 'The Elms on Prebbleton'.

Tourism and welcoming visitors to our lovely country is in our veins and our new home can offer just this. 15 Elmwood Drive, Prebbleton is our new address and we would warmly welcome both past guests and future guests to share our great location.

Grateful thanks to all our reviewers who have expressed their pleasure in stating with us in the past.

Fay and Stephen Graham (Your hosts)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Believe everything you read from all other reviewers - this place is superb. Very comfortable, spotlessly clean accommodation, very hospitable hosts, generous evening drinks and always some interesting conversation. Breakfasts, too, are something special. Both Fay and Stephen were extremely helpful in assisting us with our route planning over to the West Coast and down to the Sounds (overnighting in Franz Josef - Wanaka - Te Anau, missing out Queenstown). Over and above this very friendly style, everything was also very professional, attesting to their many years' experience in the hospitality industry.
We had dinner locally at The Bridge (just up the road) and the Famous Grouse (in Lincoln) - the latter being the better of the two, although both fairly run-of-the-mill. For a good day trip, make sure you go to Akaroa.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oaktreeSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This was the most enjoyable experience. Beautiful, spacious, very clean house with covered pool. Garden, country air. Hosts were very kind and PM guest hour with wine was most relaxing. Best memories.

Room Tip: All rooms seems great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed with Fay & Stephen for 3 nights in January 2012. They were excellent hosts, making us feel so welcome in their lovely home. The accommodation was of high quality and the breakfasts were superb. We really enjoyed their company and would recommend this B&B to anyone planning to spend time in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeJanSkinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Christchurch hotels
11.4 km away
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
Rendezvous Hotel Christchurch
#12 of 146 in Christchurch
1,993 reviews
9.6 km away
Chateau on the Park - Christchurch, a DoubleTree by Hilton
11.3 km away
Heritage Christchurch
Heritage Christchurch
#7 of 146 in Christchurch
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.3 km away
At The Right Place
At The Right Place
#135 of 146 in Christchurch
73 reviews
8.9 km away
Jailhouse Accommodation
Jailhouse Accommodation
#2 of 108 in Christchurch
498 reviews
9.3 km away
Commodore Airport Hotel, Christchurch
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Menteith House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Menteith House

Address: 15 Elmwood Drive | Prebbleton, Christchurch 7676, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > South Island > Canterbury Region > Christchurch
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #67 of 138 B&Bs / Inns in Christchurch
Price Range: RM480 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Menteith House is a quality bed and breakfast in 'The Elms on Prebbleton' only 15 minutes from airport/city.Being at the end of a lane we enjoy tranquility and great views of mountains and Port Hills from our upstairs guest rooms and lounge. Savour the flavors of the family’s specialty honeys with your hearty breakfast. Fay is an avid spinner of differing fibers - try your hand! Our Port Hills queen bed collects the morning sun while Copland has a garden and mountain outlook with flexible king/twin beds. Both rooms are served by a spacious private bathroom. Join us for 'happy hour' on our sunny deck outside the lounge. Good local restaurants within walking distance. Bus stop a short walk from Menteith. Our friendly cat 'Whisky' comes and goes. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing