We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing ”
Review of Banks Peninsula

Banks Peninsula
Ranked #2 of 211 things to do in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Banks Peninsula near Christchurch, New Zealand is a must see for its stunning views, beautiful bays and quirky campgrounds. Little River is the gateway to the peninsula. The township has a hotel/pub, 2 cafes, a petrol station, art gallery, craft store and small museum. There are B&Bs, plus the Little River Campground in Okuti Valley Road. They have affordable campervan parks with power, cabins and tentsites set beside a river. The southern bays have some of the best surf, if you know the secret spots as well as good, safe swimming beaches, walking tracks and the Little River Rail Trail. It is a a place that is often over looked as tourists head to Akaroa. If you want to experience more than the usual, to get off the beaten track and really explore, ask at the craft station, which has an info centre.
Reviewed 19 October 2018 via mobile

It’s a very beautiful place to visit. We really enjoyed it. With a beautiful weather it’s so much better

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank maxyne13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,071)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"little river"
in 104 reviews
"day trip"
in 87 reviews
"okains bay"
in 55 reviews
"summit road"
in 55 reviews
"beautiful drive"
in 27 reviews
"le bons bay"
in 15 reviews
"hector dolphins"
in 16 reviews
"cheese factory"
in 28 reviews
"hilltop tavern"
in 12 reviews
"french town"
in 11 reviews
"hectors dolphins"
in 11 reviews
"tourist route"
in 10 reviews
"tai tapu"
in 10 reviews
"diamond harbour"
in 31 reviews
"beautiful area"
in 19 reviews
"beautiful scenery"
in 40 reviews
"cruise ship"
in 26 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 1,071 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2018 via mobile

Had we known how extensive the options were we would have stayed on the peninsula rather than in Christchurch. Natural beauty, tours, walking trails and restaurants and cafes. Incredible variety and breath taking scenery. The Akaroa Dolphin boat trip is a must ! This leaves from the township of Akaroa (the wharf is at the centre of the town)and is an absolute highlight of the Banks Peninsula

Date of experience: October 2018
1  Thank neildouglassmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2018

We were amazed at the spectacular views, the surrounding scenery (lakes, bays, harbours, landscapes) that you find at every curve of the road leading to Akaroa. The villageis charming amd the trails fabulous. Highly recommended!

Date of experience: September 2018
Thank paherranz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2018

We went there just to visit Hinewai Reserve but without good signposting couldn't find it. So we just did a walk around Arkaroa and then drove the tourist drive. We stopped so many times for photos. I honestly feel we could spend a few days on the peninsula doing the many walks around the area. I believe there is a walking festival there in November. If you enjoy walking it would have to be worth it.

Date of experience: September 2018
1  Thank New_South_Woodies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 September 2018

So close to Christchurch, yet couldn't be further away as an experience. Beautiful 'french village', plenty of things to do on the water and trekkiing through the hills, or just great for coffee and food. On the way there, don't forget Little river; great gallery.

Date of experience: January 2018
2  Thank E2489NEronb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Banks Peninsula also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Banks Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing