We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
49
0
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
49
0
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2012

We had the pleasure of staying with Faye and Stephen in Christchurch for 2 nights on our 2 week tour of New Zealand. They were very accomadating and the room large and spotless. We enjoyed our breakfasts and happy hours with them and felt very much at home with them. You can tell how much they enjoy what they do. We had the honor of being their last guests as they are retiring and selling their home. We will cherish the memories from our visit.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JamieLWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grahammenteith, Owner at Menteith House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

It has been a pleasure to be listed on Tripadvisor for the last 5 years. Our lives have moved in a different direction and we have sold our business in Springs Road and moved to a delightful property in 'The Elms on Prebbleton'.

Tourism and welcoming visitors to our lovely country is in our veins and our new home can offer just this. 15 Elmwood Drive, Prebbleton is our new address and we would warmly welcome both past guests and future guests to share our great location.

Grateful thanks to all our reviewers who have expressed their pleasure in stating with us in the past.

Fay and Stephen Graham (Your hosts)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2012

Believe everything you read from all other reviewers - this place is superb. Very comfortable, spotlessly clean accommodation, very hospitable hosts, generous evening drinks and always some interesting conversation. Breakfasts, too, are something special. Both Fay and Stephen were extremely helpful in assisting us with our route planning over to the West Coast and down to the Sounds (overnighting in Franz Josef - Wanaka - Te Anau, missing out Queenstown). Over and above this very friendly style, everything was also very professional, attesting to their many years' experience in the hospitality industry.
We had dinner locally at The Bridge (just up the road) and the Famous Grouse (in Lincoln) - the latter being the better of the two, although both fairly run-of-the-mill. For a good day trip, make sure you go to Akaroa.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oaktreeSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2012

This was the most enjoyable experience. Beautiful, spacious, very clean house with covered pool. Garden, country air. Hosts were very kind and PM guest hour with wine was most relaxing. Best memories.

Room Tip: All rooms seems great.
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank George B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2012

We stayed with Fay & Stephen for 3 nights in January 2012. They were excellent hosts, making us feel so welcome in their lovely home. The accommodation was of high quality and the breakfasts were superb. We really enjoyed their company and would recommend this B&B to anyone planning to spend time in Christchurch.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeJanSkinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2012

We spent 4 of our 14 nights in New Zealand in beautiful Menteith Country House and both of us just loved it there. We felt most spoilt by the generosity and attention to detail extended to usby hosts Fay and Stephen. Thank you both for making us feel so much at home and for the enjoyment of our conversations with you, we feel we have known you for much longer than just 4 days. We will definitely be recommending your gorgeous home to our friends and we sincerely hope that that we wiL be able to stay with you when we make our second holiday inNew Zealand". We wish you all the best for the coming festive season and the New Year.

Maree and John

Room Tip: Both ther king ensuiter rooms are spacious d thre beds really comfortable
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maree N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews